We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy, unhygienic, nice staff (mostly)” 3 of 5 stars
Review of St Christopher's Inn Greenwich

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added St Christopher's Inn Greenwich to your Saves list
St Christopher's Inn Greenwich
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   189 Greenwich High Road, London SE10 8JA, England (Greenwich)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #225 of 663 Specialty Lodging in London
1 review
“Noisy, unhygienic, nice staff (mostly)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

This is the second time I've stayed here, mainly due to the good location and dirt cheap prices. However being placed in a bunk directly above the speakers in the bar was not enjoyable and ensured I didnt get to sleep until the bar closed (at 1am). Staff: guy at the desk was friendly, warm, professional and helpful. So was the woman at the desk the next day. Girl at the bar was loud, rude and got drunk with random guys in the common room ignoring other travellers and disrespecting their right to relax. Every second word was [--] this [--] that. Classy. Rooms full of dust but clean sheets and warm/ventilated. Showers grotty yet toilets clean?.. Interesting note: the previous time I stayed I was enjoying a lie in when one of the cleaners came in and proceeded to have a lie down herself while talking on her mobile in ONE OF THE BEDS she was meant to be making. WTF?? This bothered me to the extent that it did because I was still asleep in/occupying the room and this is so totally unprofessional its not funny. Takes lying down on the job to a whole new level. However I did buy a fantastic microfibre travel towel at reception.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    23
    13
    11
    12
See reviews for
2
7
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for a few nights at end of October and were really disappointed with this place. Besides being quite out of the way (unless you really want to stay in Greenwich) it was quite bad. First of all they tried to overcharge us when we made the payment - although it was obvious we booked online and already paid 10%, they tried to charge us the 10% again. Then, since check-in is not allowed until 2pm we wanted to leave our luggage there for a few hours and we discovered that the only luggage storage they have is paid!! You need to pay 2-3 pounds for a few hours if you want to use their lockers...
After we manage to check in and get our beds in the dorm, we found our beds un-cleaned. We needed to call them to clean the beds. And apparently that's the general case not the exception, as some other people that checked-in next days had same problem. Besides not cleaning the beds, they barely ever clean anything in the dorms or the shared bathrooms which get quite filthy. The showers work very bad - have to push a button and after that you get water for about 10-15 seconds, out of which 5 seconds is quite cold.
To top it all up, on our last day there a guy in our room lost his key lock and asked a staff member to break into the locker. The staff was really happy to do it without even asking anybody else if indeed that was that guy's locker!!! That says a lot about the safety of the place.
I would never stay there again! There are much cleaner, better places in central London which are just a little bit more expensive!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavík, Gullbringusysla, Iceland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

would reccomend this as a party hostel, because of the bar downstairs and the music they were playing. Toilets could have been cleaner but not the worst we've seen. The lockers under the bed were spacey and accessable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Nothing bad to report here I'm glad to say - the hostel is quite close to Greenwich DLR so is handy for getting around London and also out to London City Airport, which is why we chose to stay there. We arrived late and were checked in quickly once the group in front of us were sorted. We had one of the 8 bedded dorms, they are all numbered and you are allocated your bunk number at check in. As it was a Wednesday night and we had a super early start the next morning, we were grateful for sharing the room with considerate travellers. No-one came busting in making noise or turning lights on. There was 1 bin in the room and a few power outlets so a few of us were able to charge phones etc at the same time. The toilet area was a bit dirty and they don't seem to want to flush properly, but the showers worked fine and served their purpose.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

A pint of Sagres in the bar was like vinegar. Neither the barman nor his mate seemed to care much. Since this stuff lasts for a month in the keg, it must be down to filthy un-cleaned beer lines.And that's a pointer to rat poo and dead mice in the kitchen .... so I passed on the food. Avoid like the plague unless you're as broke as a 419 scammer with tourets.

Room Tip: stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Originally I had rated this hostel a 3 because I thought it was just average. But after seeing some other hostels in Europe, I realized my standards had been too high and that St. Christopher's is really great for a hostel.

First off, it took me a while to find the place, because the bottom floor is literally just a bar called Belushi's, with a St. Christopher's sign hanging on the corner. You have to ask at the bar for reception. Then you get a free beer and someone is kind enough to carry your bag up for you since there is no elevator (it's an old building with thin, winding stairs). Don't worry though - at night when the bar is fuller, the door to the hostel is locked and can only be opened by key card, so you don't have to worry about drunk locals stumbling in.

