We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Queen's Gate Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Queen's Gate Hotel to your Saves list
The Queen's Gate Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 - 34 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5JA, England (Formerly Abba Queen's Gate Hotel) (South Kensington)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #379 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I stayed here during a work course. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. My room was lovely and very big. Breakfast was lovely and lots of choice. Great location near tube stations and restaurants. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheQueensGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen's Gate Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear „niknak_84_12“,


First of all thank you very much for taking your time to comment on your recent stay with us.


We are absolutely delighted you have had pleasant stay at the hotel. I am equally thrilled to read that you specially enjoyed your spacious room as well as the hotel location and our buffet breakfast. Indeed, we believe that these are the cornerstones of hospitality and I am glad to learn that it all made your stay a remarkable one.


Furthermore, we are extremely thankful for your kind words to our friendly and helpful team, which I will personally pass on them. We invest heavily in training our team to provide first class customer care and make sure our guests leave us feeling that they have received outstanding service. When these efforts are acknowledged it makes all our work worthwhile.


Your kind recommendation is most appreciated. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.


Yours sincerely


Duty Manager
The Queen’s Gate Hotel****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    261
    90
    22
    15
See reviews for
149
168
17
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Stayed here twice. The first time we got a larger room on the first floor with high ceiling. The room is larger than we expected and the design is luxurious. But staff didn't even knock before entering the room, she just used her key card to get in which was very embarrassing.
On our second stay, the front desk staff was very kind to arrange us a room although we arrived early. But this time, our room is on the 2nd/3rd floor which was so much smaller than the first room we got. And I was kind of disappointed, because this was the standard room that people normally book.
Location of the hotel was alright, about 10 mins walk to tube station, which is quite far in my opinion.
I think there are more options in London with better locations.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheQueensGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen's Gate Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear „Yanice C“,


First and foremost, thank you very much for taking your time to comment on your recent stay and your honest feedback.


I was extremely disappointed to read that the size of your room this time did not meet your expectations and I am very sorry that your experience was not as positive as that of others on this site. After the recent refurbishment, we have aimed to keep the Victorian splendour of the 19th century townhouse, which makes every room different in shape and size. We highly appreciate you also did mention it upon check-out, so that we were able to offer a formal apology in person. Our team always strives trying to make our guest's stay a comfortable and interesting one in its entirety, therefore we are devastated we did not succeed in this occasion.


At the same time it is very valuable from your feedback that there were other aspects of your stay which you felt to your standards, such as the early check-in, the decor of our rooms and the location of the hotel. Only if you feel completely at home with us, then we’ll have achieved what we set out to do.


All in all, we would be grateful to get another chance to welcome you again to prove our high standards of hospitality.


Thank you very much once again for sharing your experience with the online community and for your honest feedback.


Yours sincerely,


Duty Manager
The Queen’s Gate Hotel****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

This hotel is very close to Hyde Park, Albert Hall, Natural History museum and Knightsbridge, so a great location and pretty good value considering this. However, the rooms vary enormously and as we stayed as part of a group we compared notes. While some had pretty large rooms, others of us were in rather more cosy rooms, not to say a bit cramped. Although it was January and you needed heating on, the rooms were too warm and it seemed very difficult to adjust the temperature. This was also true of our meeting room which we had was stifling and when we asked them to turn the temperature down, they actually managed to turn it up! On the other hand the appearance of the hotel was quite stylish inside and the breakfast was pleasant, and we particularly liked the biscuits and pastries that came to our meeting room with coffee!

Room Tip: A room at the rear will be quieter, but worth asking for one of their larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Fantastic price for the location, however that's about all you're getting. The rooms are small but nice. The staff was nice, but struggled a bit with a crowd at checkout, and also had trouble giving us a recommendation for a quick meal before a show at the Royal Albert Hall (neglecting to mention there's a good restaurant in Royal Albert Hall). Location is great though, esp. for a city trip for access to Royal Albert hall!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheQueensGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen's Gate Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear „ Kyle L“,


Thank you very much for taking the time to give feedback on your recent stay at The Queen’s Gate Hotel.


It is very valuable from your feedback that you remarked our convenient location as well as the style of our rooms and our very competitive prices. I am happy to read you did enjoy these important aspects we bring together, as they play an important role in order to offer a high value added factor for all our guests.


At the same time, we feel very sorry you found the room to be smaller than expected. In future, if you decide to stay with us, please feel free to contact our reception/management at any time should you find any detail which does not meet your standards. We highly appreciate it as only this way we can improve our performance while you enjoy a remarkable stay with us.


Yet further, please accept my deepest apologies if our concierge did not offer you the service you expected. The Queen’s Gate Hotel is known for its friendly and helpful staff which always strives to make our guest's stay a comfortable and interesting one in its entirety and we formally apologize you did not experience it this way. Please rest assure, as I will personally hash with our team the mentioned points out and make sure that it will not happen again.


We hope you had a save journey home and we would be glad to get another chance to convince you entirely with our service quality.


