We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a helpful angel in the night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Royale London Hyde Park

Save Saved
You added Grand Royale London Hyde Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-9 Inverness Terrace, Hyde Park, Bayswater, London W2 3JP, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #491 of 1,073 hotels in London
1 review
“a helpful angel in the night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

i arrived in london on wednesday the 26. of august early in the morning coming from munich.
my assistant had booked the hotel via internet.
location great. the room in the 5 th floor was very small. so i changed to room 424 again very small. after the first tours around hyde park and south kensington i decided to go back to the hotel. at the bar the barkeeper was nice i was invited to dinner by a wonderful friend from kanada. in the night i got up after two hours sleep heading downstairs for a cigarette. the way was complicated,i felt like in prison .then i met the luggUAGE carrier mr adrian birnea who waS ON DUTY. I TOLD HIM THAT I FELT VERY BAD. HE SUGGESTED ME TO MOVE DOWNSTAIRS TO ANOTHER ROOM EASIER TO GET OUT FOR A CIGARETTE, I AGREED AND WE MOVED MY LUGGAGE DOWN IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT, NOW I AM VERY HAPPY WITH MY NEW ROOM THANKS SO MUCH MR ADRIAN YOU SAVED MY HOLIDAY WITH YOUR POLITENESS AND YOUR WARM HEART. I WISH YOU ALL THE BEST AND A GOOD CAREER IN HOTEL MANAGEMENT. YOU ARE MADE FOR A GOOD INTERNATIONAL CAREER BYE BYE IRIS KLOFAT MEDICAL DOCTOR, GERMANY

Room Tip: rooms single are verry small
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,027 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    505
    715
    355
    181
    271
See reviews for
211
798
196
415
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Very comfortable, clean and spacious. Stayed in the Club Room on lower ground, so it was quite dark and a bit noisy when guests above us moved their luggage! Handy to tour buses and lots of restaurants. Wifi good, shower great!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkurSehgal, Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Wuhoo128,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback.

We are pleased to read your review and happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Grand Royale London Hyde Park.

We will be happy to provide you the room on the upper floor upon your next visit to ensure you will have a comfortable time.

We will be eagerly looking forward to welcome you soon in the near future.

Your Sincerely,
Ankur Sehgal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We spent 3 days in London to enjoy a little urban life. The hotel location was very convenient to have easy access to the theatre, bookstores and restaurants (our main goals on our trip to London this time). The hotel is cozy although rooms are very small, but we did not need much space. The common areas are big though. Staff was absolutely helpful and very nice and the breakfast was good and copious. Considering that London is expensive, this was a very good choice for a short break.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkurSehgal, Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Rakelcast,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your very kind words on your recent stay at The Grand Royale London Hyde Park.

I was delighted that we met your expectations in all aspects of your stay. Please do come back and see us again soon.

Kind regards
Ankur Sehgal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Nice hotel with good location. The breakfast is excellent. welcoming staff.
Stayed 4 nights and i do have to say that i enjoyed every bit of it..
Oh i do have to say though that when going to bed turn down the air-conditioning as you will freeze..

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkurSehgal, Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear DrLoveakaTbone,

Thank you staying with us at the Grand Royale.

We are pleased to know that your stay with us was pleasant and your feedback will be shared with the team which will help us to maintain our service level.

We hope to see you back some time in future and do let me know if I can be of any further assistance.

Yours Sincerely,
Ankur Sehgal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Beautiful character of the building and the lobby and the bar
Nice place for Nottinghill carnival.
Very goof breakfast
But rooms are really to small, and noisy because of the street. Ans wen fire alarm at 6 in the morning rings... nobody coms to say it was nothing...

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkurSehgal, Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear marieetjluc,

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to know you had a good time with us.

Being one of the heritage building we do tend to struggle with room size therefore i would recommend you to book our Club room upon your next visit to get an extra space.

We are also sorry to hear that you were disturbed with the false alarm in the morning which occurred due to one of in-house guest.

We hope to see you soon and feel free to contact us for any further assistance.

Yours Sincerely,
Ankur Sehgal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

nice hotel, good location. Small rooms but comfortable and clean. Very noisy in a basement room from people out in the street. the fire alarm going off at 6 in the morning was not the best start to the day. Apparently steam set it off because somebody didn't shut the bathroom door. If that's true the hotel needs to put notices in the bathroom to ensure people close doors.
Slow on check in, only one member of staff at the desk.

