We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Satisfied” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Royale London Hyde Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Royale London Hyde Park to your Saves list
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-9 Inverness Terrace, Hyde Park, Bayswater, London W2 3JP, England (Notting Hill)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STAY 3 NIGHTS GET 12% OFF
Ranked #386 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Neilburg
1 review
“Very Satisfied”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Getting there from the airport by subway was the worst, only because we weren't familiar with the train routes and should have switched from Picadilly Line to District Line east at Acton Town Station, switch again at Nottingham Gates station to Central Line east to Queensway station and exit. Hotel is 1 block east and then north 100m. We didn't, and ended up getting off at Hyde Park and dragging our luggage all the way throught the park....not fun after a 9 hr flight!!

We arrived too early to check in, but they stored our luggage until check in time was availble. The hotel was very rustic and rooms and hallways were much smaller than we're used to, but all the amenities were there. The complementary breakfast was excellent, and we had no problems with checking in/out. After searching the internet for hotels this one was about as reasonable as any and accessability to the subway was great. Once we had a subway map it made getting around to all the local sites real easy.

Overall, this hotel was just fine and we'd definitely reccoment it to others!

Room Tip: Just ask for a room that's not on the street side and it will be very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GouravGupta, Front Office Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent booking with us here at the Grand Royale London Hyde Park.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at fom@grandroyalelondon.co.uk.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours Sincerely,

Ankur Sehgal
Front Office Manager
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
fom@grandroyalelondon.co.uk
1-9 Inverness Terrace,
London, W2 3JP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    729
    885
    423
    205
    280
See reviews for
264
1,022
233
510
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This hotel was in a good location. The decor was traditional in the lobby but modern in the bedrooms. we stayed in an Deluxe Double Room which was still quite small but perfect for what we needed. The hotel staff were helpful. The room had tea and coffee facilities and all basic needs, shampoo, freeview flat screen, (biscuits) etc. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The wardrobe was only one metre deep so not ideal for dresses. Did have a full length mirror.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GouravGupta, Front Office Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent booking with us here at the Grand Royale London Hyde Park.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at fom@grandroyalelondon.co.uk.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours Sincerely,

Ankur Sehgal
Front Office Manager
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
fom@grandroyalelondon.co.uk
1-9 Inverness Terrace,
London, W2 3JP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neyland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Hotel did not live up to the photos. The staff was no where near as congenial as the staff at other Shaftesbury hotels. My overall experience was not that good. I called the front desk to have an iron and ironing board brought to my room, the phone rang at least 15 times before it was answered. I waited 2 hours and no iron or ironing board was delivered. I had to go to the front desk and make the request in person. The room I was in had some sort of utility closet and the door did not close properly. I have stayed previously at the Shaftesbury Paddington Court and had a wonderful experience. I was very disappointed with my stay at the Grand Royale London Hyde Park

Room Tip: Stay at the Shaftesbury Paddington Court
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GouravGupta, Front Office Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Grand Royale London Hyde Park for your recent visit to London.

We consider the guest feedback of paramount importance whether good or bad. I sincerely and profusely apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay.

It would be highly appreciated if you could contact me on fom@grandroyalelondon.co.uk as per your earliest convenience so we can talk discuss this further.

Once again, kindly accept our sincere apologies & we look forward to welcoming you back at the Grand Royale London Hyde Park.

Thank you very much.

Yours Sincerely,
Ankur Sehgal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Gorgeous hotel and friendly staff. Really worth staying there to experience a 4* stylish British hotel. Wonderful, antique decorations and cosy rooms. Only downside was the 1m squared bathroom with a tiny washbasin and nowhere to place a cosmetic bag.

Room Tip: Avoid Lower Ground Floor rooms- there is no signal for mobile phones
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GouravGupta, Front Office Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent booking with us here at the Grand Royale London Hyde Park.
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at fom@grandroyalelondon.co.uk.
Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.
Yours Sincerely,

Ankur Sehgal
Front Office Manager
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
fom@grandroyalelondon.co.uk
1-9 Inverness Terrace,
London, W2 3JP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

arrived here with my girlfriend, checked in..the waiting staff just had a starring problem, looking at us like we were unwelcome, the room was nowhere near a 4 star which they claim, the bathroom had broken floor tiles, yes broken! very dangerous, i complained to the reception 11pm, the reply i got was this..i cannot do anything now but i will send the maintenance guy up in the morning, sorry mate. yep thats right he said sorry ''mate'', morning comes and no one bothers to come up. i didnt bother them again as i was going the next day. this hotel need alot of work done in the rooms, the staffs attitude is very poor, i wouldnt recommed it, id honestly rather stay at ibis or etap!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GouravGupta, Front Office Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Grand Royale London Hyde Park for your recent visit to London.

We consider the guest feedback of paramount importance whether good or bad. I sincerely and profusely apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay.

It would be highly appreciated if you could contact me on fom@grandroyalelondon.co.uk as per your earliest convenience so we can talk discuss this further.

Once again, kindly accept our sincere apologies & we look forward to welcoming you back at the Grand Royale London Hyde Park.

Thank you very much.

Yours Sincerely,
Ankur Sehgal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Have stayed a few times here now, I find the rooms to be nice although sometimes a little small but its a good location and the staff are always friendly and helpful which is why i keep coming back, its always nice to know what you are getting :-)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GouravGupta, Front Office Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at the Grand Royale London Hyde Park.

I am writing to you personally to thank you for your stay with us. I am delighted to know that you had an enjoyable and comfortable time during your stay with us. We will surely take a note of your feedback which will motivate us to deliver excellent customer service.

We will look forward to welcome you back and do let me know if I can be of any further assistance.

Yours Sincerely,

Ankur Sehgal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I booked this hotel for my friend online and mistakenly left a wrong email because I typed homtail instead of hotmail, so I called the customer service number to change it and resend me the confirmation letter. When I helped my friend to check in with the confirmation letter after his arrival, the reception guy told me the booking was cancelled two days ago because my bank detail used to make the booking was invalid. He insisted that the notice was correctly sent to me twice but I didn't receive any emails or calls ahead. I asked for the email record and some alternatives like whether there are spare room available. What I received is NO! There is nothing wrong with their email and there is no spare room at all which is quite irresponsible and unhelpful. So I asked to communicate with the duty manager. He said he is the one in charge that night.....At last, he reluctantly helped me to call the customer service on my insist and found they didn't change the email at all. That's why I didn't received the notice email. After a short communication between the customer service staff and the reception guy, I got the room after half an hour(but why he said there is no spare room at all at the first stage?) . It's really an unpleasant experience for me and my friend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GouravGupta, Front Office Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Grand Royale London Hyde Park for your recent visit to London.

We consider the guest feedback of paramount importance whether good or bad. I sincerely and profusely apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay.

It would be highly appreciated if you could contact me on fom@grandroyalelondon.co.uk as per your earliest convenience so we can talk discuss this further.

Once again, kindly accept our sincere apologies & we look forward to welcoming you back at the Grand Royale London Hyde Park.

Thank you very much.

Yours Sincerely,
Ankur Sehgal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Royale London Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Royale London Hyde Park

Address: 1-9 Inverness Terrace, Hyde Park, Bayswater, London W2 3JP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#228 Business Hotel in London
#261 Luxury Hotel in London
#294 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Royale London Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grand Royale London Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Royale London Hyde Park Hotel London
Shaftesbury London Hyde Park
Grand Royale London Hyde Park England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Royale London Hyde Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.