We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cold and dark weekend!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Royale London Hyde Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Royale London Hyde Park to your Saves list
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-9 Inverness Terrace, Hyde Park, Bayswater, London W2 3JP, England (Notting Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #445 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A cold and dark weekend!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

good location 2min walk from Bayswater, rooms were clean, I'm afraid that's the only good thing I can say.Night 1,Nov 28th, our room on the ground floor, had no heating, a huge draft blowing in the window, someone had tried to fix with selotape, unsuccessfully, was so cold couldn't sleep very well under our thin duvet.Night 2, asked for heating/window to be fixed, or new room, were given a sheet/blanket which helped somewhat but was still a draft blowing on us, on a very cold night of freezing temps.Morning 3, asked again for new room, was told it would be sorted by the time we came back later that evening.Night 3, was assured it had been fixed, but it wasn't, then told it was too late to get another room,so we were transferred to a sister hotel in Notting Hill, and had to come back the following morning to leave our bags.Night 4, given a nicer room, with heating/no drafty windows, and a bottle of wine/chocolates to apologise, which was a nice touch.Morning 5, woke and electricity gone, tried to shower in dark bathroom but no hot water,no phone,no internet,no hairdryer,no iron.while going down the stairs instead of the lift, came across a breakfast room, full of breakfast, noone had told us about. Checked out amidst many unhappy people with wet hair! Everytime we were at reception there were lots of other people complaining. I feel sorry for the people who work there, it could be a great hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GouravGupta, Front Office Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Grand Royale London Hyde Park for your recent visit to London.

We consider the guest feedback of paramount importance whether good or bad. I sincerely and profusely apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay.

It would be highly appreciated if you could contact me on fom@grandroyalelondon.co.uk as per your earliest convenience so we can talk discuss this further.

Once again, kindly accept our sincere apologies & we look forward to welcoming you back at the Grand Royale London Hyde Park.

Thank you very much.

Yours Sincerely,
Ankur Sehgal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    837
    403
    202
    278
See reviews for
243
942
221
471
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Very good location in central London with many restaurants/eateries and supermarkets within 3 minutes walk. Convenient access to all forms of public transportation and even the sightseeing hop-on hop-off buses. Breakfast is fantastic. Rooms may be small but it is value for money. This is my second stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GouravGupta, Front Office Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at the Grand Royale London Hyde Park.

I am writing to you personally to thank you for your stay with us. I am delighted to know that you had an enjoyable and comfortable time during your stay with us. We will surely take a note of your feedback which will help us to deliver excellent customer service.

We will look forward to welcome you back and do let me know if I can be of any further assistance.

Yours Sincerely,

Ankur Sehgal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I've been in smaller rooms but that was to look for stationery. You can't open your suitcase and get to the bathroom. If there were two of you in the so called double de luxe you would have to take turns standing up or sitting in the single chair. But if one sits the other cannot get out the door. Shower didn't work properly even after two visits from the inhouse maintenance guy. No great shakes at all - and a bit grubby.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GouravGupta, Front Office Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent booking with us here at the Grand Royale London Hyde Park.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 020 7313 7900.

Yours Sincerely,
Ankur Sehgal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopton on Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This hotel was advertised as a four star hotel, no way in the world it was. The staff did not make you feel welcome, the rooms were so small. The bathroom is so small you are unable to sit on the toilet without having to put your body over the sink to be able to sit down. Not very clean.The bed was that small that my feet were hanging of the end and I am only 5ft 2 tall!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GouravGupta, Front Office Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Grand Royale London Hyde Park for your recent visit to London.

We consider the guest feedback of paramount importance whether good or bad. I sincerely and profusely apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay.

It would be highly appreciated if you could contact me on fom@grandroyalelondon.co.uk as per your earliest convenience so we can talk discuss this further.

Once again, kindly accept our sincere apologies & we look forward to welcoming you back at the Grand Royale London Hyde Park.

Thank you very much.

Yours Sincerely,
Ankur Sehgal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Good location,nice rooms,came down to go to a show for wife's birthday,stayed by chance the last time we visited after being relocated from our original booking,breakfast was varied plenty of choice,serve yourself,very good WI Fi in rooms if you need to use the internet,

Room Tip: our room was clean and tidy,needs more sugar,milk etc for making drinks in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GouravGupta, Front Office Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at the Grand Royale London Hyde Park.

I am writing to you personally to thank you for your stay with us. I am delighted to know that you had an enjoyable and comfortable time during your stay with us. We will surely take a note of your feedback which will help us to deliver excellent customer service.

We will look forward to welcome you back and do let me know if I can be of any further assistance.

Yours Sincerely,

Ankur Sehgal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faro, Portugal
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel twice now for business trips to London, the rooms are quite small, but well equipped.

The breakfast is very good and for the most part the staff were very friendly and helpful. I also like the fact that there is free internet access in every room, however they could do with upping the speed as sometimes its just too slow.

Will use again the next time i am in London.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GouravGupta, Front Office Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at the Grand Royale London Hyde Park.

I am writing to you personally to thank you for your stay with us. I am delighted to know that you had an enjoyable and comfortable time during your stay with us. We will surely take a note of your feedback which will help us to deliver excellent customer service.

We will look forward to welcome you back and do let me know if I can be of any further assistance.

Yours Sincerely,

Ankur Sehgal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The website and photos of the hotel make it look really fantastic, however when we got to our room it was very disappointing, very small room even though we booked a deluxe. Grubby and awful smell in the bathroom, we asked to move but were told they were full. Looked like everything had been done on the cheap, cracked tile, mould around the very small shower, and breakfast was a joke there was a queue to get in, so we got fed up and left, will not be staying here again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else if you want a nice room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GouravGupta, Front Office Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Grand Royale London Hyde Park for your recent visit to London.

We consider the guest feedback of paramount importance whether good or bad. I sincerely and profusely apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay.

It would be highly appreciated if you could contact me on fom@grandroyalelondon.co.uk as per your earliest convenience so we can talk discuss this further.

Once again, kindly accept our sincere apologies & we look forward to welcoming you back at the Grand Royale London Hyde Park.

Thank you very much.

Yours Sincerely,
Ankur Sehgal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Royale London Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Royale London Hyde Park

Address: 1-9 Inverness Terrace, Hyde Park, Bayswater, London W2 3JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#274 Luxury Hotel in London
#275 Business Hotel in London
#372 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Royale London Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Grand Royale London Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Royale London Hyde Park Hotel London
Shaftesbury London Hyde Park
Grand Royale London Hyde Park England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Royale London Hyde Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.