We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boisdales” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boisdale Canary Wharf

Boisdale Canary Wharf
Cabot Place | Canary Wharf, London E14 4QT, England
+44 20 7715 5818
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Boisdale Canary Wharf is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,706 of 17,879 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Wine Bar, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Boisdales”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Cool place, fantastic views from the public terrace , food good, larger was the best and staff a bit offhand, but great atmosphere and stopping of place after work .

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMolitor, Manager at Boisdale Canary Wharf, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Reviewer, thank you so much for contributing. I am very pleased you enjoyed yourself.
It would be great to see you again soon.

Kindest regards
Falko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    127
    77
    23
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great night out would highly recommend it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We have just enjoyed a wonderful night of entertainment, food and atmosphere at the Canary Wharf Boisdale. On a previous trip to London we saw the restaurant and then looked it up on the Internet We booked our VIP table which was fun however, some of the dancers nearly set fire to items of their clothing until we moved our candle. The group the Red Stripes were excellent they created a wonderful party atmosphere and we would be happy see them again. The food was excellent in particular the rib eye steak of gigantic proportions and a wonderful melt in the mouth fillet steak. The staff were friendly and attentive, it was a lovely evening that we thoroughly enjoyed. Thank you, we hope to see you again

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJEVANS13, Deputy Managing Director at Boisdale Canary Wharf, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Catherine,
I am delighted that you enjoyed the entertainment, the Dry-Aged Scottish beef and the service with us on Saturday night. Thank you so much for your review.
We have some fantastic acts in the calendar for 2013, so keep an eye on our website (www.boisdale.co.uk) or better still sign up for our newsletter so you can keep up-to-date.
Please drop us an email at manager@boisdale-cw.co.uk before your next visit and we’ll be sure to say hello.
Warm wishes,
Nathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“RAISING STANDARDS IN CANARY WHARF”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Let's face it, the restaurant choice in Canary wharf isn't great - so Boisdale has been a welcome addition. Some may dislike the faux-Scottish surroundings, and the rather cavernous main restaurant, but the service, food and ambience are all up to the best West End standards. Steak is well-cooked and unfussy, and the hand-cut chips are impossible to resist. Good wine list too!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJEVANS13, Deputy Managing Director at Boisdale Canary Wharf, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Richard,

I'm delighted that you enjoyed your visit to our Canary Wharf restaurnat and we are very grateful for your positive feedback.
Having traded our Belgravia restaurant for over 25 years, we have tried hard to make our latest outpost here in the Wharf as warm and welcoming as possible, in the hope that we could bring a little of the West End to the Capital of the East End.

Come and see us again soon.

Nathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Arctic Air Con”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Went to the Oyster Bar and Grill. Very nice table by the window but.... drafty and freezing. The aircon meant that I sat freezing in my party dress. Didnt want to sit wearing my coat so hoped the super alcoholic cocktail would help along with the very yummy chicken shnitzel and cauliflower cheese. The staff were friendly and helpful so didnt want to complain. The restaurant did seem quite empty but that was possibly due to the fact that everyone was dining in the main restaurant where we were headed to to see the evenings entertainment.

To go upstairs to the restaurant or to dine during the entertainment you are charged a £15 cover charge each. I do think that a bit cheeky as the cuisine and drinks are expensive. The nights entertainment was great and the band excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves but forgot that it was the Saturday following Thursday valentine day and it was full of loving couples - whoopsie - hey ho we had fun anyway.

It was warmer upstairs than in the Oyster Bar. Would not consider dining in the Oyster Bar again unless it was sub tropical temperatures outside.... sort it out please!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJEVANS13, Deputy Managing Director at Boisdale Canary Wharf, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our Canary Wharf Restaurant.

We have now fixed, the temporary problem with the heating, which was exasperated by the exceptionally cold weather that weekend, please accept my apologies for any discomfort felt. The Oyster Bar & Grill is quieter on a Saturday night as most of our guests are travelling into the Wharf for the show in the main restaurant on the second floor. I'm delighted that you enjoyed the food and found our team to be helpful.
The cover charge you refer to for the second floor is actually a ticket for the live performance, much like a visit to the theatre or the O2 and I'm sorry if you thought the act did not warrant a £15 ticket. Unlike places such as Ronnie Scott’s who see ticket sales as an opportunity to make profits, we simple try to recoup the costs associated with putting on World class Jazz, Blues & Soul Acts. The prices vary depending on the night of the week, the act and the proximity to the stage. All upcoming performances can be viewed on our website www.boisdale.co.uk with full details of the ticket prices available.

Thanks again for your comments. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“live music dining venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Went in without a booking on Saturday Night, but it is Canary Wharf! went into the Oyster Bar and Grill first, quite strong smell of fish when the lift door opens! I know it is an Oyster Bar, but Loch Fyne doesn't smell like this and they sell fish! So decided to go upstairs to fine dining, was told 1hour and a half wait, that it was £20 per head for the live music (cannot see that on the website) and that there was space downstairs and the food came from the same kitchen. So we went back downstairs and had a very nice rib eye steak, we forgot or did not notice the fish smell, all the staff bar and table s were very good, friendly , happy and attentive, strange menu you could have 1/2 grilled lobster as a sauce with your steak (£20) but not have hot grilled lobster as a main course.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMolitor, Manager at Boisdale Canary Wharf, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. It is true that Friday and Saturday have become so popular that waiting times are a possibility. We do mention on our website the ticket prices but are working on making this much clearer for you. I have not been to Loch Fyne myself but this is the first time I have heard of strong fish smell on the 1st floor. I am however delighted that you enjoyed the food and service. I hope to welcome you back soon.
Warm regards
Falko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boisdale Canary Wharf also viewed

 

Been to Boisdale Canary Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boisdale Canary Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.