We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice modern hotel, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Queen's Gate Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Queen's Gate Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Queen's Gate Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 - 34 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5JA, England (Formerly Abba Queen's Gate Hotel) (Kensington and Hyde Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #389 of 1,054 Hotels in London
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Nice modern hotel, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The Abba hotel is a great"small" hotel right across from Imperial college and very close to the Royal Albert Hall and some of the great museums nearby.

The room was very clean, the breakfast buffet was excellent, as was the friendliness of the staff. The only minor disadvantage is the 10 minute walk to the nearest tube stations, which can be somewhat challenging in bad weather!

All in all a very good value! I'll definitely stay there again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    206
    66
    20
    11
See reviews for
118
108
13
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

We arrived back from our day out at about 10:45 and decided to go for a drink in the bar! There seemed to be only one member of staff on serving drinks and meals whilst the receptionist just floated around promising that someone would be with us shortly. It took 4 or 5 customers complaining to the receptionist and asking for help for the poor girl trying to cope on her own before anyone looked like coming through to the bar to help her. Lovely hotel, great location but needs more staff or staff that are prepared to muck in and help a colleague that is overwhelmed by customers.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbaQueensGate, Front Office Manager at The Queen's Gate Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Jojoh72,

Thank you very much for your recent reviews regarding our hotel.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our recently refurbished hotel offers a relaxing and comfortable stay and our location can certainly add a few extra points to an overall experience of the hotel.

I would like to apologize for the inconvenience that occurred during your stay with us and thank you for bringing it to my attention. I will definitely look into the issue further to ensure this does not happen to you or future guests again. We continually try to improve our service and the experience we bring to our guests.

In all the years that I have worked here, I have never doubted the sense of camaraderie and mutual support amongst my colleagues. Being a part of a small group of staff, we depend on each other’s help and encouragement. After having investigated the events with the bar attendant and both receptionists, I learnt that she was in fact assisted when needed all throughout that evening. It is very unfortunate, that one of those busy moments came exactly when the reception shifts changed and understandably, as all work posts here must be manned, the receptionist had to continue with his duties as well.

Bars and restaurants do tend to get very busy and hectic at times and unfortunately, even with sufficient staff number, there can be times when customers need to wait for a short while.

I trust that this isolated occurrence will not remain the only memory from Abba Queensgate Hotel and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you in the hotel once more in the future.

Best regards,

Anna Stefaniak
abba Queen's Gate hotel ****
Assistant Manager
a.manager@abbahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel in terms of our room but the staff really could do with some training. One guy in particular received 2 customers' wrath as he was not willing to help the lone bar girl. Other than the girl the staff were all words and no action. Pity as it's a nice hotel in a good location. Our triple room was large and comfy but a bit warm. Staff though will make me consider another hotel next time to London.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbaQueensGate, Front Office Manager at The Queen's Gate Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear EugeniaKB,

Thank you very much for your recent reviews regarding our hotel.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our recently refurbished hotel offers a relaxing and comfortable stay and our location can certainly add a few extra points to an overall experience of the hotel.

I would like to apologize for the inconvenience that occurred during your stay with us and thank you for bringing it to my attention. I will definitely look into the issue further to ensure this does not happen to you or future guests again. We continually try to improve our service and the experience we bring to our guests.

In all the years that I have worked here, I have never doubted the sense of camaraderie and mutual support amongst my colleagues. Being a part of a small group of staff, we depend on each other’s help and encouragement. After having investigated the events with the bar attendant and both receptionists, I learnt that she was in fact assisted when needed all throughout that evening. It is very unfortunate, that one of those busy moments came exactly when the reception shifts changed and understandably, as all work posts here must be manned, the receptionist had to continue with his duties as well.

Bars and restaurants do tend to get very busy and hectic at times and unfortunately, even with sufficient staff number, there can be times when customers need to wait for a short while.

I trust that this isolated occurrence will not remain the only memory from Abba Queensgate Hotel and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you in the hotel once more in the future.

Best regards,

Anna Stefaniak
abba Queen's Gate hotel ****
Assistant Manager
a.manager@abbahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Clean, contemporary, spacious rooms. Comfy beds. Bar area not fantastic but ok. A bit bare, not very comfortable seating, barman ( very nice) can be under pressure if there is a crowd. Small detail in an otherwise very pleasant hotel. Also a bit of a walk from tube stations ( Gloucester rd or Kensington high st). No prob for the young and fit!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Me and three friends stayed in this hotel. We had a room for 4 with four single beds. It was lovely and big. Very clean and comfortable beds. Will stay here again when visiting London. Great location for museums and kings road shopping!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

If its visiting, the Museums or the Royal Albert Hall, then this is the place to stay, as its just a 4min walk away from the Royal Albert Hall, and 15min walk to the Museums, which is really handy, This was the first Hotel I have ever stayed in and was impressed but the cleanness, pillows and duvets were very clean, in the bathroom everything you needed for your stay, toothbrush, paste and hair shampoo plus body lotions and soap, in bedroom a safe in wardrobe and a small fridge with kettle and tea, coffee making facticilaties and Wi fi if needed. Large tv and dvd player. I slept very well.

Room Tip: book as early as possible and online is cheaper :0)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Just stayed at the Abba Queens Gate and had a really lovely stay. We were going to a concert at The Royal Albert Hall, and this hotel is within walking distance and also priced quite reasonably for London Hotels. The hotel isn't big, but the rooms are decorated in very modern furnishings and also the buffet breakfast has everything one could want In a breakfast. Will definitely stay here again if going to another concert at the RAH.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Queen's Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen's Gate Hotel

Address: 31 - 34 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5JA, England (Formerly Abba Queen's Gate Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#256 Luxury Hotel in London
#348 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queen's Gate Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant 19th-century town house is about 500 metres from Royal Albert Hall and Hyde Park. It features a small gym, spacious bedrooms, and a bar with patio for snacks and tapas. Stylish bedrooms at the refurbished Abba Queens Gate have air conditioning, large windows, and a mini-bar. Each has a chic design, with a wooden floor and LCD TV. Set on a pleasant London street, Abba Queens Gate London Hotel is about 8 minutes' walk from Gloucester Road Tube Station. The Natural History Museum is about 350 metres away, and the V&A Museum is an extra few minutes' walk down Cromwell Road. Harrods department store and the designer shops at Knightsbridge are 15 - 20 minutes' walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Tingo so you can book your The Queen's Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abba Queens Gate London
Hotel Abba Queens Gate
Abba Hotel London
Abba Queens Gate Hotel London
The Queen's Gate Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Queen's Gate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;