We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of London City Suites By Montcalm

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added London City Suites By Montcalm to your Saves list
London City Suites By Montcalm
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   42-46 Chiswell Street, London EC1Y 4SD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #163 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Bushmills, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Hotel was everything we hoped for. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Rooms were clean and well equipped. We were travelling with my 82 year old mother and staff went out of their way to treat her with such helpfulness and respect. Proximity to Barbican station a real bonus.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenSands, Hotel Manager at London City Suites By Montcalm, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for leaving such a candid feedback about your stay.

Your comments have been forwarded to our team who was delighted to learn that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

In addition to the Barbican station, the Moorgate station is located at a short walk of 5 minutes and the Liverpool Street station is only 7 minutes away. Both provide excellent connections to central London and, in the case of the Liverpool Street station, the national railway network.

We hope to welcome you and your family back in a near future.

Kind regards,

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    60
    24
    5
    4
See reviews for
21
82
17
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for only one night for our anniversary and it was just simply lovely! After making the booking and speaking to Ben who was extremely nice and helpful, he upgraded us with a complimentary bottle of champagne and a continental breakfast! The room was amazing, very clean and everything was perfect! All the staff were extremely polite and couldn't do enough for you! After checking out the staff saved our luggage free of charge so we could explore London and see the sights! We have absolutely nothing negative to say about this hotel or the staff! We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and we look forward to staying there again very soon! Thank you again Ben. Mrs Harrison.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenSands, Hotel Manager at London City Suites By Montcalm, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Mrs. Harrison,

Thank you so much for your amazing review.

Our team was thrilled to learn that you and your husband had such a great stay and that we were able to make this special occasion even more memorable.

I really appreciate that you have mentioned our services and that the same exceeded your expectations.

We are looking forward in welcoming you again in a near future.

Kind regards,

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pfaffikon, Switzerland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This hotel is more if you are coming to London for businesses or conferences. The location is in a business district close to Cass Business School and surrounding offices. Since this time we came for personal reason, would have been nicer to stay somewhere in the center like Piccadily or Soho. The hotel room is a bit small, clean, the staff are very friendly. But maybe the price is a bit on a high side.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenSands, Hotel Manager at London City Suites By Montcalm, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your comments on this forum.

In fact we are located in a business area, which has the advantage of providing our guests with quieter surroundings.

I really appreciate that you mentioned our team who was pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards,

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antrim
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on the occasion of our daughters graduation as the ceremony was at the Barbican , just round the corner. The cost for so nights was so reasonable I wasn't expecting much. I've been disappointed after paying roughly the same rate in other hotels. What a surprise this was...from the moment you walk in off the street past the concierge and into the welcoming foyer the place just invites you in and really takes care of you. Excellent, helpful staff enquiring after your every whim and a modern yet not over the top decor. Out suite was just super, spacious, classy with lots of nice touches...sweets on pillow, a lovely bowl of fruit and all the gadgetry you would need. The decor was absolutely fabulous . I have no problem in recommending this hotel for couples or families.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenSands, Hotel Manager at London City Suites By Montcalm, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for leaving such a wonderful review on this website.

I really appreciate that you have mentioned our services and that the same exceeded your expectations.

The London City Suites and The Montcalm London City Hotel were built in what was the Old Whitbread Brewery and together with the modern décor give the same a unique charm.

Our team was thrilled to learn that you had such an amazing stay and once again would like to congratulate you and your daughters on this special occasion.

We hope to welcome you back in a near future.

Kind regards,

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Just returned from a fantastic weekend in London. I booked the hotel for a one night's stay for my husbands birthday. When we arrived the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. They could not be more happy to recommend things for us to do for the weekend and showing us how to get around. The room was absolutely superb, stunning décor and the bed was unbelievably comfortable. The location is great with a choice of 2 tube stations within a 5 minutes walk and St Paul's Cathedral is only a 10 minute walk away. I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel and will hopefully be booking and staying again in the near future. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenSands, Hotel Manager at London City Suites By Montcalm, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Katie,

Thank you so much for leaving this wonderful review about your stay with us.

Your comments have been passed to the team who was thrilled to learn that you and your husband had such a great time on his birthday. It is always rewarding to know that we were able to help on making such a special day even more memorable.

In addition to the Barbican and Moorgate stations, the Liverpool Street Station is only a short walk from the hotel and provides excellent connections to the city and the railway network.

We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you and your husband back as a returning guest is our ultimate reward.

Kind regards,

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel, whilst not cheap, we found to be excellent value for money. Staff were exceptional and couldn't do enough for us. The room was great, and the bed was one of the most comfy I've slept on. The cluster of gastro-pub, city suites, and hotel all within a stones throw of eachother was quaint and we enjoyed this slightly different set up. We had room service for breakfast and it was really fantastic, the eggs royale were to die for...!
Less than a 5 minute walk to Barbican tube station, the location was great for us. I will certainly be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenSands, Hotel Manager at London City Suites By Montcalm, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on this forum.

I really appreciate that you have mentioned our services and that the same met your expectation.

For a future stay, since you have enjoyed our Jugged Hare, why not try our sister restaurant Chiswell Dining Rooms.

In addition to the Barbican station the Moorgate station and the Liverpool Station are located a short distance from the London City Suites. Both provide excellent connections to central London and, in case of the Liverpool Station, to the railway network.

We hope to welcome you back again to the London City Suites.

Kind regards,

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Superb hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. Arrived early to leave my bags but was told there was a room available - not the best room but it was ready now. So I happily checked in and was taken to my room and shown a shortcut out rather than the maze through hotel. Room was slightly small but lovely. Super comfy bed, quiet, lovely bathroom, great facilities. Cookies were provided in the room on arrival and in the evening a complimentary fruit platter and mineral water was delivered. A turn-down service in the evening also delivered mints. A superb hotel at a good price

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenSands, Hotel Manager at London City Suites By Montcalm, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Paul,

I really appreciate that you took the time to leave your feedback on this forum.
Our team was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the amenities were to your liking.
We hope to welcome you back in a near future.

Kind regards,

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to London City Suites By Montcalm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London City Suites By Montcalm

Address: 42-46 Chiswell Street, London EC1Y 4SD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#119 Luxury Hotel in London
#120 Romantic Hotel in London
#150 Business Hotel in London
#310 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — London City Suites By Montcalm 5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your London City Suites By Montcalm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London City Suites By Montcalm Hotel London
London City Suites By Montcalm England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage London City Suites By Montcalm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.