Yours sincerely,


Duty Manager
The Queen’s Gate Hotel****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trondheim
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I stayed here with my mother in a twin room, and everything was just perfect! The room was spacious (by London standars), clean and modern. The beds were very comfy, and the room quiet so we slept very well. it is a short walk to both glouchester road and south kensington underground, and there are many buses going by in the street next to royal albert hall.
The staff was great, they were so nice and welcoming, and gave us excellent service on the day of departure and helped us weigh our suitcases with a smile:)
I will definitely come back here on my next stay, and ask for room 310 ;)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheQueensGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen's Gate Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear „joffiz“,


Thank you very much for taking the time to give feedback on your recent stay at The Queen’s Gate Hotel.


We are absolutely delighted you have had a pleasant stay and that you felt your twin room to be spacious,modern and perfect for a good night sleep.


For us it is very important that our guests feel welcome and comfortable at our hotel. That requires a helpful, friendly and very obliging service at any time, eager to assist you with their excellent customer service. Therefore I am thrilled you felt that no request was too much trouble. We are very proud of our staff and it is always rewarding to receive such kind comments as yours. I shall ensure that all of your kind comments and praise are passed on to the team.


We will be grateful to get another chance to welcome your mother and you again in the hotel on your next trip to London.


Once again thank you very much for sharing your experience with the online community and for your kind words.


Yours sincerely


Duty Manager

The Queen’s Gate Hotel****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I have stayed in the Abba Queens Gate Hotel a few times over the last few years. Bearing in mind it's situation, the room cost is not as high as other hotels nearby. The hotel was surprisingly quiet and the staff were very helpful. Breakfasts are self service but this means there is only a 'personal' limit on the amount you eat! I tried room service because I arrived at an awkward time. This was delivered quickly and was of excellent quality. There is a bar where it is possible to buy tapas. As with most hotels of this kind, there is a charge for wifi: £6 for 24 hrs which is not too expensive. Why do hotels charge separately for wifi? I am looking forward to my next stay in about a month's time!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheQueensGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen's Gate Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear „ Bradley_Dodd “,


Thank you very much for spending your time to comment on your recent stay with us.


As a returning guest, we are absolutely thrilled to learn you prize the quality of our services as well as the quietness and elegance of our rooms. We believe that these are the cornerstones of hospitality along with high standards of customer service. It is important to us that our guests feel welcome and comfortable at the hotel, that as you are probably aware, changes its name to The Queen’s Gate Hotel and will work onwards independently.


Indeed there is not a better way to start a day than a scrumptious breakfast served in modern environment. Therefore it is wonderful to read that our buffet breakfast met your expectations with a wide variety of finest products. We all deserve a treat now and then :)


Your kind words that the staff were helpful are most appreciated. We constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is always satisfying to hear that these efforts are noticed. I shall ensure that all of your kind comments and praise are passed on to the team.


Thank you very much once again for your kind words about our room service, we are thrilled you found it to be of excellent quaility.


We are also looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel next month.


Yours sincerely


Duty Manager
The Queen’s Gate Hotel****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stayed at Abba Queen's Gate Hotel twice. Well located, close to the Hyde Park, Royal Albert Hall and the museums. You have to walk a little bit for the underground station, but that's OK. Rooms are not that big but they are very comfortable and in London, for a reasonable price, it is difficult to ask for more. Breakfast is also good, although there could be some more bread options.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheQueensGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen's Gate Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear „ Kid-A00 “,


Thank you very much for sharing your review following your recent visit to The Queen's Gate Hotel


We are absolutely delighted to read that you have enjoyed your return visit with us. I am equally pleased that you found the hotel to be very comfortable and a very good option in London. Our team strives on a daily basis to ensure our guests enjoy a remarkable stay with us and when these efforts are acknowledged it makes all our hard work worthwhile.


Additionally, it is pleasing that you remarked the perfect location of our hotel, within two minutes walking distance from the Royal Albert Hall and the museums row. We are glad it is been so convenient for your travel purposes.


Furthermore, I would like to thank you very much for bringing to my attention your suggestion about more bread option. You can be certain that we will take it into consideration.


All in all, your prize and kind comment are most appreciated, and I will be delighted to share all of your kind feedback with our team.


I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.


Yours sincerely


Duty Manager
The Queen’s Gate Hotel****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Queen's Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen's Gate Hotel

Address: 31 - 34 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5JA, England (Formerly Abba Queen's Gate Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#255 Luxury Hotel in London
#309 Business Hotel in London
#326 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queen's Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant 19th-century town house is about 500 metres from Royal Albert Hall and Hyde Park. It features a small gym, spacious bedrooms, and a bar with patio for snacks and tapas. Stylish bedrooms at the refurbished Abba Queens Gate have air conditioning, large windows, and a mini-bar. Each has a chic design, with a wooden floor and LCD TV. Set on a pleasant London street, Abba Queens Gate London Hotel is about 8 minutes' walk from Gloucester Road Tube Station. The Natural History Museum is about 350 metres away, and the V&A Museum is an extra few minutes' walk down Cromwell Road. Harrods department store and the designer shops at Knightsbridge are 15 - 20 minutes' walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your The Queen's Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abba Queens Gate London
Hotel Abba Queens Gate
Abba Hotel London
Abba Queens Gate Hotel London
The Queen's Gate Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Queen's Gate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.