We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Desperados

Desperados
33-35 Greenwich Church, London SE10 9JB, England (Greenwich)
+44 0208 853 4880
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Desperados is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9,274 of 17,879 Restaurants in London
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Greenwich
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Avoid!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I should have listened to my daughter, who was put off by the owner on the pavement persuading us to experience his great restaurant. We were squeezed into a table in the corner of a very packed restaurant. We were served by a very sourly waitress, who was not the least bit interested in what we required. The meal was OK, but not authentic Mexican, which was disappointing. To top it all, the waitress dropped a glass on the floor beside my daughter and then they began sweeping the floor around the diners. On leaving the restaurant my daughter was cut by a piece of glass that had come to rest in her sandal! No apologies from the owner, who was probably as pleased to see us leave as we were to get away! Refused to pay service charge, as we didn't get any!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    48
    18
    16
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kildare
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Not even if you're desperate”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I was presented with a plate of nachos that looked like they were made by someone who had seen nachos before but never actually eaten them. Guacamole was smooth as if it had come from a bottle, the salsa was ketchup and the nachos were those awful dense ones you get from Lidl and to add insult to injury they were curry flavoured. The very pleasant staff aren't enough to make up for the truly awful food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very Rude Waitress!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I would not recommend this place. The food was edible, but slightly over priced for what it was. However the most shocking thing was the service! One of the waitresses was incredibly rude for no reason. She literally told us off as when asked we said we had not finished yet and berated us for leaving the "knife and fork in the wrong place on the plate"! She then purposely complained about us while we were in earshot to another waitress! I have never complained in a restaurant before, but had to say something to the manager as her behaviour and attitude was atrocious!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Check Your Bill Carefully...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Was in Greenwich deciding which of the two Mexican restaurants on Greenwich Church Street to eat at.

We stood outside Desperados looking outside, when a man in a suit stood near the entrance (owner? manager?) came over to us and offered us our first drinks free if we ate there. We took him up on his offer. He ushered us inside and took us to a table.

The place was small but busy - we had a small table sat so close to the diners next to us, we could have been mistaken for being one whole group.

We ordered fajitas which were decent enough, and 2 beers (our free drinks, remember).

When we asked for the bill, I noticed immediately that we had been charged for the beers. I told the staff the situation regarding the gentleman who had made us the offer. They went away and came back with a revised bill, deducting the price of the beers.

However, a 10% service charge had been added to the first bill (I hate when restaurants do that - I'll decide what the service is worth, thanks!) but when the new bill appeared, the service charge was still 10% of the original amount, not the revised amount.

This service charge, and pulling the stunt of trying to make us pay for our "free" beers, left a nasty taste in our mouths.

We won't be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Local colour with eager to please but amateurish staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Went mid week early Wed 19:00 hrs before a visit to the Cinema, the staff struggled with interpreting the menu (two struggled with English) and you shouldn't have to ask four times for anything, let alone a glass of water! The food arrived quickly what came was fresh and hot, as it was early in the evening the chef was still getting going, but to be very picky the onions in the fajitas weren't nearly caramelised enough but not serious enough to complain about.The pasta with seafood in tomato sauce was also good with plenty of salmon mussels prawns and squid but had not been allowed to cook long enough to develop the flavour of the tomatoes so it seemed a little bland. Generally the food was fairly good value for money, there was plenty of it, and a bottle of Chianti at £23 was a little steep but a nice quality wine. The place could do with a bit of a spring clean as all the hats, Mexican memorabilia and other sundry bits hanging from the walls and ceiling looked as if they had hung there for some time collecting dust but some might say that adds to the charm and atmosphere. All in all a good experience but the waiting staff need much more on the job training especially as they were not at all familiar with the menu or the wine list (three attempts at ordering the wine!). The tables in the window have quite a good view of the Cutty Sark sailing ship and across the river Thames (albeit across a busy road). I will be going back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Desperados also viewed

 

Been to Desperados? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desperados, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.