We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, decent value for pricey London” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thanet Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Thanet Hotel to your Saves list
Thanet Hotel
8 Bedford Place, London WC1B 5JA, England (Bloomsbury)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #356 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great location, decent value for pricey London”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I spent three nights here, and overall was very pleased. The location is fabulous -- in Bloomsbury, around the corner from the British Museum; steps from beautiful Russell Square and wonderful bookstores; walking distance from pretty much anywhere in central London. I had a room facing the garden; it was amazingly quiet and overlooked a huge tree (plane?) of the same vintage as those in Russell Square. I would not stay in a basement or ground floor room. My room was very basic; carpet tired and not overly clean -- what a difference it would make if the owners replaced it with,say, engineered wood flooring (and the extra soundproofing that it will require).
For the price of the room, I would expect a folding luggage rack (or two), esp. since there was nowhere to put clothes other than a small wardrobe. I would have preferred a no-breakfast option as I have dietary restrictions and ate elsewhere. But the breakfast options were generous.
Wifi usually worked, but not always. Not the nicest hotel of my trip but for insanely expensive London it was a good deal; I plan to return.

Room Tip: HIgher floors overlooking garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    112
    31
    16
    11
See reviews for
62
70
34
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Our family of four [incl two teenagers] stayed here for four nights. Owners lovely, compact room with ensuite, but we really only needed it for sleeping. Breakfast is fabulous! Good location with easy walk to tube.Would definitely recommend. Our room was on the ground floor and very quiet. Wi-fi was good. Staff very helpful & were happy to print out tickets purchased online for events.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed two nights and enjoyed the central location. It's a very easy walk to the British Museum, and we also walked to Picadilly Circus, St. James Park, and Buckingham Palace. There is no lift which is something to consider as the stairs are steep and we were two stories above the ground floor. The rooms were clean and the breakfast was delicious and substantial. All in all a great value.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

After booking accommodation relatively late, we were left with few central London accommodation options within our price range. After looking at their website, we were expecting an outdated hotel, but it's the best we would do in short notice. Much to our surprise our rooms had been redecorated since the photos were taken & all areas were clean and tidy. If you like to stay in large rooms with spacious bathrooms Thanet hotel is not for you. The staff were very helpful & overall our stay was very comfortable, I would definitely stay again next time I'm in London.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter than those overlooking Bedford Place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
963 helpful votes 963 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Perhaps we're getting too old for pensions, but after two nights at the Thanet, we decided to re-locate to a nearby grown-up & less expensive hotel. Here are some of the reasons: the dank odor in our "garden" (basement) room & the narrow steep stairway leading to it; the inconvenient window for breakfast (only 1 &1/2 hours from 8:45-9:15) & the very small crowded dining room that didn't always have enough tables for guests; a cranky hostess who scolded me for moving (a few inches) two tables together to accommodate our party of three, including one child, etc.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

this was the 2 time around in this hotel, and what a great choice, the price for this hotel is great concidering London super expensive hotels.
the location is GREAT! just a block away from the British museum, you cant go wrong with this hotel, hot breakfast, cozy atmosphere, great location and decent prices.

Room Tip: seond floor rooms are more peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

The Thanet is one of those cheap and cheerful hotels that tour groups seem to dump their coach loads at. It's cheap, functional and has all the things you may need whilst being really very unexciting as a place. As a place to crash after a night out on the town then it's fine. My single room was really just that: a single bed, two foot of space to walk around one side of the bed and a tiny and very basic bathroom. There was a window, which was kind of them as otherwise it may have felt a bit like a white cell. Stairs, lots of stairs and narrow winding corridors.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thanet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thanet Hotel

Address: 8 Bedford Place, London WC1B 5JA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#56 Best Value Hotel in London
#269 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Thanet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thanet Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thanet Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.