We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's no Buckingham Palace...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Apollo Hotel - Bayswater

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Apollo Hotel - Bayswater to your Saves list
Apollo Hotel - Bayswater
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   64 Queensborough Terrace | Bayswater, London W2 3SH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #994 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Southampton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It's no Buckingham Palace...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

As we were only staying for one night, we weren't overly fussed as to the quality of the hotel. All we needed was somewhere to sleep and have a shower, and in fairness it did provide that, but nothing else. The receptionist was hardly ever there and when we waited at the desk, we waited for nearly 5 minutes before being served each time. No bell meant we couldn't get his attention as he often wasn't anywhere near the desk. Although he was friendly and reasonably polite, it did feel as though we were taking up his valuable time. The room was not impressive by any means. All that was good was that it had an (only just) clean bed and a working shower. The TV didn't work and we had to move the kettle for it to be plugged in to work. The cupboards and wardrobe were in a poor condition, with the veneer peeling away in several areas. The windows did little to keep the outside noise to a minimum, and struggled to shut properly. There was mould and mildew in the bathroom, and the skirtingboards were peeling away, and the bathroom door was being propped open by a chair as it shut itself without it. Breakfast was quite poor, only having cornflakes or a croissant for choice. No toast or anything cooked. Although the eating area was acceptable (despite being in the basement), the person managing the area was far from friendly. No greeting when we walked in, and when I accidentally nudged him trying to get past, I apologised and got a cold stare of disgust and annoyance back. Hardly hospitable. Overall, we were not impressed with the service and experience in general, but it was (just) acceptable for our needs. We certainly would not consider returning however.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    40
    97
    80
    279
See reviews for
91
154
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were only staying one night, so my expectations were a clean bed, good sleep. We had neither. Bed didn't feel or smell clean; people out in the streets remained drinking and talking into the early hours. Couldn't close window because there was no air conditioning. I thought the front desk staff was helpful when they arranged for transportation from airport, I later learned that I was overcharged about 15 euros. I should've known when I was paying the front desk clerk instead of the taxi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Overall, it is a place to fall into a bed after having a hard day. If you're not so tired you start feeling a bad mattress with springs coming out here and there. We were 5 and the room had 6 beds to sleep but no space to go between your bags an beds. Drawer without shelves, so you have to keep all your things in your bags.
What is good: towels are changed every day, beds are arranged every day, quite clean. Guys on reception were affable: despite they were our brothers, they communicated with us very good knowing that we are from Israel. Location is very convenient to come to Hyde park and underground.
Breakfast is acceptable for this level of hotel.
What I learned - if you do not have to be close to the city center, it's preferable to get apartments or hotel for less money taking 20-30 minute to arrive to central London.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

I totally agreed with the other reviews pointing out the problems of the door and it's lock, the TV and the cleanness of the hotel. When I opened the door of the room, it's as hot as on fire. There's an awful smell coming out from the toilet, it didn't go away as you turn the exhaust fans on, and I couldn't imagine why it's so stinky until the third night.... I was staying on the 5th floor and the window couldn't be opened because there's a wall outside the window!!! When the sunlight came in the room, I can see dust floating in the air and couldn't get out of the room while the window blocked and no fresh air convect.
I finally realize why the toilet kept smelling stinky after I flushed the toilet on the third night, the toilet and bath sink are in the same pipe....

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I stayed there in Aug 2012. I never saw a front desk person of a in town hotel wears round neck T-shirt. The room is dirty, the door knock loose, the TV small and old fashion, the antenna cable stolen !! Bed sheet dirt, bath room stinky !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I hovered between poor and average and settled on average because they moved me from a closet sized room with a lumpy bed (but it was quiet and you could open a window) to a more comfortable room where you could also open a window. To be fair, the rooms were very clean and the location is great...just a block from Queensway tube and across from lovely Kensington Gardens. This hotel has real potential. It's in a beautiful old building. My advice to the owners would be as follows: (1) get one of the guys to steam clean the rugs in the lobby; (2) wash the lobby windows; (3) get rid of all the lumpy beds ; (4) add a bowl of fruit (a few apples and bananas) and some whole wheat bread to the breakfast spread, and voila! Your hotel become a very good deal.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quiet. Rooms in the front may be recently renovated and better. Ask the guy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My daughter and I stayed in this hotel for our once a year xmas trip to London. We're always on a pretty tight budget so cut costs by staying somewhere cheaper, after all you don't go all the way to London to spend the time in the hotel do you?! We were pretty daunted by the reviews tbh and wondered if we would even make it home again considering the state the place was made out to be. But to our delight and amazement we found our room to be spot on for the price. We had a single and double bed with loads of space in the room for suitcases and xmas shopping, in fact apart from the worn carpet leading down to the basement for breakfast, it was a lovely place to stay. Perfect location in a nice area and handy for 2 tube stations and whitelys shopping centre. I've just booked to go again this year. Don't be put off by all you read. Have you seen how little you're paying to stay in such a big city?? Bargain

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the lift if you're a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Apollo Hotel - Bayswater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel - Bayswater

Address: 64 Queensborough Terrace | Bayswater, London W2 3SH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #994 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Apollo Hotel - Bayswater 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apollo Hotel London Featuring affordable accommodations in the heart of central London, the Apollo Hotel located right on the border of London's magnificent Hyde Park. Guests at Apollo Hotel Bayswater could not ask for a better location, wit the tube stations at Queensway and Bayswater both close by, between them serving the Circle, District and Central Lines to destinations such as Westminster, the Tower of London, Notting Hill, St Paul's Cathedral and Kings Cross. All guest rooms are comfortably furnished, equipped with modern amenities such as private bathroom facilities, Colour TV, direct dial telephone, tea/coffee making facilities, WiFi Internet Access (charges apply) and 24hr reception. We look forward to welcoming you to the Apollo Hotel in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Apollo Hotel - Bayswater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Hotel - Bayswater London, England
Apollo Hotel London

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apollo Hotel - Bayswater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.