We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Queen's Gate Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Queen's Gate Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Queen's Gate Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 - 34 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5JA, England (Formerly Abba Queen's Gate Hotel) (Kensington and Hyde Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #366 of 1,073 hotels in London
scotland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Fully refurbished, all new and stylish but I would not call it luxury. Standard rooms are quite small but nice and cleaned, staff is very helpful and when in need I was promptly helped. Breakfast has everything that you normally find in all hotels of this category plus some nice "touches" such as a freshly squeezed orange juice. Central location within easy reach from underground station.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    193
    61
    19
    10
See reviews for
112
97
13
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amman, Jordan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Generally I had a good experience at the Abba Queen's Gate Hotel. The staff were friendly and always ready to help. I had to change my room, since it was really cold, 104. However, my new room was much better and much warmer. The cupboard at least had shelves, which my previous room didn't have! The breakfast had a variety of basic choices, but the restaurant was rather stuffy and below ground. It was a good experience.

Room Tip: Don't choose 104 in winter time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We picked this hotel to be in Kensington. At first we were skeptical of the area. However, it turned out to be great. The tube was five minutes away, the area was well-healed. There were lovely restaurants and pubs for those rainy nights you were just too tired from the days sightseeing to go far again. There was s post office to change money right there too. Our room was very large by European standards and our three adult children stayed in a triple that was huge too!Everyone was helpful and we good walk to many parks and museums. All in all a great choice!

Room Tip: Try for a window, a bit noisier but you get a feel for the city, otherwise ask for quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I had a great stay at Abba Queen's gate. The hotel was easy to find with the Trip Advisor City Guide App. The location was great for my purpose, only a 5 min walk from Exibition Rd.

Harrods was within walking distance, and so was a lot of nice cafes and restaurants. The breakfast could have been better, but they served good food from the bar.

I would stay there again..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We chose to stay in this area as we were spending an evening at the Albert Hall. Excellent location, with Kensington nearby, good public transport, and the museums. The hotel is in a lovely building, well renovated, very well kept, with modern amenities, room very clean and orderly, very nice bathroom too. The staff was helpful and friendly. Overall, a very pleasant stay in a comfortable room for a reasonable price (breakfast and wifi not included, though, but you have a good cafeteria/restaurant and free wifi at the Albert & Victoria Museum, just round the corner).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WINCHESTER
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The location of the hotel is good, with buses a 5-minute walk and the Tube a 10-minute walk away. We found the staff to be quite good, with the exception perhaps of the cleaning staff knocking on our door at 8 am on our final day (despite having requested an extra hour for check-out). The rooms and overall hotel were clean, though somewhat uncomfortable. Despite being in a large triple, there was no couch nor comfortable chair to enjoy the newspaper or television. Same with the lobby. Modern, but uninviting.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Quiet, Quaint...
Show More
Kensington and Hyde Park
54 Boutique Hotel
54 Boutique Hotel
#236 of 1,073 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 374 reviews
Quiet, Restaura...
Show More
Earls Court
Regency Hotel - Queen's Gate
Regency Hotel - Queen's Gate
#431 of 1,073 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 865 reviews
Charming, Roman...
Show More
Kensington and Hyde Park
The Gore Hotel
The Gore Hotel
#168 of 1,073 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quiet, Restaura...
Show More
Kensington and Hyde Park
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
#313 of 1,073 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
Kensington and Hyde Park
BEST WESTERN Seraphine Kensington Gardens Hotel
Independent Hot...
Show More
Kensington and Hyde Park
Rydges Kensington London
Rydges Kensington London
#395 of 1,073 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queen's Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen's Gate Hotel

Address: 31 - 34 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5JA, England (Formerly Abba Queen's Gate Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#238 Luxury Hotel in London
#341 Family Hotel in London
#351 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queen's Gate Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant 19th-century town house is about 500 metres from Royal Albert Hall and Hyde Park. It features a small gym, spacious bedrooms, and a bar with patio for snacks and tapas. Stylish bedrooms at the refurbished Abba Queens Gate have air conditioning, large windows, and a mini-bar. Each has a chic design, with a wooden floor and LCD TV. Set on a pleasant London street, Abba Queens Gate London Hotel is about 8 minutes' walk from Gloucester Road Tube Station. The Natural History Museum is about 350 metres away, and the V&A Museum is an extra few minutes' walk down Cromwell Road. Harrods department store and the designer shops at Knightsbridge are 15 - 20 minutes' walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Tingo so you can book your The Queen's Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abba Queens Gate London
Hotel Abba Queens Gate
Abba Hotel London
Abba Queens Gate Hotel London
The Queen's Gate Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Queen's Gate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.