We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If I hadn't had a deal I wouldn't stay again” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grange White Hall Hotel

Save Saved
You added Grange White Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grange White Hall Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-5 Montague St | Russell Square, London WC1B 5BU, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #536 of 1,075 hotels in London
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“If I hadn't had a deal I wouldn't stay again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had a deak on this hotek but I would never pay full price. The hotel looks very grand and the rooms are well presented. However our room was in the lower ground floor and our window looked out onto a wall and to the side was a door to what we think was the kitchen so had to have the curtains closed at all times (good job we weren't in the room much). The bathroom was nice enough but the bath didn't hold the water and was very high which made getting out of the shower dangerous. The restraunt seemed reasonably priced for dinner (not for breakfast 22.95!) However it didn't open until 6.30 which is a bit late for those heading to the theatre. Considering this is classed as a 4* hotel I would have though they would have had more services available to guests mainly out of ordinary toiletries available to purchase to savr us traipsing around London in the middle of thd night!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    157
    80
    38
    22
See reviews for
41
137
15
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here for one night, arriving at 01.30 following a late arriving train. The receptionist was friendly and efficient, sorting out the check in quickly so that we could get to bed. The room itself was nicely decorated and, despite being modern, retained some of the period features of the building. The bed was very comfortable and we both had a great night's sleep.
The hotel is well-located, just off Russell Square, and 2 minutes walk from the nearest tube station.
We would definitely recommend this property, we made our booking through one of the "secret hotel" websites and so didn't pay anywhere near the normal rate so it was excellent value for money...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landshut, Bayern, Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The hotel reception is well organized, the staff is friendly and always helpful. The baggage was immediately picked up by the hotel boys and had been delivered promptly to the assigned room. The room itself was well equipped, but too small. I was not able to sit down on the offered chair because the space between the desk and the bed was to narrow. The bathroom was also very small but functional.
The location of the hotel is pretty nice for people heading of for the British Museum. Also the Oxford Street (shopping) and China Town (eating) are in a walking distance.
The hotel's offering for breakfast or too expensive (about 24 British Pounds) and the alternatives for that are just around the corner. So I picked the breakfast outside (about 8 BP).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for two nights.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. We arrived early and was told that we could leave our bags until our room was ready. The room we had was on the lower floor so the view was restricted. However the room itself was bigger than expected and clean. The towels were changed even thou we were only there for two nights.
The continetal breakfast was lovely and the staff were quick to refill our tea/coffee when ever required.
The location was ideal and has three stations nearby for the underground and its about ten min walk to kings cross station.
We will be staying again the next time we stay in london.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ikast, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The website mafe it look quite promising but the hotel is only mediocre, if even. The staff is rather uninterested in servicing. We had an extra bed in, and the mattress was completely inappropriate for use: That is just the way it is, said the concierge. I guess he was just right...

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I decided to book the hotel based on the location as we were out in Covent Garden for the evening. I have stayed at a few Grange hotels before and always thought they were nice. This one didn’t disappoint. For the price and location you just can’t complain, staff are friendly, room was spotlessly clean (a little on the small side, but fine for a night/ couple of nights stay) I didn’t have breakfast so can’t comment on that. Overall it’s a very nice hotel, clean, and great location at a very reasonable price. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grange White Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange White Hall Hotel

Address: 2-5 Montague St | Russell Square, London WC1B 5BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#307 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange White Hall Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Hotel housed within an Edwardian-style building dating from 1800. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Grange White Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange White Hall London
Hotel Grange White Hall
Grange White Hall Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grange White Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.