We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great quiet neighborhood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. David's Hotels

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St. David's Hotels
Save
You added St. David's Hotels to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14-20 Norfolk Square | Paddington, London W2 1RS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #484 of 1,049 Hotels in London
parisf
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“great quiet neighborhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

St. David's Hotel is conveniently located only one block away from the Paddington station. Not a problem to get around in the London vicinity as transportation to connect to the outskirts of London were located at the Paddington Station also. This is a family-operated hotel which is nice and small. There is no elevator to the upstairs which goes up to the 4th floor. This is the only inconvenient factor besides the small bathroom in the rooms as the ventilation is not that great and there is no desk or cabinet space. The bathrooms were placed inside the converted rooms and are the size of a cruise ship cabin bathroom. Rooms are great for 1 or 2 people at the most. It is very quiet and there is wifi- service at the lobby. They ask you to turn in your key when departing the premises; therefore, they know who is in/out and they can promptly proceed with daily cleaning of the rooms. All in all, it is a nice place to stay outside from Central London and the crowds as the Paddington Station is only a block away.

Room Tip: No elevator so you may want to request a lower floor room if walking is a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    216
    62
    38
    28
See reviews for
107
118
51
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night recently, booking at the last minute. Found the receptionist very friendly and polite. Rooms are fairly small and basic but spotlessly clean. Had TV and FREE wifi, with excellent full English breakfast with lots of choice. All staff very friendly and polite. Highly recommended and would definitely use again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel is a great base from which to explore London. It is about two blocks from Paddington Station, and a reasonable walk from the Lancaster Gate station. Between the two, you can get to all the usual attractions with at most one change to another line. Bus access is also excellent.

The hotel, like all of the others on the square, has been created from adjacent town houses. This results in small rooms and tiny bathrooms, but they're big enough to get the job done.

The included breakfast is substantial. It eliminates the time and cost of getting one elsewhere, and is served early enough that you can beat the crowds at the Tower of London.

The staff is friendly and helpful.

The hotel does a good job serving budget travelers. If you're looking for luxury, go elsewhere. But if you just want someplace to sleep, wash up, and get fueled in the morning, St. David's works just fine.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My mom booked this hotel so that we could stay here during a London vacation. We thought we were getting a good deal and were cheered by all the good reviews on here, but what we found didn't really match up with the hotel's nice rating on Trip Advisor. Our room was on the top floor with no elevator on which to haul up our luggage, smelled like smoke (even though we asked for a non-smoking room), and had cigarette burns all over the curtains. There was no furniture other than the two beds, and not enough space between them to even open our suitcases (we had to hoist them onto our beds to be able to get things out). The bathroom was the smallest I've ever been in. Because of the early breakfast schedule, we never made it downstairs in time to have breakfast. Except for one man who answered all my questions and helped me book a taxi, the rest of the staff seemed not to care. Sometimes there was no one behind the counter when we needed our room key. And there must have been a tube line under the building, because we could feel the entire hotel shake, even though we were on the fifth floor.

Pros: excellent location with good restaurants/Paddington just a block away; they do serve breakfast, though I didn't try it; the one helpful guy booked a taxi for me; at least the shower works and the beds are...there.

Room Tip: I saw the maid cleaning rooms on the lower floors one day, and they looked to be a little bigger (so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I stayed at St. David's in July with a group of 23 college students from the states! I was so pleased with our treatment, I am about to book again for the same group for Summer 2014. Excellent location VERY near Paddington station. Easy walk to Hyde Park. Nice restaurants and small grocery stores within the block. Very good breakfast included. Wi-fi only in lobby - but it is free. Hotel staff was very helpful with carrying the girls luggage up the stairs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This family run hotel really is a fabulous option if you're travelling on a budget. The rooms are clean, even if a bit worn, the beds are of a high standard, the staff is very friendly and helpful, and you are served the best English breakfast, all made with fresh ingredients and cooked to order.

This is the second year of staying with a group of students and I couldn't imagine a better alternative in regards to service, location and connections to the city centre. We certainly hope to be able to return in many years to come!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

This is a geat economical choice for London. The square is beautiful and provided a great place for a run. Good food and very helpful staff. Great local restaurants include a pub, Greek, Italian and Lebanese. The best feature is its proximity to padding ton station. While the rooms are not fancy and the baths are very small, both rooms were perfect for our family of four.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. David's Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. David's Hotels

Address: 14-20 Norfolk Square | Paddington, London W2 1RS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #484 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — St. David's Hotels 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. David's is a family run hotel situated in a quiet garden square in the heart of Central London. Just a minutes walk from Paddington Station and ten minutes walk to Oxford Street and Hyde Park, we are ideally placed for any forthcoming visits. The St. David's Hotel prides itself for its excellent value for money service. Whatever your motives for traveling to London, whether your a budget traveler, here on business or pleasure, we will endeavour to make your stay a pleasant one. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St. David`s Hotel London
St Davids Hotel
St Davids London
St. David's Hotels London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. David's Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.