We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cheap hostel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyde Park Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hyde Park Hostel to your Saves list
Hyde Park Hostel
2-6 Inverness Terrace | Bayswater, London W2 3HY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #541 of 684 Specialty Lodging in London
Uk
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great cheap hostel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2007

Good hostel and great location next to hyde park. Stayed here as went to festival in hyde park. Room was clean and so were toilets and showers. Stayed in '4 bed' room with another couple, was big enough for the night and there was also a sink in the room. Cost £15.00 each so was a bargain really!
Overall great place to stay as long as you are not expecting too much!

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    37
    33
    42
    103
See reviews for
5
21
44
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock AR
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2007

The staff was super friendly and the location was amazing. The building is old, but pretty clean. The rooms have private sinks and the showers are pretty big for changing and showering. I would definately stay there again!

  • Liked — The staff and rooms that didnt accomodate 18 people!
  • Disliked — Old building
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2006

This is the second Astor Hostel I stayed at and it was far better than the first! (Leinster Inn) I was a bit weary of booking the place after the not so good conditions of the other Astor but I must say that I was glad that I went with it.

The staff at the Astor's Hyde Park were so extremely helpful and very friendly. Upon checking in, we (my friend and I) were told that since we were checking in pretty late, that there was a possibility of having to change rooms during our 4 night stay - we were not too crazy about the idea but after a look over reservations, the man at the front desk was able to place us in one spot for the 4 nights. (Which worked out great because we ended up with a cool bunk mate!) When just asking basic directions on how to get places, get linens, things to do, restaurants/pubs in the area, the staff was more than happy to help us and were always cheery. I think that this fact alone made my stay at the Hyde Park.

The quad room we had stayed in was...small.. - with 2 bunk beds on 1 side of the room; the other side just had a cloth wardrobe, small shelf, mirror and sink. It was enough room for 3 people, but got a bit crowded with 4 people on our last nite. There wasn't a lot of space for our belongings. If you're there with 3 other good friends it could be really fun... with strangers it could be bit awkward. The common room on the ground floor is super cozy with a plasma screen tv and tons of couchs to lounge out on. There is also a kitchen on the ground floor, washer/dryers in the basement along with dining hall (doubles as a smoke room when not serving breakfast) and a bar.

The restrooms were the downside. We were a little grossed out when we had heard... then saw... mushrooms growing in one of the restroom in between the 3rd and 4th floors. We just avoided that one entirely. Also another toilet on our floor - the one with a window for ventilation - didn't have a toilet seat; great for guys - bad for girls. What I did like was that the toilets and showers were seperate. The toilets were marked as red doors (and it was 1 toilet to each door - with 3 doors in one area) and the the showers (3 stalls) were marked with blue doors. * * My secret tip for the showers: The last shower stall is good because it has a window (I don't think it opened) but it has a ledge so you can put toiletry bag / shampoo / soap on it instead of resting it on the floor. There are hooks on the back of the stall doors for clothes.

Location for the Astor Hyde Park is great because it is 1 block south of Queensway where there are a ton of shops and restaurants. The Queensway tube station is closest to the hostel - literally 2 minute walk and the Bayswater tube station is 5 minutes away from that one down the street. There is also an internet cafe around the corner which is cheaper to use than the hostel - plus more computers. (Hostel only has 4).

I would recommend this place to other travelers on a budget. I had a great time at the Astor's Hyde Park and would stay here again!

  • Liked — Friendly Staff and Location
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2006

i stayed at this place for four nights in end of june and had really great time. the soccer world cup was on and they were showing it in the bar on a really big screen which was way cool. met lots of cool people from all over, which is why i stay in hostels!

the hostel was pretty clean and they give you a free breakfast as well. it was just next to hyde park and close to two metro stations, which was a great help for getting around and seeing things.

the staff and guests were all really friendly and i managed to hook up with some travellers and do a few short trips. there was always something going on and someone to talk to.

thanks very much

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2006

I have definately loved my time at the Astor Hyde Park. Great people, a funky bar downstairs with a DJ on weekends. I'm an aussie who went for a week & has been there for months.

I definately recommend it. Great value for money.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2006

Pretty fun if you want to meet people. Bar/club they had was closed unfortunately, but we still had drinks with people from all over the world. Really friendly staff that hung out with everyone as well. Rooms werent bad, breakfast wasnt bad for hostel food either. Any bad things were really eclipsed by the fun time i had there. Recommended!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2005

This hostel is purely and simply the best hostel you can find!!! We met some funny people from all over the world (so crazy sometimes!) but so nice and friendly that we didn't go anywhere during our holidays in London! Staff is also very nice and helpful. Ok, the rooms aren't very clean but you finally forget it. All in this hostel make you feel good. If you want to have some fun and meet some crazy people, go at night in the ITA bar. The drinks are very cheap (2£ ??!!!) If you don't know what to do, go in the TV room !! Our best holidays and thanks to astor's Hyde Park hostel and people inside!
WE'LL BE BACK!!!
almisrat

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyde Park Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyde Park Hostel

Address: 2-6 Inverness Terrace | Bayswater, London W2 3HY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Hotel Style:
Ranked #541 of 684 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Hyde Park Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor`s Hyde Park Hotel London
Hyde Park Hostel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyde Park Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.