We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lord Jim Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lord Jim Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lord Jim Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23-25 Penywern Road | Earls Court, London SW5 9TT, England (Earls Court)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #645 of 1,075 hotels in London
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

the best is the position, around the corner to underground Earls`s Court and two nice pubs, and 10min walk to easybus.co.uk for a low cost bus to Gatwick.
The rooms are small but I think that´s London, worse was the bath, no ventilation, no window and because of this mold in the shower,
breakfast was just ok, but only just, even Continental can be better, one day only instant coffe, just one choice of juice per day, little danish pastry or croissants, little buns, two sorts of cereal, one kind cheese.
and the worst was the firealarm 2 of 4 nights at 3 and 6 am, we got told because there is someone smoking, the hotel is non-smoking completly and that you get told in advance by 100 GBP fee. in the same road, which really is nice, there are severel other hotels, which I would looking for next time
it wasn´t nice at all so i forgot to take pictures

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    129
    107
    58
    71
See reviews for
59
83
38
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We have just had a 1 night stay at this hotel on the 27th april 2013.And cannot fault it in any way.From arrival to checking out.Pasca`l on the desk is brilliant and made our stay so welcoming.He has such great charisma and character,and very helpful.Our room was fantastic all that we needed and very comfotable.I would definatelty recommend this hotel to anyone,breakfast food basic but plenty of toast (only have to ask for more) if needed. Would definately stay next time janet & jim 54&55. Rochdale

Room Tip: We are both smokers and luckily our room was number 603 . GROUND floor.So literally just out of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Staff very helpful and friendly. Given a good (basement with window) twin room with newly done bathroom. Friend had stayed previous night in very small single room which was not good - hence us getting this good room, and at a good last minute rate. Didn't have breakfast, but room had kettle etc for tea. Friend said breakfast was adequate, and coffee good.
Downside of the basement room was that it was quite warm, and when we opened the window, the smoke from smokers just outside the hotel drifted in to the room - not my first experience of this - and something the hotel could perhaps address by putting screens up for the smokers or stopping them smoking on the hotel steps.

Room Tip: Ask for updated room; I understand from my friend that some have not yet been done
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Was given a non smoking room with the smoking area right outside of the window.As a non smoker the smell was unbearable. When I opened the curtains the next morning I was greeted by workmen staring in as they sat and had cigerettes. As we were also right next to the dining area we didn't get much sleep. The sound of chairs being draged about for hours during service.

Room Tip: Make sure if you stay at this hotel you stay above ground level
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We decided to stay at the Lord Jim as we were seeing Example at earls court. Having got the hotel at a discount price from hotels.com at £63 and were really pleased with what we got for our money. The hotel's location was amazing as we were literally 2 minutes away from where we needed to be as well as near the tube station and high street so we could get the bits and bobs we needed. The rooms have just had a make over and are adequate with really comfy beds...not huge but big enough! Room and the bathroom was also quite clean. Don't get too excited about the breakfast...cereals,toast and a pastry but for what we paid we were happy and it set us up for the day. The guy behind reception (can't remember his name) was really friendly and helped my friend out when she needed an emergency hair dryer! He also offered to store our bags whilst we explored London after we checked out. Overall,really pleased we went with the Lord Jim as it was perfect for what we needed and good value for money :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I will be honest this is in an ideal location and a low price for London and the room was clean (ish) but the size of a broom cupboard. Our room was described as a double but the bed was a small double or a large single (4ft) because quite frankly they would not have fitted anything bigger in the room! but they should make this clear when they advertise. We booked the room as we were going to the theatre so thankfully we were not in our room much. we came back to our room and the heating was so high we could hardly breathe in our little room we tried to turn it down and the knob came off in our hands! the two things that have lowered my overall rating of this hotel is that we had a European kettle in the room and when I went to reception to ask how we were meant to use it she tried to sell me an adaptor for £5 when I pointed out that it said they were for sale for UK visitors and that we and the kettle live here !!! she said she would find us one to use ... did I hear from her YEA RIGHT! and the noise was ridiculous overnight I did not sleep at all the woman at reception was shouting after someone and talking loudly the entire time. Last moan is that the room itself looked clean but the shower tray just fills to the brim because there is so much scum in the plug. I will be honest this hotel would have got a 3 had it not been for the kettle incident I don't like dishonestly and it completely ruins my opinion as it is just pure cheek I would rather have paid £5 extra for the room and had facilities I could use!

Room Tip: steer clear of room 604 i have seen pics on here and some of the rooms are bigger and not in the noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lord Jim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Jim Hotel

Address: 23-25 Penywern Road | Earls Court, London SW5 9TT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #645 of 1,075 hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Lord Jim Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Lord Jim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Jim London
Hotel Lord Jim
Lord Jim Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lord Jim Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.