We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great city trip holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Royale London Hyde Park

Save Saved
You added Grand Royale London Hyde Park to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-9 Inverness Terrace, Hyde Park, Bayswater, London W2 3JP, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #504 of 1,073 hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great city trip holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great location with easy access to public transport. Next door to a quiet park. Breakfast is wonderful with a superb selection of items. The newspaper room in the front lobby is impressive, sitting there you feel like you're in a previous century.

Room Tip: If you need to have AC this is a place to stay. You can truly freeze yourself if you want to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,984 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    493
    692
    349
    181
    269
See reviews for
202
781
192
410
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed at the Grand Royale for my birthday in may and wasn't disappointed at all, its a fab hotel the staff are always at hand and anything you need they are there to help you with. Normally we go for a modern hotel but i wanted a change and indeed this hotel was, it as a very oldie English feeling about it consisting of stain glass windows wooden panels and more so much more. The rooms are quite small but thats fine you expect this when you are in the middle of London. The breakfast was great you really do get a lot of choice, next time you think of visiting London check this hotel out you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy G, Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, today
Dear jessimo

It is lovely to read that you had such an enjoyable birthday stay with us.

We like to think that we have the benefits of modern hotels with the décor and amenities in our bedrooms but then have the classical heritage features in our Lounge, Bar and Breakfast restaurant. We are very pleased that our service and breakfast was enjoyed by you.

We do hope that we will get to welcome you back very soon, or for your next birthday trip.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgar
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Hotel is very welcoming with nice old-world charm. Reception staff is very friendly and helpful. Room was small and very cramped as is expected of London. Europe doesn't do shower curtains (small 2 foot wide plastic panel instead) so expect water to get everywhere! Could be cleaner, pillows smelled of previous users, and it was difficult to explain to them that I wanted them changed out (not just pillowcases)!

Location is good access to Bayswater and Queensway lines as others stated, and close to some shops, restaurants, and pubs, and a sort of mini-Chinatown. Next time, would stay a bit farther east however, closer to Marble Arch.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy G, Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, today
Dear gtfo001

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on Tripadvisor about your stay with us at Grand Royale.

We are happy to know that our welcoming service was enjoyed by you but sorry to read that our pillows were not right for you. As well as linen we also have pillow protectors and have recently taken introduced new ones of these so will be investigating how the pillows did not seem to give you the level of freshness you desired and checking to ensure that the 'new smell' is not falsely creating a 'bad aroma', we do apologise for this.

We do hope to welcome you back to Grand Royale, so please do get in contact if we can assist with this.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I enjoyed my stay in the Grand Royale, whose historical significance, architectural features and interior design are very much played down on the hotel's website. On arrival, it was a great surprise to learn that it was once the "love-nest" of Lilly Langtree, and to find wonderful portraits of her and of Edward VII in the panelled room now used as a lounge. The rest of the public rooms (such as the bar, once the elegant private theatre of Mrs Langtree) and the dining rooms are also elaborately decorative and the staircase, which is currently closed for renovations, is spectacular.

The hotel is very inexpensive for the area (my room was £80 for the first night and £90 for the second & taxes) including English Breakfast. The room itself was very compact, but clean and well appointed, with a basket of fresh fruit, coffee & tea making facilities, biscuits, etc.

The staff were very helpful but I thought it odd that the bar did not open until 5.00pm, which made it awkward to order drinks etc. before that time.

Room Tip: Nothing to add
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy G, Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, today
Dear Rachel1_10

Thank you so much for commenting so nicely to describe the hotel and particularly its period features. It is lovely that we have been able to maintain as many of the original features (we are heavily heritage listed also) and that this style was so appreciated by you.

We are constantly trying to work to improve our service and facilities so will review your comments about the bar opening hours.

We are also pleased that you found good value with your stay. Our rates are not set but we always have the best available rate via our own website and any booking via our own website also receives complimentary breakfast. Furthermore if you did not register while staying I do suggest you now become a Premier Club Rewards member as one benefit is 10% off our best available rate (you have to reserve using your member's login). This is free to join and you can register on our website.

We do hope it will not be long until we can welcome you back to Grand Royale

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coopersburg, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Grand Royale London Hyde Park is a lovely hotel with great access to 2 nearby Underground Stations (Queensway and Bayswater) and the north-east corner of Hyde Park. The Staff was friendly, attentive and helpful. The hotel itself has wonderful old English charm with deep wood panels and leather chairs, large hanging portraits, stain glass windows and a beautiful grand staircase. The rooms were adequate in size and there is a lovely theater bar for relaxing in the evenings. The "full English breakfast" was good too (nice selections, fresh choices and tasty). We would highly recommend to others and would stay there again on a next visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy G, Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Laura T

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your stay with us at Grand Royale.

We are so happy that your family enjoyed the your time with us and that you found our décor and style to your liking.

Although it is a very short and convenient journey to the Marble Arch corner (North East corner) of Hyde Park, for landmarks if you were wanting to journey to us again we would describe the hotel more as being near the North West exit of Hyde Park (the Kensington Place/Queensway corner).

We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon and do let us know if we can assist with this.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We spend a couple of nights here recently and were not disappointed. The exterior and the lobby is like out of an old palace with wooden panelled walls and old paintings. The rooms are, as is often the case in London, quite small. So even though we had a superior 'club' room, it was hard to find space for two small suitcases. But the room was clean and the bathroom well fitted out. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
One peculiarity was the toilet in our room: it was so high up from the floor it was uncomfortable. And the corridors, at least in the lower ground floor where we stayed, could do with new carpets. On the whole, I would have preferred a room on a floor higher up as you could see right through the window from the outside, and we had to keep the curtains closed.
The location is great with lots of little restaurants in the area (you only get breakfast at the hotel) and two different Underground stations are within a few minutes walk to take you anywhere in London.

Room Tip: Keep away from the lower ground floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy G, Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear GlobetrottingViking

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on Tripadvisor about your stay with us at Grand Royale.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the room facilities and the hotel's period features. As you note the building is rather grand and this is protected with our heritage listing. This can also bring about some restrictions and we are sorry to read it seems this showed itself with the feeling of space you felt in your room.

We would love to welcome you back to Grand Royale. Please do let us know when your travel plans bring you back to London so we can try to ensure that we will provide you with a room on a higher floor, now we know this is your preference.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed in the Grand Royal in July lovely hotel with very good staff always there to assist you , ideally positioned hotel for our stay as my wife was riding in hyde park , yes the rooms are quite small but were clean and tidy with air con , we would use this hotel as one of our first choices next time , also just round the corner On Bayswater road is the Black Lion Pub which I can also recommend..

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy G, Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear 855David

So glad that you felt so well looked after with us at Grand Royale.

It must have been very convenient for you both with Hyde Park being only a 2 minute walk from the hotel. It is a great benefit particularly with the lovely weather we are enjoying at the moment.

If we can assist with any of your future travel plans to London, please do not hesitate to ask.

Many thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Royale London Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Royale London Hyde Park

Address: 1-9 Inverness Terrace, Hyde Park, Bayswater, London W2 3JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#295 Luxury Hotel in London
#318 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Royale London Hyde Park 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Grand Royale London Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Royale London Hyde Park Hotel London
Shaftesbury London Hyde Park
Grand Royale London Hyde Park England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Royale London Hyde Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;