We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“live music dining venue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boisdale Canary Wharf

Boisdale Canary Wharf
Cabot Place | Canary Wharf, London E14 4QT, England
+44 20 7715 5818
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Boisdale Canary Wharf is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,706 of 17,879 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Wine Bar, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“live music dining venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Went in without a booking on Saturday Night, but it is Canary Wharf! went into the Oyster Bar and Grill first, quite strong smell of fish when the lift door opens! I know it is an Oyster Bar, but Loch Fyne doesn't smell like this and they sell fish! So decided to go upstairs to fine dining, was told 1hour and a half wait, that it was £20 per head for the live music (cannot see that on the website) and that there was space downstairs and the food came from the same kitchen. So we went back downstairs and had a very nice rib eye steak, we forgot or did not notice the fish smell, all the staff bar and table s were very good, friendly , happy and attentive, strange menu you could have 1/2 grilled lobster as a sauce with your steak (£20) but not have hot grilled lobster as a main course.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMolitor, Manager at Boisdale Canary Wharf, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. It is true that Friday and Saturday have become so popular that waiting times are a possibility. We do mention on our website the ticket prices but are working on making this much clearer for you. I have not been to Loch Fyne myself but this is the first time I have heard of strong fish smell on the 1st floor. I am however delighted that you enjoyed the food and service. I hope to welcome you back soon.
Warm regards
Falko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    127
    77
    23
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Average in every way”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Ate in the private dining room which you might have expected to be a "showcase". Service was slow and drinks not refreshed regularly. Most disappointing was the steak which was fatty and large parts inedible. The haggis though was excellent (it was close to Burns night). Very expensive in my view. Would not return from choice (this was a business function).

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMolitor, Manager at Boisdale Canary Wharf, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Jonathan, thank you for commenting. Some of our steaks have lots of fat, especially the untrimmed rib of beef, however some crave them like this. I am very sorry we fell short of your expectations in the service area, but since your comment we have made certain that every private room has a dedicated waiter only looking after your needs. Should you be in soon for another visit, please contact me directly.
Yours sincerely,
Falko Molitor
dgm@boisdale-cw.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“A little disappointed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Was really looking forward to this night out with close friends and have to say was a little disappointed.
The service was excellent! The atmosphere was very very good. The food hugely disappointing and it certainly wasn't value for money.
The entertainment for the night was Elvis- who was average - not the best and not the worst although he did want to try talking and it was just a muffle!
The pity is we was here last year and everything was excellent! So hence us looking forward to the night.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMolitor, Manager at Boisdale Canary Wharf, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback! I am sorry to hear that Elvis was not what you have hoped for; I have had so many great comments about him. In fact, he is booked again and I have sold already about 50% of the tickets; most of them on a return visit. I am thrilled however that you enjoyed the service & atmosphere. I would be happy if you would like to provide me with more feedback regarding the food. You can contact me directly.
Warm regards
Falko Molitor
dgm@boisdale-cw.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Elvis Night at Boisdale”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Went to see an Elvis tribute at Boisdale, Canary Wharf in January 2013. Tribute act was OK however prices were astronomical for what you get. Food very average and overpriced. Steak £22 with no side dishes. A small bowl of 'jacket' chips £4.50. Fish and chips (poorly cooked) £19.50!! Drinks overpriced. A bottle of Cloudy Bay Sauvignon Blanc £75!!!! Gin and tonic £11!!! Service was very good and the atmosphere was also good. However, value for money really poor. Four of us went - £80 entrance fee then a bill for £254 for food and drink and we didn't over indulge!! How people can afford this on a regular basis is hard to believe.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMolitor, Manager at Boisdale Canary Wharf, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Barry, thank you for commenting on your experience. You are quite right, the Cloudy Bay prices have soared over the last years, but there are many alternatives on the wine list that are equally stunning for example the Craggy Range Sauvignon Blanc as well as the Saint Clair Sauvignon Blanc, both like the Cloudy Bay from Marlborough, New Zealand. Our house Gin & Tonic is priced at £8.50, but as we have eight varieties available, your preference may change that. I am glad that you did enjoy the service and atmosphere though and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Yours sincerely
Falko Molitor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Burn's night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Booked late and couldn't get a table until 9pm on Burn's night. Had to pay for the jazz too but said we didn't need to see the stage so only paid £10 each. Turned out we had a really good table with not too much of a restricted view. The Haggis was toasted at least three times while we there and the piper was great! We had the special Burn's night menu which included a dram of whiskey with the haggis neeps and tattles and a Drambuie with dessert. We had the smoked salmon to start which was delicious. It's was follows by the haggis which again was delicious. For the man course we both chose the steak and chips. We've been to Boisdale Bishopgate before and the steaks there are great, but the ones we had last night were poor and not the usual standard. It was a extremely busy so maybe this was the problem! Dessert was either clottie dumpling with custard or cranachan. We had one of each and they were good. We finished off with coffees. This was £48 a head so not bad. A bottle of my favourite Sancerre rose wine was £45. Staff were good even thought they were extremely busy. Will definitely go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMolitor, Manager at Boisdale Canary Wharf, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
I am delighted you enjoyed Burns Night with us. Regarding the steak we have already agreed that the untrimmed rib of beef had too much fat content for the majority of guests and we will not be using it for set menus again. I am pleased you enjoyed the address to the Haggis, though it was strenuous holding it for so long; still great fun! I hope to see you in the near future and thank you for reviewing.
Warm regards
Falko Molitor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boisdale Canary Wharf also viewed

 

Been to Boisdale Canary Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boisdale Canary Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.