We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpleasant Experience!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Season Kitchen and Dining Room

Season Kitchen and Dining Room
53 Stroud Green Road | Finsbury Park, London N4 3EF, England
0207 263 5500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,728 of 17,041 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unpleasant Experience!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We had starters of charred broccoli with cheese and soft-boiled egg and my companion had duck ham and accompaniments - the highlight was the broccoli starter: from there on it was downhill! Like another reviewer said the duck was totally `'underwhelming' - also, a tiny tiny portion. Mains were sole for moi with a garlic 'galette' and samphire: well, I should have rather gone to a fish and chips take-away at a third of the price - the fish was breadcrumbed and dry and not at all subtle; and then even more of the breadcrumbs surrounded the 'galette' - I always think of a galette as a dainty pastry slice; also no contrast, it was filling but not in a good way! And like another reviewer said about the partridge, which my companion had, it was the whole bird, tough to boot, and the only way to eat it would have been 'to have gone all caveman on it'!

We ordered a bottle of Spanish white wine and there was no facility for keeping it cold so our waitress kept it in a fridge at the back of the little restaurant (it is very crowded, one on top of another) - the problem with us being separated from our wine is every, but every, time we needed service we had to literally shout, wave, gesticulate for our waitress. The service throughout the evening was appalling!

I do not recommend this restaurant, maybe it appeals to people who take pleasure in eating tasteless food. We definitely would never go here again and were sad at the waste of £60 plus for the evening.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    17
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good local place but I wouldn't travel here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Bit hit and miss this place, but not so miss that I won't give it a second chance. Service was friendly but slack. I had to ask for everything from ordering food to bill, so not very attentive despite the restaurant not being that busy. Some of the food was sublime and some of it was poor. We had a rosemary chocolate desert that was out of this world, but I also had a partridge that was served whole one the bone that would be near impossible to eat without getting all cave man on it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Season S, Owner at Season Kitchen and Dining Room, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Mike,

Thanks for taking the time to review your visit to season.

I was pleased to hear you enjoyed aspects of your meal but of course disappointed that other aspects weren't up to scratch.

I'm sorry the service you received was less than good, it really isn't like us and I will chat with the team to ensure they're focused at all times. I understand your point about the partridge dish, I appreciate it's rustic, we hope it's more Henry VIII than caveman though!

I value that you've stated that you would return again and would like to offer my email address eat@seasonkitchen.co.uk and when you do return please let me know, I can ensure everything is ship shape and also arrange for you and your guests to have something to wet your whistles on arrival.

We do hope to see you again soon.

Best,

Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Celebrating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Wow Best steak I have had in a long time. We were celebrating our son's wedding and there were about 18 of us. The choices for each course were minimal but then you are not spoilt for choice... Easy peasy....

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Well that was MUCH cheaper than I expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

What a gorgeous restaurant. The house wine was gorgeous. I went with a friend, after a trip to Park Theatre (Wells Terrace). The food was sublime. The staff were friendly and everything was hot and fresh. Was expecting to pay far more than I did. Cannot wait to go again. (We ordered a side of chips as we saw them on another table and they look yum. They were, but the food that we ate filled us up nicely). I think it has become my after theatre treat. Looking forward to the seasonal changes.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unexpected delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Came across the Season kitchen by chance after an evening at the Park Theatre (opp Finsbury Park Station and jolly fine too). Stumbling round looking for something that was not a kebabery and found this. Lots of Farrow and Ball and a pleasantly dim lighting in a moderate sized room. In my younger days I may have been a bit put off and think it too up itself, but no, it was lovely. Very friendly charming staff, all knew about their products, impressive small well curated menu, local sourcing, veggies from a roof garden. Tap water offered without asking in very lovely retro carafe. I had mackerel with poached plums, which was delish, friend had patridge - with pears, how witty is that- also very good, other friend had miso fried aubergine, but reported that not enough miso.( I don't like miso, you can't have not enough miso for me, but if you do...). Wanted the venison in chocolate gravy with tea soaked prunes, but too late! Excellent looking puds, but couldn't stay, late for train. Good value prices (mains between £10 and 20) and very pleasant experience. Will certainly go again. Hope others will enjoy it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Season Kitchen and Dining Room also viewed

 

Been to Season Kitchen and Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Season Kitchen and Dining Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.