We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice drinks and bar staff, very strange policy on seating...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Worship Street Whistling Shop

Worship Street Whistling Shop
63 Worship Street, London, England (Westminster / Belgravia)
07889821521
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9,277 of 16,890 restaurants in London
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Westminster / Belgravia
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nice drinks and bar staff, very strange policy on seating...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Drinks were nice, bar staff very friendly.

I don’t understand their policy on using tables – told off for spreading from one table to another (that would have involved a “minimum spend” apparently) but then later admonished for standing up (there wasn't room for us to sit down at one table)…

If you’re looking for a post-date drinking spot then this could work out well for you. Otherwise, I’d give it a miss, especially if you're in a group (even with a booking) – I didn't enjoy feeling unwelcome.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

45% Recommend
    5
    6
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Angus
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Slightly Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Was expecting great things considering some of the external reviews of this place. Like a previous review there was also no food left other than the expensive platters so we left and went to the ping pong bar upstairs. I wasn't impressed with the cocktails - there are a great range of cocktail bars in this area of London which are far better than Whistling Shop. On the plus side the bar is quirky and old fashioned but I won’t be rushing back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset england
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best bath I've had in a while”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

And lovely company and cocktails we ventured into this little bar led by my daughter who lives in London and recommended this place. I was with a bunch of work friends who were bemused by the old bath and wooden bench but soon got into the vibe. Nice evening lovely staff and would recommend if you're in London as the most creative selection of cocktails to tantalise ...experiential experimental..cocktail we liked was parliamentary shrub It's got to be done :)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cocktail hour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Excellent cocktails. Definitely an interesting drinking experience with a great atmosphere, nice staff who recommend off-menu drinks and provide a bit of theatrical flourish with the service.
Definitely worth a visit.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Excellent cocktails, mediocre crowd.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

After dinner at the nearby Tramshed, we visited Worship Street Whistling Shop for a nightcap. It was around midnight on Saturday, and we got in easily. It was busy, but not overcrowded. The cocktails were outstanding, but the atmosphere wasn't especially comfortable and it was crowded with a lot of frat boy banker types. I'd go back if I were in the neighborhood and looking for a fun cocktail.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Worship Street Whistling Shop also viewed

 

Been to Worship Street Whistling Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Worship Street Whistling Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.