We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great great location, overall a decent place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of YHA London Earl's Court

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added YHA London Earl's Court to your Saves list
YHA London Earl's Court
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   38 Bolton Gardens, London SW5 0AQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #201 of 663 Specialty Lodging in London
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great great location, overall a decent place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I stayed at the Earl's Court Hostel in January 2012 in a six-woman room for $35/night.

First of all, the location is GREAT. It is very close to the Earl's Court and Gloucester Road tube stations so easy to get around. It is on the Piccadilly Line so a direct connection from Heathrow. The neighborhood is quiet and clean. Near the tube stops are lots of groceries, drugstores, coffee shops (I recommend Cafe Forum - free croissant with your coffee!!), and fast food restaurants. There are also a couple of pubs too.

The bed was comfortable. The room was absolutely bare of any decor. The halls weren't noisy but it was not full in January. The hostel has lots of amenities - two lounges, kitchen, laundry, coffee bar. All are acceptable, none great. The back garden area looks like it would be nice in the summer. There were enough toilets and showers for the guests but the hostel also wasn't full in January. All were acceptably clean. The front staff were very friendly and helpful.

If you are looking for a great price and the location in a hostel that is clean and safe, but nothing fancy or exciting, I recommend Earl's Court.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    89
    42
    18
    15
See reviews for
20
31
56
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tromso, Norway
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

This youth hostel was clean and quiet when we moved to the 2.floor. We first got a crummy 3 bed room in the basement, where we found some kind of animal (little bugs) in the bed. But they immediatly upgraded us to a 4 bed large room on the 2.floor wich was clean and nice and very quiet. The madrasses are not so thick, so if you are heavy it might not be so soft to sleep, nice duvets and pillows. Plenty of toilets and showers close to the rooms, you have to shear, but this was never a problem for us, they where always free and had warm water and good pressure in the showers. They have towels to hire (big nice ones) you pay a deposit and get money back when you leave. The staff was friendly and helpful, they sell breakfast and coffee and have two lounges with tv and computers, and also a nice little "garden" no grass, but tables so you can sit outside in a quiet atmosphere where youre not buggered by traffic noise. Close to supermarkeds, postoffices and small restaurants. Also has a large kitchen on the basement and possibility to do laundry, but we didnt use these options. All in all we where very satisfied after we got the new room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The hostel is at a quiet road close to the Earl's court Underground station. You can find many pubs and small restaurants in the neighborhood which are good for going out at night. The hostel itself is in a classic building matching the districts architectural style and provides two living rooms with couches, TVs, Internet PCs and books. The courtyard in the back of the hostel is also very nice and popular among the guests.
The staff was nice and helpful and the rooms were clean and provided enough well-sized lockers. The beds are comfortable and bedding is provided. Breakfast can be bought for a bit over 4 pound (continental buffet) every morning. The only negative aspect was that some of the bathrooms and showers were unfortunately a bit rundown (e.g. broken toilet flush, broken sink, broken door locks,...).
After check-out, we were allowed to store our luggage in the monitored luggage room for free which is very helpful if you plan to discover the city a bit more afterwards.
I can definitely recommend this hostel for anyone interested in exploring London for a couple of days or even for longer stays.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

As a woman who travels mostly on her own, I have always found the Earls Court Hostel to be safe, convenient, clean, and accommodating. It sits on Picadilly line so is convenient for Heathrow without having to change lines. The staff are friendly and courteous - I've never had a bad experience. I recommend without hesitation. The courtyard *can* get loud at times, but most people out there are respectful of those who have rooms facing the courtyard.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timbuktu, Mali
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The hostel is in a good location, easy walking distance from the tube station and close to pubs and other food places. We heard a lot of noise from the room next to us, but not enough to keep us awake. Tried 2 different showers, one clean and one not so much, though I suspect this is hard to regulate as not every guest will leave the bathroom in the same condition. The kitchen is found through a rabbit warren of hallways, and one of these smelt like a sewer. The kitchen itself was a decent size, though not particularly clean. Found staff at the front desk to be quite helpful. Overall was what I’d expect from a hostel, and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Great Location in London. The room, bathroom and kitchen are very clean. Service is very good and the price is not very expensive. But Wifi did not work sometimes and our room's door lock broke sometimes.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I stayed here for a week last summer.

Pros:
-Great location--only a 5 minute walk from the station
-There are quite a number of pubs and grocery stores nearby
-Overall, the staff were friendly and informative with the exception of one, but you can't always expect great service all the time at the hostels you stay at
-I see a lot of the reviews here say it was dirty and smelly, but I found the cleanliness decent
-Thin doors/walls, so it could potentially become really loud depending on your floormates

Cons:
-My boyfriend and I reserved a double bed private and the bed is literally a bunk bed with the bottom bed switched out with a queen size bed, making it lumpy and hard to climb out of if you are sleeping on the inside. The mattress felt like one of those futon couches that convert into a bed
-Of the 6 nights we stayed here, there was no hot water for 5 of them. After showering with ice cold water for 3 days, the staff finally offered to pay for us to take a taxi to their sister hostel about 5-10 min away to take a shower there
-The cleaning staff will open your room without knocking to make sure no one is there, and as early as 10 am

Overall, I think that this can be a nice place to stay if you are looking to stay for 2 or 3 nights somewhere central. Most of the negative views I left the hostel with might have been an anomaly (e.g. water, cleaning staff) while we were there, but were a defining factor in how comfortable a stay it was.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to YHA London Earl's Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA London Earl's Court

Address: 38 Bolton Gardens, London SW5 0AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 663 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA London Earl's Court 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great backpackers hostel, the modern facilities in this lovely Victorian building make a convenient base for a cheap city break. Whether you’re in London to explore the attractions or just attending a gig at the nearby Olympia or Earls Court exhibition centres, the location is perfect. This west London Youth Hostel offers cheap accommodation near to the vibrant city centre. The area has a cosmopolitan feel and is close to Kensington Gardens, Hyde Park, the Natural History Museum and the Royal Albert Hall - great for a weekend break ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your YHA London Earl's Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Earl`s Court Yha Hotel London
YHA London Earl's Court England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YHA London Earl's Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.