We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, superb hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Royale London Hyde Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Royale London Hyde Park to your Saves list
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-9 Inverness Terrace, Hyde Park, Bayswater, London W2 3JP, England (Notting Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #446 of 1,064 Hotels in London
swansea
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location, superb hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel is located between two tube stations and a bus stop for the west end is around the corner.
A beautiful Hotel, very atmospheric and the staff were amazing.
It was my birthday during our stay and Anifa arranged for a bottle of wine and chocolates to be delivered to our room. It was a lovely touch, it's the little things that make all the difference.
The rooms are a little small but that is the same for most hotels in London.
We will certainly book again and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.
All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    828
    401
    200
    277
See reviews for
243
932
220
468
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I have been extremely fortunate enough to stay in many of londons most prestigious hotels, but my experience yesterday at the Grand Royale Hyde Park was in a class of its own.The ambience of this beautiful building is charming and authentic, you feel you have stepped back in time to a gracious period of British history, you feel genuinely welcomed by an extremely attentive staff, where nothing is to much trouble, the head receptionist a delightful lady called Anifa made every conceivable effort to ensure our stay was as enjoyable as it possibly could be, we cannot thank her enough. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, if you have the opportunity to stay here grab the chance, this is one of Londons hidden gems

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander H, General Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear melanieanneb,

On behalf of Anifa and the rest of the team here at the Grand Royale, thank you ever so much for having taken the time to share this magnificent review! I am very proud and delighted at your comments and rest assured this has been celebrated and shared with Anifa accordingly. I hope to have the pleasure of personally meeting you on your next stay with us, and remain entirely at your disposal should you require any assistance at all with the making of future bookings.

Kind Regards,

Alexander Henskens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

A perfect place to stay, beautiful hotel, great people. Located on good place nearby underground and park. Marvellous breakfast and lounging in historic environment. Very friendly peiple always there to help you and make you comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is perfectly situated between a couple of tube stations making it a travellers dream for getting around London. It's also just across the road from Hyde park, meaning there are plenty of opportunities for early morning walks, and strolls to Kensington Palace. We stayed here at the end of our honeymoon and the management kindly upgraded us and left a lovely note and bottle of wine in our room on the first night - a really sweet touch and greatly appreciated. The rooms themselves are cosy (as are all rooms in London!) but clean, warm, and nicely furnished. Would recommend for the accommodating, friendly staff, and excellent location.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander H, General Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear flissjmac,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to share your experiences on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us, and please allow me to congratulate you once more on your recent nuptials. I am thrilled that the service provided by the team, as well as the little touches we added to enhance your stay contributed to a positive experience. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly the next time your travels take you to London and it would be my absolute pleasure to personally assist in any way possible to ensure your second stay will be even better than the first.

Kind Regards,

Alexander Henskens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

stayed at the grand royale hotel in february 2015 - the hotel gave us a great welcome. overall i would say excellent hotel, excellent service, lovely room, and the theatre bar - nicest bar in London!!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander H, General Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear j h,

Thank you ever so much for having shared this wonderful review! I am thrilled that your expectations were exceeded on all fronts following your recent stay with us and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Should you require any assistance at all with the making of future bookings, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind Regards,

Alexander Henskens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We held a meeting in the main meeting room just off the lobby and then stayed the night once we had been out to dinner. The meeting room was excellent and full of character with the very impressive wood panelling and stained glass in the leaded windows. This trend goes through to other public areas such as the lobby , Theatre bar and the main staircase. I also thought breakfast in the morning was very good and the location is nice too with Hyde Park just across the road and lots of places to eat and drink nearby.

What lets the hotel down are the rooms, many of which are absolutely tiny, in fact probably the smallest i have ever stayed in, reached by going down a rabbit warren of stairs and corridors. Colleagues found their rooms either stiflingly hot or very cold. So, nic public areas, but don't expect much from the bedrooms.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander H, General Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear NeilRBBath,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us. Although I was pleased to see that your meeting went well and you enjoyed the breakfast, I am very sorry to hear about your concerns regarding to the size of your room. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly the next time your travels take you to London, and it would be my pleasure to personally assist in any way possible to ensure your next stay will be better than the first.

Kind Regards,

Alexander Henskens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I will never have enough words to say how fantastic was our stay in this beautiful historical hotel . That stay was a surprise for my fiancé and all the staff (especially the House Manager) made it unforgettable !
They gave us the best hotel suite I've ever slept in. The room was fantastic, full of history, and so romantic. The bathroom was huge and all made of marble with a lovely bathtub. We had a little note from the House Manager with chocolates and wine.
The staff was so helpful, friendly and attentive. The breakfast was incredible and so good...
The location was perfect close to Hyde Park and Oxford Street: we did everything by foot.

The night we spent at the Grand Royale was like a dream to us.
We are already planning our next trip to london and be sure that we'll be back to this wonderful place.

Thank you SO MUCH for everything

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Royale London Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Royale London Hyde Park

Address: 1-9 Inverness Terrace, Hyde Park, Bayswater, London W2 3JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#277 Luxury Hotel in London
#284 Business Hotel in London
#375 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Royale London Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Grand Royale London Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Royale London Hyde Park Hotel London
Shaftesbury London Hyde Park
Grand Royale London Hyde Park England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Royale London Hyde Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.