We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still wonderful after four stays!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rhodes Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rhodes Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rhodes Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   195 Sussex Gardens, London W2 2RJ, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
www.rhodeshotel.com
Ranked #289 of 1,073 hotels in London
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Still wonderful after four stays!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We have had several stays at the Rhodes Hotel, most recently over the holidays. We have always been quite happy with our stay here. We are always given a warm welcome and made to feel at home. The owner and staff are wonderful - very professional! There are several reasons we will always stay here first in London. The hotel is in a nice location - a short walk from Paddington Station. It is very clean, the beds are very comfortable, the jet tubs are very nice, there is a separate sitting area with lighting for getting ready so it is easy to share the bath, there are double windows to shut out noise, the rooms have a nice view and windows that open, there is air conditioning, a mini-fridge in the room, coffee and tea, the WiFi works very well, the lobby is nice and friendly, and the breakfast, in addition to there being fresh yogurt, cereals, and juices, is cooked to order by a decent cook.

Room Tip: I prefer to have a window with a view in the front of the hotel. Some rooms have balconies but I ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    286
    363
    102
    31
    22
See reviews for
247
209
91
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We wanted a good hotel with reasonable rates in the Paddington area because of the closeness to Paddington Station, Lancaster Gate Tube Station and Hyde Park. We booked two rooms at The Rhodes in Sussex Gardens and were pleasantly surprised with the size of the rooms because we had experienced smaller rooms in similar priced hotels in different areas of London. The amenities and breakfast were excellent The staff was very pleasant and helpful throughout our 5 day visit. Some of the guests were working while others like ourselves were there for pleasure. The hotel arranged for entertainment tickets at reasonable prices, We will definitely plan to stay at the Rhodes should be have the opportunity to visit London again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirandela, Portugal
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

It was the first time in London, and the first time at the Rhodes Hotel and i recomend it for everybody that needs a nice, calm and sympathetic place to stay. Tinny but very very comfortable. The owner and the employers are very cozy and sympathetic. A big hug for them.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My family and I were very pleased with our choice in the Rhodes Hotel. The staff did a great job, very helpful and kind. The breakfast each morning was delicious. The owner Chris added to our wonderful stay. He was fun to visit with and I even received chocolates on Christmas morning!
We will definitely return to this hotel if we end up in London again. Thanks for a super stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abuja, Nigeria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I stayed this time as usual in Rhodes Hotel this december, as this has always ben my prefered place to stay in london, which we tag in my family as our second home.
we hav been using this place, for almost 10 years now. i have introduced alot of family and friends.
and i have never heard any one ,complained about this second home of mine,\.
over the years i have seen the improvements and refurbishments going on in this place. for instance the new bathrooms are so comfortable , that you can sleep in there .
i am writting this because i am aware of the bogus reports on some reviews in support of insurance claims.
i can assure anyday doubting thomas, to try this place you shall not regrets. please keep the good work the Management of Rhodes Hotel.
Abubakar Yakubu

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We have just returned ( December, 2012 ) from another visit to London and 'our home away from home' --- the Rhodes. We always feel safe and secure in this tourist hotel. We found this gem in Paddington in 1999 and have stayed there every time we are in London ever since. Actually, we wouldn't think of staying anywhere else! Both Chris and Maria are most welcoming and hospitible and we are treated like returning friends. All the staff is very helpful. Rooms are clean and comfortable and the breakfasts are a great way to start the day. The location is perfect --- close to Paddington Station for the Heathrow Express and all those tube lines. As well, Lancaster Gate tube stop is within very easy walking distance. Hyde Park is just a 5 minute walk away.
Great people, great value, great location. It doesn't get any better than that.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We used the Rhodes Hotel three different times and were always extremely satisfied. The location, cleanliness, and helpful staff were all first-rate. We stored our luggage here while making side trips to Bath and Paris. We would come back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rhodes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhodes Hotel

Address: 195 Sussex Gardens, London W2 2RJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#268 Business Hotel in London
#296 Family Hotel in London
#298 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rhodes Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chris and Maria Crias are the third owners and have been running the Rhodes hotel since 1978. This London hotel is located in a quiet private road of a fashionable residential neighborhood. In addition to double-glazed windows, this newly refurbished eighteen-bedroom hotel aims to offer the best comfort, with a lot of modern amenities and value for money in this historic metropolis, hosting the 2012 Olympics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook and Venere so you can book your Rhodes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhodes Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rhodes Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.