Room Tip: not basement front, the room is clean and comfortable, but street noise is loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkurSehgal, Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear trublu57,

Thank you staying with us at the Grand Royale.

Please accept our apology for the inconvenience caused due to fire alarm. On the particular day we had an issue wherein one of the in-house guest was using the bathroom leaving the door opened which triggered the false alarm.

I would also like to assure you that we are very keen on Health & Safety and have a very comprehensive policy that ensures the safety of all our guests and team members.

We will also share your comments regarding a slow check in process with the team so your comments can be used in a most constructive way.

We hope you will consider staying with us again so we can provide you the superior service which we always tend to and do let me know if I can be of any further assistance.

Yours Sincerely,
Ankur Sehgal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I just returned from a two-night stay at this hotel last week. I found that this hotel was difficult to review because I really appreciated some aspects but some aspects were unexpectedly disappointing.

Good:

The building itself is full of character and original details and a lot of history. The lobby is elegant and leaves a good impression. The restaurant is very nice and a great place to start the day. The location is great; it is central and a short walk to the Tube.

Bad:

Prior to booking our room online, I saw that if you joined the Premier Club Rewards, I would receive a 10% discount. I happily signed up and booked through their website. I was looking forward to the other promised rewards of a room upgrade, and water and fruit in the room on arrival. My husband and I arrived late. We had called prior to our arrival to alert them to our expected arrival time. We were in the process of moving to another country and had an inordinate amount of heavy luggage with us. In several trips, we managed to lug it up the stairs into the lobby. We waited in the lounge while they upgraded our room to the club room, which was appreciated. However, when we found our room, we noticed that we did not receive the promised water and fruit nor did we receive the wine. Our room (on the lower ground level) was very musty smelling and there was a large ball of human hair on floor, in the middle of the bathroom. We opened up the window to air the room out but it did not help much. It is obvious that the rooms have been upgraded and they were nice except for the issues I have already mentioned.

Great:

The breakfast was great Then, at the end of our stay, the front desk staff was helpful in calling us a taxi that would fit all of our luggage and then helping to carry it all down the steps for us. They were friendly and accommodating.


There are many solid good points about this hotel but the unexpected negatives made me reticent to give it the four star rating I would have wholeheartedly given otherwise. Perhaps the problems with cleanliness in the room were unusual to my stay, but it is something to be aware of. The Premier Rewards Club is worth it for the discount and the complimentary room upgrade. But be aware that, at least once, they have not followed through on the other promised "rewards".

Overall, I would probably not recommend this place because I have stayed at other, similarly rated, centrally located, historic hotels in London where I had a better experience with service and cleanliness for an equivalent price.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkurSehgal, Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear CanTravel_86,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at the Grand Royale and we do value all guest feedback & consider them of paramount importance whether positive or constructive.

I am sorry to hear that given room and cleanliness of your bedroom was not up to your satisfaction.

We do provide fruit basket and bottle of water upon check to all our valued premier members and please accept our apology for not receiving them. Based on your feedback we will ensure the flaws are rectified.

Had we known you were not satisfied with the room given, we would have made alternative arrangements to make your stay much comfortable.

We also pride ourselves maintaining high standards within our housekeeping department and this is certainly not the usual standards we usually aspire to therefore your comments will be shared in our next departmental meeting so your issues can be addressed respectively.

Having said above we are pleased to hear your comments regarding customer service, breakfast and nature of the building.

We sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to redeem our self since customer service and guest satisfaction has always been our utmost priority.

I would appreciate if you can email me on fom@grandroyalelondon.co.uk prior to your visit so I can ensure that every aspect of your stay is well looked after.

We certainly appreciate your business and would look forward to serve you again in not so distant future.

Yours Sincerely,
Ankur Sehgal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Royale London Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Royale London Hyde Park

Address: 1-9 Inverness Terrace, Hyde Park, Bayswater, London W2 3JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#298 Luxury Hotel in London
#312 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Royale London Hyde Park 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Grand Royale London Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Royale London Hyde Park Hotel London
Shaftesbury London Hyde Park
Grand Royale London Hyde Park England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Royale London Hyde Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.