We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Queen's Gate Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Queen's Gate Hotel to your Saves list
The Queen's Gate Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 - 34 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5JA, England (Formerly Abba Queen's Gate Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #394 of 1,064 Hotels in London
WINCHESTER
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The location of the hotel is good, with buses a 5-minute walk and the Tube a 10-minute walk away. We found the staff to be quite good, with the exception perhaps of the cleaning staff knocking on our door at 8 am on our final day (despite having requested an extra hour for check-out). The rooms and overall hotel were clean, though somewhat uncomfortable. Despite being in a large triple, there was no couch nor comfortable chair to enjoy the newspaper or television. Same with the lobby. Modern, but uninviting.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    220
    72
    20
    11
See reviews for
129
115
13
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights, 1st night was lovely and we received excellent service and the room was great, breakfast was lovely although a little pricey but for a business trip it was ideal for us. The 2nd night we got in from a long day working and decided to eat in the hotel bar rather than head out, there was one young girl serving at the bar and it also turned out she was cooking all the food as well as when we ordered our food she disappeared out to the back for a while. Unfortunately for her the bar became busy with customers and she was not able to cope on her own, she was hardly helped by the male member of staff who when approached at the front desk claimed to "be busy" which he quite clearly wasn't. This went on for a while before the male member of staff and another male colleague were both confronted at the front desk by another customer, at this point the young girl who to be honest was doing her best under the circumstances was in tears as it was all clearly too much for her. They both again claimed to be "busy" and offered no assistance to the customers waiting in the bar or the female member of staff, instead they came across as very rude and didn't seem to care in the slightest. This kind of behaviour by your staff I find completely unacceptable, on the whole all the other staff could not do enough for you but to leave a member of your own team struggling to the point of being in tears is a disgrace. They completely ignored their responsibilities as supervisors and I really hope that they receive extra training for their lack of customer service skills and also management skills as neither of the male staff that evening showed to be capable of their jobs. I would also like to add that I can see 2 other customers from the same night have also written reviews below and your response is exactly the same to both (really!!??!) and basically says that your staff did nothing wrong, I cannot fault any of the other staff in your hotel and agree your have a great team but you need to address the points raised by myself and other customers otherwise a similar situation will only happen again. I was really pleased with the hotel on a whole, I would visit again and I wouldn't want to put any of your potential customers off but I would be disappointed if no action was taken after the events from that evening.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The Abba hotel is a great"small" hotel right across from Imperial college and very close to the Royal Albert Hall and some of the great museums nearby.

The room was very clean, the breakfast buffet was excellent, as was the friendliness of the staff. The only minor disadvantage is the 10 minute walk to the nearest tube stations, which can be somewhat challenging in bad weather!

All in all a very good value! I'll definitely stay there again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

We arrived back from our day out at about 10:45 and decided to go for a drink in the bar! There seemed to be only one member of staff on serving drinks and meals whilst the receptionist just floated around promising that someone would be with us shortly. It took 4 or 5 customers complaining to the receptionist and asking for help for the poor girl trying to cope on her own before anyone looked like coming through to the bar to help her. Lovely hotel, great location but needs more staff or staff that are prepared to muck in and help a colleague that is overwhelmed by customers.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbaQueensGate, Front Office Manager at The Queen's Gate Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Jojoh72,

Thank you very much for your recent reviews regarding our hotel.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our recently refurbished hotel offers a relaxing and comfortable stay and our location can certainly add a few extra points to an overall experience of the hotel.

I would like to apologize for the inconvenience that occurred during your stay with us and thank you for bringing it to my attention. I will definitely look into the issue further to ensure this does not happen to you or future guests again. We continually try to improve our service and the experience we bring to our guests.

In all the years that I have worked here, I have never doubted the sense of camaraderie and mutual support amongst my colleagues. Being a part of a small group of staff, we depend on each other’s help and encouragement. After having investigated the events with the bar attendant and both receptionists, I learnt that she was in fact assisted when needed all throughout that evening. It is very unfortunate, that one of those busy moments came exactly when the reception shifts changed and understandably, as all work posts here must be manned, the receptionist had to continue with his duties as well.

Bars and restaurants do tend to get very busy and hectic at times and unfortunately, even with sufficient staff number, there can be times when customers need to wait for a short while.

I trust that this isolated occurrence will not remain the only memory from Abba Queensgate Hotel and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you in the hotel once more in the future.

Best regards,

Anna Stefaniak
abba Queen's Gate hotel ****
Assistant Manager
a.manager@abbahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel in terms of our room but the staff really could do with some training. One guy in particular received 2 customers' wrath as he was not willing to help the lone bar girl. Other than the girl the staff were all words and no action. Pity as it's a nice hotel in a good location. Our triple room was large and comfy but a bit warm. Staff though will make me consider another hotel next time to London.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbaQueensGate, Front Office Manager at The Queen's Gate Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear EugeniaKB,

Thank you very much for your recent reviews regarding our hotel.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our recently refurbished hotel offers a relaxing and comfortable stay and our location can certainly add a few extra points to an overall experience of the hotel.

I would like to apologize for the inconvenience that occurred during your stay with us and thank you for bringing it to my attention. I will definitely look into the issue further to ensure this does not happen to you or future guests again. We continually try to improve our service and the experience we bring to our guests.

In all the years that I have worked here, I have never doubted the sense of camaraderie and mutual support amongst my colleagues. Being a part of a small group of staff, we depend on each other’s help and encouragement. After having investigated the events with the bar attendant and both receptionists, I learnt that she was in fact assisted when needed all throughout that evening. It is very unfortunate, that one of those busy moments came exactly when the reception shifts changed and understandably, as all work posts here must be manned, the receptionist had to continue with his duties as well.

Bars and restaurants do tend to get very busy and hectic at times and unfortunately, even with sufficient staff number, there can be times when customers need to wait for a short while.

I trust that this isolated occurrence will not remain the only memory from Abba Queensgate Hotel and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you in the hotel once more in the future.

Best regards,

Anna Stefaniak
abba Queen's Gate hotel ****
Assistant Manager
a.manager@abbahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Clean, contemporary, spacious rooms. Comfy beds. Bar area not fantastic but ok. A bit bare, not very comfortable seating, barman ( very nice) can be under pressure if there is a crowd. Small detail in an otherwise very pleasant hotel. Also a bit of a walk from tube stations ( Gloucester rd or Kensington high st). No prob for the young and fit!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Queen's Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen's Gate Hotel

Address: 31 - 34 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5JA, England (Formerly Abba Queen's Gate Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#258 Luxury Hotel in London
#364 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queen's Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant 19th-century town house is about 500 metres from Royal Albert Hall and Hyde Park. It features a small gym, spacious bedrooms, and a bar with patio for snacks and tapas. Stylish bedrooms at the refurbished Abba Queens Gate have air conditioning, large windows, and a mini-bar. Each has a chic design, with a wooden floor and LCD TV. Set on a pleasant London street, Abba Queens Gate London Hotel is about 8 minutes' walk from Gloucester Road Tube Station. The Natural History Museum is about 350 metres away, and the V&A Museum is an extra few minutes' walk down Cromwell Road. Harrods department store and the designer shops at Knightsbridge are 15 - 20 minutes' walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Venere, Agoda, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Queen's Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abba Queens Gate London
Hotel Abba Queens Gate
Abba Hotel London
Abba Queens Gate Hotel London
The Queen's Gate Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Queen's Gate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.