We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is not as bad as it is made out!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apollo Hotel - Bayswater

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Apollo Hotel - Bayswater to your Saves list
Apollo Hotel - Bayswater
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   64 Queensborough Terrace | Bayswater, London W2 3SH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,002 of 1,052 Hotels in London
Bolton, England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“This place is not as bad as it is made out!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed here when we went to the Queens Diamond Jubilee Concert last week. We were surprised to see how reasonable this place was when, lets face it, even Premier Lodge prices were through the roof! My husband and I stayed here for two nights and the price was very reasonable.
Our first impressions weren't great - when we tried to check in and the guy on reception was receiving a take away - we took second place. We tried to check in at 5pm and later learnt that the take away was this guys lunch. The room was clean and did a grand job - it was, afterall, a place to lay our heads. We didn't have a kettle and the tv didn't work but after a call to reception all was rectified with in five minutes. There wasnt any shower gel in the room so be warned and make sure to take some, luckily we did.
Breakfast was included - it was continental - croissants, bread rolls, toast on request. There was cereal and juice too. Coffee was good and strong. Nothing mind blowing, but for the price we paid it was satisfactory. Most of the clientelle were foreign, not a problem, just an observation.
The staff were very smily and recognised us (even though we stayed for a short time), had a bit of a giggle with us, gave a good atmosphere.
After reading the reviews on here we nearly cancelled - I am glad we didnt, this hotel was friendly and suited us for the trip we had. It is a short walk from lots of local shops, bars and restaurants - particularly Persian and Indian, we had an amazing Persian meal within a stones throw of the hotel.

If we consider what we paid for the two night stay we had here then I would say it was definitely value for money.
We chatted to the staff and asked them for anything that we needed that wasnt there - they sorted this out within a matter of minutes.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    43
    101
    88
    305
See reviews for
104
167
22
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

I would not recommend this hotel to anybody, we were booked in for 6 nights, but after the first night we checked out.. The room was shabby, 1 coat hanger,a very old television, with a faulty remote, had to request towels& soap. The bathroom & shower could do with a good makeover. Very old & well worn beds,& covers. Dreadful room, I don't know how they can charge, what thy charge for it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Room was disgusting,no soap or plug in bathroom, towels smelt, everywhere was painted green, breakfast was terrible, T.V had 1 channel, kettle was dirty, the whole place was run down and dirty, This Hotel is beyond doubt a Hole how it can trade is beyond believe.

Room Tip: All rooms are bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

but my travel agency made a mistake and it was the only hotel left on this "hotel boulevard" in Bayswater. So the position is really good, there are two different tube stations only a few minutes away. The hotel itself was a bit dirty and broken: The bathroom was kind of mouldy, the door didn't close right. The room is, typically for London, tiny, so the bed just exactly fits in. But hey, that's London!
Breakfast wasn't wonderful either, coffee was disgusting, the other stuff just yucky readymade stuff.
But after all, I have the say that the receptionist was really kind, he tried everything to make up for the miserable standard. When I was there, the hotel got renovated, hopefully it's better by now. But I really wouldn't come again, I'm sorry!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

its in the best location in london in my opinion. but in dire need of new management. the hotel across the street isnt far more expensive but its a proper hotel. this is just sad. very poor living condition. and the staffs are one of a kind

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

This place is an absolute dive.
Firstly, they lied about the wi-fi. It clearly states on most travel websites that this hotel has free wifi, which, when I enquired, it did not.
The room size was also ridiculous, not to mention cramped. The lift is barely noticable, and from many other reviews I have read, most visitors could not even find it and resorted to dragging their luggage four floors up an incredibly narrow stairs. When we arrived, there was a large mattress blocking the door on the ground floor.
The room was freezing, as the radiator did not work, and neither did one of the electrical sockets.
However, I was forced to spend three nights freezing as I was quite honestly afraid to pull up a filthy blanket over me, so I slept wrapped in only a sheet and a jacket I had worn the previous day.
The bathroom was absolutely tiny, with cracked tiles and exposed wires. I point blank refused to walk on the carpet without shoes on, as it smelled damp and I suspected it was infested with lice.
Another review I have read stated that there were small bugs in the towels too, but I can't second this statement as I never received a towel.
The staff seemed completely unprofessional and when I asked about the free wifi (which is supposedly available throughout the hotel) I was brushed off and nonchalantly told that I would have to pay. I think it is absolutely ridiculous that a hotel would lie about its offers and it angered me greatly.
The hotel rooms were not sound proofed, in fact, there was a great deal of noise from both outside, next door and upstairs at all hours of the day and night.
I would describe my overall experience in this hotel as a hellish one and would discourage anyone from staying here unless their budget is so low they genuinely can't afford anywhere better. Trust me, anywhere is better than this.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Well first before booking it we came to trip advisor to read the reviews. As you can see they are very mixed! biu as the rooms were cheap and we were planning to be out and about for the few days we decided to book it. We arrived and were suprised at first as there was a lovely lounge which we did not expect. We were prepared for the worst as we walked into to the room but it wasn't too bad it wasn't spick and span but there was nothing really dirty. The bathroom was nice and clean. As for the breakfast... well it wasn't great but that was ok as we just ate some place else. If you are looking for somewhere cheap to stay for a few days and are not fussed about luxury stay here. The station is near and so is Hyde Park its easy to get most places from here and doesn't take to long, but Advice: get your food out! :)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
Kensington West Hotel
#714 of 1,052 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 319 reviews
The Continental Hotel
#18 of 24 in Hounslow
3.0 of 5 stars 470 reviews
Shakespeare Hotel
#671 of 1,052 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Viking Hotel
#592 of 1,052 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 386 reviews
Dolphin Hotel
#669 of 1,052 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 399 reviews
Bloomsbury
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#136 of 536 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel - Bayswater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel - Bayswater

Address: 64 Queensborough Terrace | Bayswater, London W2 3SH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,002 of 1,052 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Apollo Hotel - Bayswater 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apollo Hotel London Featuring affordable accommodations in the heart of central London, the Apollo Hotel located right on the border of London's magnificent Hyde Park. Guests at Apollo Hotel Bayswater could not ask for a better location, wit the tube stations at Queensway and Bayswater both close by, between them serving the Circle, District and Central Lines to destinations such as Westminster, the Tower of London, Notting Hill, St Paul's Cathedral and Kings Cross. All guest rooms are comfortably furnished, equipped with modern amenities such as private bathroom facilities, Colour TV, direct dial telephone, tea/coffee making facilities, WiFi Internet Access (charges apply) and 24hr reception. We look forward to welcoming you to the Apollo Hotel in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Otel and Odigeo so you can book your Apollo Hotel - Bayswater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Hotel - Bayswater London, England
Apollo Hotel London

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apollo Hotel - Bayswater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.