We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grange White Hall Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grange White Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Grange White Hall Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-5 Montague St | Russell Square, London WC1B 5BU, England (Bloomsbury)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #588 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    174
    98
    45
    26
See reviews for
50
164
16
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Although we live only 20 minutes by train from Central London, we checked in this hotel so we wouldn't have to rush for the last train back (we were going to a party which would finish quite late.)

Booked through lastminute.com at the Grange White Hall and was upgrade to a King room. Our room is very big for any hotel, let alone one in Central London. It overlooks the hotel garden with exotic plants like palm trees etc, which made us feel like we were on holiday rather than just in London. My boyfriend loves the British Museum and being able to stay so close to it was a real treat. (We did spend half a day at the British Museum)

The street where the hotel is located is a quiet street, so even if your room faces the street I guess it won't be that noisy.

Room Tip: Ask for room at the back, facing the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

This is a lovely hotel just behind the British museum but ideally placed for the east end of Oxford street. Although used by business people it is ideal for tourists wanting a small quiet hotel in London. It does a good quality breakfast and although the rooms are small they are adequate. All in all a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

Lovely quiet room overlooking garden at back, clean, reasonable size for a double in London, friendly, would go back. Didn't try the breakfast so can't comment on food. Not sure what a road facing room would be like.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wednesbury
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Myself and my wife booked this hotel for 2 nights as we were going to the Paralympic Games for £106 per night with continental breakfast. The hotel is so easy to find, 5 minutes across the Russell Square Park, a 10 minute walk from London Euston. We were warmly greeted by the receptionist who quickly found our reservation - although the room was not ready she took our bags and stored them safely whilst we went to the games. We arrived back at 5pm to find we had been upgraded free of charge to an executive double room. The room was classically pointed, was clean and tidy. Yes it was small but then for a victorian townhouse it is what you will get! I have a back problem so required a firm bed however our matress was very soft, if I had of slept on it I would have been in trouble. We went to reception and spoke to Anna and Roberto (Hotel Manager) and they tried so hard, gave us other rooms to try, but they were all the same. We feared the worst, however...... Roberto contacted nearby Grange Clarendon and sent us to try their King Size Executive Room - he even sent his concierge with us!!! The bed was much better and we were transferred at no extra cost (see review for Clarendon) I have to say the customer service recieved at this hotel is amazing, it was just a shame we could not stay there. A big big thank you to all the staff who helped us that day!

Room Tip: Double Executives on the 1st floor upwards are good, on the front of the building and at the back of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Found the room on 'secret rooms'. Start off by saying the location is great for the west end. Lots to do around the hotel. Bed was comfy and the room was clean.

Down side was that our room 308 neighboured the lift so the whole room rumbled when someone used it. The room was small but did what it needed to do. Would says its more of a 3* rather than a 4*

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Service was very good, efficient and helpful and warm. I liked the style of the hotel, slightly period stately style, but with a modern finish. Comfortable restaurant with garden view. Good location on a quiet street but right next to the British Museum and Russell Square, bus stop outside, and a short walk from 3 Tube stations.

The bed was comfortable and the room had all necessary fittings. However, my big complaint was that the room was simply too small, with barely enough room to get round the bed and not enough room to sit at the fitted desk - not ideal for a businessman needing to work from the room. Will London hotels please get the message that if you can't walk easily round the bed then the room is too small!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grange White Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange White Hall Hotel

Address: 2-5 Montague St | Russell Square, London WC1B 5BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#337 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange White Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Hotel housed within an Edwardian-style building dating from 1800. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, LondonMarketing.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Grange White Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange White Hall London
Hotel Grange White Hall
Grange White Hall Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grange White Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.