We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for location-quiet, comfortable sleep” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rhodes Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rhodes Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rhodes Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   195 Sussex Gardens, London W2 2RJ, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
www.rhodeshotel.com
Ranked #314 of 1,073 hotels in London
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellent value for location-quiet, comfortable sleep”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011 via mobile

Stefano provided a room for the three of us (couple + teen of 17), in June. Altho the room was crowded (we expected it to be), it was very comfortable. The beds were comfy (and we are picky), and the jet-tub was a delightful treat after all the travel.
I liked having a separate and well-lit make up area making it easier to share the bathroom.
There was also a separate, clean bathroom outside of our room making it easier when sharing with three.
There was a coffee,tea service in the room, and milk was provided in the small room frig.
Altho you would not need AC, we found that we used it because we could then close the double windows and there would be no outside roar from London
all night, making it actually very quiet.
WiFi worked very well and was included with the room.
The room was clean, comfortable, very reasonable compared to other places, and the people running it were nice and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    282
    360
    101
    32
    22
See reviews for
252
212
92
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

We stayed two times-during the same trip (visited IReland in between). The first visit was for 4 days-we are a family of 5 and got a room on the fourth floor. The room had a bunk bed, a single and a double-so lot of sleeping space. Once we got all the luggage up, it was slightly cramped but ok.
Pros:
1. The location was great, near two tube stations, including Paddington.
2. There were enough restaurants , grocery store kind of places nearby.
3. They let us keep 2 suitcases while we were in Ireland.
Cons:
1.No elevators-we dragged our suitcases up and down the narrow stairs (4th floor) which was not fun.
2. The breakfast was just okay-after 4 days-it can get to be boring...cereal, milk, toast, jam, fruits, and croissant...the varieties of cereal/croissant never changed.
3. Wifi in the 4 th floor room wasn't good at all but when we came back and was assigned a room one level below the ground floor-it was much better.
3. The lady helping with the breakfast was friendly. Others were not so friendly.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

The pictures online are very deceiving. The rooms are small and dark. We asked for the two rooms that had sofas, and I'm very glad we did. You can tell that they have been gradually rennovating the rooms. The rooms are clean, as are the stairwells and dining area. The bathrooms are new, with mixing faucets, new tile and fixtures, and very clean. The day we arrived our window was broken and would not shut. The man at the front desk told us not to worry about it. However, after dinner there was a different man at the front desk and when we told him, he came and fixed it right away. The neighborhood is safe and extremely convenient. The street was quiet and we had no problem sleeping either night. The train station and Hyde Park are less than 5 minutes away. The staff is helpful and kind. The breakfast is continental only for free, eggs or English are an extra charge.

London is so expensive, and this was one of the few places I could find with above average reviews that was affordable for 5 people. If you are from America, think similar service/expectations that you would get from a LaQuinta or Comfort Inn, but smaller rooms.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

Not knowing too much about London on places to stay, I picked this hotel because it was next to Paddington Station - so it would be easy to get to from Heathrow Airport with heavy luggage. Also picked hotel because of Price and Free Wifi when compared to other hotels.

I was able to get from Airport to hotel in less than 30 minutes, hotel very easy walk from station. Hotel is also near 2 Subway stations - so you have plenty of choices for different lines which came in handy.

Now the room is very, very small. My bathroom is at home is bigger than this hotel room. It really did not bother me since I did not spend any free time in the room - just used it to sleep. However, this is no place for suitecase. That is how small room was. The other thing is even though the location was excellent for being near Paddington Station, it is still 20-30 minutes away by subway to tourist sites of London. So going back to hotel during the day was not an option. I do recommend hotel if you want a hotel near Paddington, if you want a hotel closer to the tourist sites in London I would select a different hotel, but expect to pay more for it. There is a free small breakfast, but it was not much and after first day, I skipped it and hate breakfast at other alternatives.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights at start of May, and felt we had good value for money. The location is excellent being only a few minutes walk to Paddington or Lancaster Gate tube stations, and in a lovely tree lined street.
Whilst small, our room was very comfortable and clean plus we had a pleasant balcony. The included continental breakfast was welcome and more than adequate Chris Crais was always helpful as were the other staff
Choosing a hotel in London can be difficult but we felt that we had done well here in terms of value for money

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

My family stayed at the Rhodes in early May. We booked a quadruple room which consisted of a Queen bed and two singles. The bathroom was actually a lot bigger than expected with modern facilities and a huge whirlpool tub. The continental breakfast was more than enough to start your day with plenty of meat, cheese, a selection of cereals and plenty of orange juice, milks, tea and coffee. The lady running the kitchen was quick to replace baskets of toast as well. The hotel is very close to a few metro stations, Paddington, Lancaster Gate and Marble Arch.

The only downside was the stairs. We were on the 2nd to last floor and the farther up you go, the narrower the stairs get. The man at reception helped us bring our luggage up which was nice. The shower could've had a bit more pressure, but I think that was due more to the fancy shower head.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

This hotel is located in beautiful Paddington only a block or two from Paddington Station which can easily get you to any place in the city via Underground. The area is quiet and charming. My triple room was relatively large for European standards and a great value for a rather expensive London. Breakfast was a little sparse, but filled enough to get to a good lunch location. Free internet and a very helpful staff. Overall, this is a great hotel that'd I'd recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rhodes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhodes Hotel

Address: 195 Sussex Gardens, London W2 2RJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#296 Business Hotel in London
#308 Romantic Hotel in London
#311 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rhodes Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chris and Maria Crias are the third owners and have been running the Rhodes hotel since 1978. This London hotel is located in a quiet private road of a fashionable residential neighborhood. In addition to double-glazed windows, this newly refurbished eighteen-bedroom hotel aims to offer the best comfort, with a lot of modern amenities and value for money in this historic metropolis, hosting the 2012 Olympics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de and Venere so you can book your Rhodes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhodes Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rhodes Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.