We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Notting Hill Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Notting Hill Guest House to your Saves list
Notting Hill Guest House
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   72 Holland Park Avenue, London W11 3QZ, England (Formerly Kensington Guest House) (Notting Hill)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #318 of 525 London B&B and Inns
Lytham St Annes, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good value for location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Booked here as there was 3 of us and needed something close to Kensington. For the price we paid we got exactly what I was expecting. The bedding was clean and the 3 bed room ok. It suited our purposes for one night

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    14
    8
    5
    23
See reviews for
12
17
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victorville
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

If you require five star accommodations, this B & B is not for you. However if you are a budget minded traveler that needs a room to store your luggage while you explore the city and a nice place to sleep at night with a hot breakfast brought to your room in the morning, then don't pass up this gem. I stayed here with my wife and teenage son for 7 days and used this location to explore London and southern England. Short taxi ride to Paddington Station and literally minutes away from Holland Park Tube Station, Bus stop, Starbucks, pubs, self-service laundry and grocery store. Our room faced the street and was clean (no foul smells or odors) and was provided with a TV, free Internet, microwave oven, sink, refrigerator and in room shower/toilet facilities. Bea, the owner, was very friendly & accommodating. She actually went out of her way to buy us sandwiches and drinks for our early morning train ride to the airport!

Room Tip: Although the street can tend to be noisy with traffic, ambulances and pedestrians, ask for a room th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I had read the previous reviews so I was prepared for bad. It wasn't as bad as I feared. The room was a good size. Bed linens were clean. Bea was indeed a very nice lady and the breakfast was decent enough. It was literally next door to the Tube. And minutes away from Portabello Rd. The road was tree lined and beautiful.
The bath across the hall was absolutely foul. Looked like the tub/shower had never been cleaned. There were in fact four large dogs wandering the back lot at most tines of the day. The area was hosed down at least once a day. But that ordeal was not something you want to experience. They shoveled and rinsed it all down the storm sewer and when it backed up, they "plumbed" it with an old mop. If you can avoid that spectacle you might enjoy your stay more. All in all, decent price at good location. The rest is a matter of what you can tolerate.

Room Tip: See if there's a room over looking the front not the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I recently stayed at this B & B for a few nights. The location is great, the staff friendly and the sheets are clean. There is also a fridge and microwave. But I am afraid these good points are where it ends. Firstly, the smell on entering the place is of old mouldy carpet and dog doo. The room was the same. When I could finally get the window open to try to get some fresh air into the place, I looked down into the back yard. It was covered in dog droppings - not just a few poodle sized dog droppings but those of what must have been at least one huge dog. The droppings were also on the stairs up from the yard. I looked out several times to see if any had been cleaned up, but no. Then one night I was woken by an almighty dog fight which seemed to be taking place in the hall downstairs. It was as if the hounds of hell had entered the building. I could not believe that this was happening in a B & B in Holland Park and that the place was allowed to remain open to the public. I survived by being out most of the time because the room was already paid for (double rate as there was just me - no single rate). Also the breakfast is described as "full English". There was one tiny inedible sausage, one tiny slice of bacon, one slice of white toast and undrinkable instant coffee. I would not call this a "full English breakfast". Also, although the sheets were clean, the pillows inside were grey with age. Again, not good for one's health. I would never recommend this B & B. Pay a little extra and go somewhere else. I travel a lot and this is truely the most disgusting place I have ever stayed.

Room Tip: What good room. There aren't any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navan, Ireland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

My friend and I attended the England v Ireland friendly at Wembley and booked this guest house. It is in a great location in the rather upmarket Kensington area - very easy to locate, next door to Holland Park tube station. We were greeted by Bea upon arrival, a lovely and friendly woman. We threw our gearbags into the room and headed to the match.

The room had two twin beds, a tv, microwave, tea/coffee making facilities and all the other normal bits & bobs one would expect from a guest house. The bathroom was shockingly small though, could barely close the door. The decor is in need of updating, old and tired carpets, wallpaper etc etc however we were only 2 lads staying here for a couple hours sleep so none of this cared much to us.

Breakfast was served up to us in the bedroom the following morning, couldn't eat it though, think the 27th pint was dodgy the night before, but the breakfast looked and smelled great.

Would stay here again if going to wembley or football matches that side of the city - to be honest wouldn't bring the wife here though.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

You can't beat the location of this B&B! Holland Park tube station less than half a block away and will take you to or connect you to every location you will need. Starbuck's, Paul's Boulangerie, Tesco market, and a few pubs VERY close by(within a block or so). On Saturday's you can walk about a mile through beautiful Notting Hill to the famous Portobello Market. Notting Hill Gate is also a short walk (10 min.)(or take the tube) for many more restaurants, banks, etc.
The B&B itself is older and could definitely use some sprucing up (mainly carpet & paint). The staff are pleasant and accommodating. The stairs are tight (no lift) but manageable. Our room was an ensuite, larger than we were expecting for Europe. Bathroom was very small as expected. Room was CLEANED DAILY, fresh towels left daily. Large English breakfast each day was delicious. Free Wi-Fi aslo available.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macleay Island, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Met by Bea and made very welcome, large comfortable room with bathroom over passage. The breakfast was very special, cereal followed by egg, bacon, sausage, toast and jam. Located two doors from Holland Park tube station with pubs and supermarkets very close.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Notting Hill Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Notting Hill Guest House

Address: 72 Holland Park Avenue, London W11 3QZ, England (Formerly Kensington Guest House)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Hotel Style:
Ranked #318 of 525 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Notting Hill Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location 2 doors from Holland Park Tube Station. Reasonably priced all rates fully inclusive including Full English Breakfast served to your room.Free WiFi and large screen Satellite TV (HD) in all rooms.Fantastic very exclusive area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Notting Hill Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Notting Hill Guest House Hotel London
Notting Hill Guest House London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Notting Hill Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.