I stayed in an 8-bed dorm (it was officially "mixed" but I didn't share the room with another girl except for one night of my 9-night stay) which was alright. The beds aren't attached to the walls so they're a bit wobbly when you climb to the top, and you can lose items down the side when you're sleeping - a bit of a pain since there is no shelf or anything to use as a bedside table. There were two outlets in the room but only one worked. Since it's an old building, the window didn't really close properly. It was enough to keep out the rain, but you could still clearly hear everything happening on the street. There are cages under the beds (though the bed in the corner didn't room have room for a second one) where you can lock your belongings up (bring your own padlock). However, if your bag doesn't fit in the cages, there is not really a good space to leave it lying around without inconveniencing someone.

Bathrooms and showers are mixed as well. And since this isn't a youth hostel, it can be a bit unsettling as a girl when you're suddenly standing at the bathroom sink next to a middle-aged man. But on the whole, the mixed factor wasn't too bad. Of the four toilets, one had no toilet seat and another seat broke during my time there, which was a bit inconvenient. I saw that people were cleaning the bathrooms every day, but it seemed like the garbage cans were always full and the mirrors are stained, making them a bit hard to use. I'm not sure if I was just stupidly using them incorrectly because they weren't shaped like regular British plug-ins, but there didn't appear to be any working outlets in the bathrooms. Showers were basic but the stalls are nice and big. The water was hot and strong enough to wash my long hair. There were only four stalls for about 50 people, yet I never had any problems with not having a free shower.

The staff were always super friendly and helpful, though it sounded like they were a bit understaffed and so you could tell when they were stressed from working too much. The atmosphere at Belushi's is not bad and the food was okay. It's not exactly the most hopping bar in London and they don't have much good beer. I tried most of the appetizers there (all under 6 pounds, so good if you're on a budget) and they were quite good. The bar does get really noisy (mostly just from the music) on weekends and holidays and you can feel and hear it in the rooms upstairs. I never had a problem sleeping through most of it, but I can understand if that would turn people off from wanting to stay here.

Location is excellent. It is literally right next to the train station and DLR tube line. Buy an Oyster card, it pays for itself in no time, and you can get to London Bridge station in 5-10 minutes. Some trains go farther to Cannon Street or Charing Cross where you can change to the District or Circle lines that bring you to most of the touristy places in London. Be warned though, the description on the site says the hostel is "a stone's throw" from the O2 Arena (one of the reasons I stayed there, since I was going to a show at the O2) but it's actually quite complicated and rather long to get there, since you have to switch to the Jubilee tube line. Maybe it would have been easier taking the bus.

All in all, I survived 10 days in London while staying at this hostel. Not a bad place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We have arrived for with our group for 2 week stay at 12 am and our room was not ready. The receptionist advised us to put the luggage to the safe place with a camera where only the people with authorisation can enter. However two hours later when we came back, three of our luggage’s disappeared. I have spent all the rest of day on the police station, a great start of the stay. And hostel never felt responsible for what happened and never gave me any compensation. So please be careful at this place.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to St Christopher's Inn Greenwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Christopher's Inn Greenwich

Address: 189 Greenwich High Road, London SE10 8JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Greenwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #225 of 663 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — St Christopher's Inn Greenwich 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Christopher's Hostel in Greenwich offers a slice of tranquility in the midst of everything London. Located in South East London - just ten-minutes away from London Bridge on the over-ground train service - this is a great chill out location with plenty to see and do. Top local attractions include the Royal Observatory - the home of the Prime Meridian Line where time is set and where you can actually straddle the east and west hemispheres! You'll find the observatory on the mound in the lush surrounds of Greenwich Park, offering stunning views over the skyscrapers of the financial district, the historic Cutty Sark tea clipper ship, the National Maritime Museum and much more - all within easy reach of this top London hostel. You'll find St Christopher's Inn Youth Hostel, Greenwich conveniently located in the forecourt of Greenwich station, connected to both the London over-ground train network and the Docklands Light Railway. The hostel is just above the Belushi's bar and restaurant, which offers all guests a great selection of food and drinks. On top of all this you can explore the Greenwich foot tunnel under the River Thames, see a big gig at the O2 Arena in North Greenwich and take a ride on the Emirates Airline Cable Car - London's first ever funicular, all from from this top youth hostel in London! With friendly staff, comfy beds and the best attractions in the city on your doorstep, you can't go wrong with St Christopher's Inn, Greenwich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda, HostelBookers, Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your St Christopher's Inn Greenwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Christopher's Inn Greenwich London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Christopher's Inn Greenwich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.