We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Royale London Hyde Park

Save Saved
You added Grand Royale London Hyde Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-9 Inverness Terrace, Hyde Park, Bayswater, London W2 3JP, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #505 of 1,075 hotels in London
Rome, Italy
1 review
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

It is exactly what I expect from an Hotel in London. Tipical British atmosphere, great decoration, very good breakfast, kind and professional personnel.
Value for money is very good.
The only weak point is the dimension of the rooms. I tested only the single. Hope the double will be different.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GouravGupta, Front Office Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at the Grand Royale London Hyde Park.

I am writing to you personally to thank you for your stay with us. I am delighted to know that you had an enjoyable and comfortable time during your stay with us. We will surely take a note of your feedback which will help us to deliver excellent customer service.

We will look forward to welcome you back and do let me know if I can be of any further assistance.

Yours Sincerely,

Ankur Sehgal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,024 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    490
    707
    362
    188
    277
See reviews for
197
766
186
405
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

If you want to stay here, you'll have a better chance if you book another hotel in their group. Having had this hotel booked in advance, I cant really offer any details on anything other than the rudeness of the staff, I never saw the room as we were told they were full! After my pregnant girlfriend and I walked some distance to find the hotel, we were told a room was available at a sister hotel a 3 minute walk away so we just took it. There were other people also there complaining about this. They offered to arrange a car to take us when I asked about the exact location of the sister hotel, the Hyde Park Premier London Paddington. (thats another bad review) Then they gave me some line about the taxi firms phone not working and offered a member of staff to walk us there, It was actually 10 mins away and further away from our friends hotel. They Obviously have an unofficial policy of taking your booking regardless of actual availability then moving people about later as they turn up. They know most people will just take the alternative and despite the odd bad bad review they still make more money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GouravGupta, Front Office Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Grand Royale London Hyde Park for your recent visit to London.

We consider the guest feedback of paramount importance whether good or bad. I sincerely and profusely apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay.

It would be highly appreciated if you could contact me on fom@grandroyalelondon.co.uk as per your earliest convenience so we can talk discuss this further.

Once again, kindly accept our sincere apologies & we look forward to welcoming you back at the Grand Royale London Hyde Park.

Thank you very much.

Yours Sincerely,
Ankur Sehgal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Value for the money ! clean and newly refurbished rooms ! I have stayed in this hotel about 10 times and most rooms are fine. There are some rooms where shower glas wall is so small so it is more or less impossible to avoid that the floor gets wet ! The breakfast is excellent but served from 7.00 personally I would prefer 6.30 ! The price/night varies a lot depending on when you are booking and time of the year. My experience is that the prices gets better if you book late but of course at risk that the hotel is fully booked.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GouravGupta, Front Office Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at the Grand Royale London Hyde Park.

I am writing to you personally to thank you for your stay with us. I am delighted to know that you had an enjoyable and comfortable time during your stay with us. We will surely take a note of your feedback which will help us to deliver excellent customer service.

We will look forward to welcome you back and do let me know if I can be of any further assistance.

Yours Sincerely,

Ankur Sehgal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

As others say this hotel overbooks and takes you to another hotel and offer a room in the cellar.
Even the normal hotel rooms are small after making a scandal that we want our booked room. A maffia to avoid by all means: even the employees admitted. stay away....by all means

Room Tip: check ratings on tripadvisor and just look at the bottom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GouravGupta, Front Office Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Grand Royale London Hyde Park for your recent visit to London.

We consider the guest feedback of paramount importance whether good or bad. I sincerely and profusely apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay.

It would be highly appreciated if you could contact me on fom@grandroyalelondon.co.uk as per your earliest convenience so we can talk discuss this further.

Once again, kindly accept our sincere apologies & we look forward to welcoming you back at the Grand Royale London Hyde Park.

Thank you very much.

Yours Sincerely,
Ankur Sehgal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed here in November 2012 with my partner as part of a party of 10. The hotel itself is lovely, very smart from the outside and the period features are beautiful. However, the customer service from the front desk staff left a lot to be desired. The young gentleman who checked me in was slightly rude and even cut me off mid conversation to speak to another guest. Less then impressed!

The room was reasonably sized and clean, my only issue with the room was that we were located on the lower ground floor and seemingly just under the lobby because all night and morning we could hear anyone that walked above us.

Overall, it did what it said on the tin and breakfast was great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GouravGupta, Front Office Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Grand Royale London Hyde Park for your recent visit to London.

We consider the guest feedback of paramount importance whether good or bad. I sincerely and profusely apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay.

It would be highly appreciated if you could contact me on fom@grandroyalelondon.co.uk as per your earliest convenience so we can talk discuss this further.

Once again, kindly accept our sincere apologies & we look forward to welcoming you back at the Grand Royale London Hyde Park.

Thank you very much.

Yours Sincerely,
Ankur Sehgal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I must say that the Grand Royale London Hyde Park is in a perfect location as we love walking and the park is just accross the road the NCP is again a few minutes walk away . I also was happy with the period building and yes the rooms aren't the largest but we don't travel to London to stay in our room . The breakfast is very good we will return soon .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GouravGupta, Front Office Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at the Grand Royale London Hyde Park.

I am writing to you personally to thank you for your stay with us. I am delighted to know that you had an enjoyable and comfortable time during your stay with us. We will surely take a note of your feedback which will help us to deliver excellent customer service.

We will look forward to welcome you back and do let me know if I can be of any further assistance.

Yours Sincerely,

Ankur Sehgal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Just returned from a 1 night stay in this lovely period hotel very warm welcome ,room lovely if a bit small, fruit,bottled water & tea /coffee facilities in room including chocolate on pillow. hot shower & complimentary toiletries Breakfast very good full English plus crossants fruits etc will certainly return many thanks sandra

Room Tip: we had room 619 at back of hoel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GouravGupta, Front Office Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at the Grand Royale London Hyde Park.

I am writing to you personally to thank you for your stay with us. I am delighted to know that you had an enjoyable and comfortable time during your stay with us. We will surely take a note of your feedback which will help us to deliver excellent customer service.

We will look forward to welcome you back and do let me know if I can be of any further assistance.

Yours Sincerely,

Ankur Sehgal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Royale London Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Royale London Hyde Park

Address: 1-9 Inverness Terrace, Hyde Park, Bayswater, London W2 3JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#290 Luxury Hotel in London
#330 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Royale London Hyde Park 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Grand Royale London Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Royale London Hyde Park Hotel London
Shaftesbury London Hyde Park
Grand Royale London Hyde Park England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Royale London Hyde Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.