We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable Bed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Royale London Hyde Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Royale London Hyde Park to your Saves list
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-9 Inverness Terrace, Hyde Park, Bayswater, London W2 3JP, England (Notting Hill)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STAY 3 NIGHTS GET 12% OFF
Ranked #387 of 1,049 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable Bed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

I have stayed at his hotel a number of times. Very comfortable beds, always clean. Rooms are airconditioned although a little small. Noise from the hostel opposite can be annoying, just hope it rains for your stay to keep them in their rooms. Breakfast really nice, drinks a little expensive. Staff all freindly. Hopefully they have sorted out their "boiler problems", as a number of people were complaining as their rooms were no longer available and were being transferred to other hotels. It was quite entertaining to watch different peoples reactions.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors if you are over looking Inverness Terrace, so it reduces some of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    729
    885
    423
    205
    280
See reviews for
264
1,022
233
510
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Stayed here for 5 nights. Staff very pleasant, yet not attentive enough. The facade and public spaces (lobby, lounge and dining facilites) are lovely (turn of the century and victorian details). Rooms are smallish but with all amenities and clean). Breakfast more than ample. Just a few complaints include room doors that don't close properly (and cleaning staff doesn't ensure they are when done), and requests for hair conditioner and shampoo went unnoticed. No night latches on the room doors either. But overall, would recommend, as good location, near transportation.

Room Tip: Higher floors - 6th or 7th.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

This hotel has a lot going for it. It is in a good location and the architecture is beautiful. Originally built in the 1850s as a home for Lily Langtry, it has a beautiful lobby and second floor. In addition, the breakfast offered a range of options - a full English breakfast of eggs, sausage, beans, potatoes, bacon, plus yogurt, cereal and fruit and coffee and tea. The people are very pleasant and helpful. Having said that, we had some problems during our five-day stay. First the rooms are very small (we didn't mind that); the rooms don't have a night latch, or bolt; we had water leak into our bathroom from above, we lost electricity for a while; and a couple of times we came back to find our rooms open. The cleaning people or porters had left them open.

Room Tip: Larger rooms available on the Lower Ground (LG) level, but there are no views down there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We arrived around 15.00 Hrs ,I requested The Receptionist Can we Get The Room with View , Receptionist took the help of porter , She told the porter to Show us room on third Floor , Room Was nice but Compaq , I Requested Can we get a little Bigger Room ,As we are here for One Night , the Lady approach to the manager .He personally came out shown us , I Believe One of There Best Room of The Hotel 419 , When We Entered We were amazed , So Big room with View .
Thanks to The manager (Gagan ) for Allocating us bigger room . We Missed The Breakfast but Find The Decor amazing . We had a Very Pleasant Sleep

Will Come back again

Room Tip: I Believe The Hotel has Bigger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

I Booked a single Room , Requested for Early check In . I arrived around at 08.00 a.m in morning
Normally in hotels of London you are not able to get early check in but, I was given Upgrade ,to double room as well as the keys straight away
The Best Thing I Liked about the hotel was I was given a quite Room 414 .

I requested the manager , Mr gagam can I get Late Check Out till 01.30 pm , He offered me Late Check out free of Charge . Staff At Reception were quite attentive and professional
Actually the manager has given his personal e-mail address for the future Visit

Will Definitely Come back

Room Tip: Rooms are small , but nice and Clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

The non refundable price for a room the size of a shoebox that you don't get to see until you've paid is only worth the location. You can complain and upgrade to a cupboard with a window box.
All 5 star reviews are obviously written by staff, who were polite but ineffective.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limavady, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

stayed five nights in london, two nights in this hotel. big mistake. the period features are impressive but that is all. bedrooms are horrible. there is no room in them at all, bathroom is worse. you have too pay on arrival, before you see your room. we asked to change rooms and got changed into one just as bad. avoid this hotel at all costs. The only good thing was we were right beside hyde park. should have stayed at our first hotel radisson edwardian bloomsbury street.

Room Tip: dont stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Royale London Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Royale London Hyde Park

Address: 1-9 Inverness Terrace, Hyde Park, Bayswater, London W2 3JP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#231 Business Hotel in London
#262 Luxury Hotel in London
#297 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Royale London Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Grand Royale London Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Royale London Hyde Park Hotel London
Shaftesbury London Hyde Park
Grand Royale London Hyde Park England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Royale London Hyde Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.