We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. David's Hotels

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St. David's Hotels
Save
You added St. David's Hotels to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14-20 Norfolk Square | Paddington, London W2 1RS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #485 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Santiago, Chile
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Friendly and great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

It is a small hotel with very simple rooms. highlights the excellent location, the bathroom spotless, the friendly staff and the breakfast plentiful.
My room was on the fourth floor, walk up the stairs with a heavy suitcase could have been complicated but received help from the hotel.
Near the hotel there are several places where you can eat, or just walk around to Hyde Park, and Paddington Station is 5 minutes walk, connecting to London Tube and train services.
It was my first time in London an was really easy to get there. I reccomend it if you are looking for something simple, clean and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    214
    62
    38
    28
See reviews for
106
118
51
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at St. David's Hotels based on reviews on Trip Advisor. We chose based on location, price, and that the breakfast is included.

The staff at the front desk were always very warm and accommodating. They provided us recommendations for restaurants in the area, and also were willing to watch our valuables during the day while we were out enjoying London.

The breakfast was very good, and kept us full for quite some time during the day! The earlier you get downstairs for breakfast, the less time you have to wait!

The room was about what we expected. Very simple- a comfortable bed, and a nice view over Norfolk Square. No elevator, so be prepared to take your bags up flights of stairs. The carpet didn't really fit the size of the room (there were air bubbles under our bed). It also didn't look like it had been vacuumed recently. The bathroom was nice to have ensuite.

Overall, we were very pleased with this hotel, and would recommend it.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

It was a great experience to stay at this family run hotel. My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights. Very close to Paddington station, good location, within walking distance of Hyde Park & Marble Arch, accessible from Heathrow easily by train. The staff were warm, friendly, helpful. The rooms are very basic with just enough space for two people and luggage: crudely refurbished. However, the breakfast was adequate, served by the hostess and her temping helpers, (although we wish they served hot milk for tea/coffee without us asking for it), and the free wi-fi in the lobby was a bonus. Overall, the best bargain for bed & breakfast with great accessibility!

Room Tip: Ask for the ground floor rooms while checking in, the stairway is too narrow to carry heavy luggage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Room was clean, breakfast was wonderful and the staff were fantastic. My wife and daughter had the flu for a day and they were well taken care of. Thank you so much for the great experience in London.

Room Tip: It's a long way up to the higher floors so if you need to ask for something lower down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
429 reviews 429 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The St David's hotel is on a park a block away from Paddington station. The location is good, especially if you want to catch an early train to Heathrow. The rooms are small, but comfortable with en-suite shower units available. There is an excellent full English breakfast included. Everyone on staff is very pleasant and there is 24 hour main desk staffing. It actually seemed like Fawlty towers crossed with the Kumars at #42, especially at breakfast.
Definitly a good place, since we were just in London for 2 days on a layover.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarks Grove, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

9 of us were looking for a London hotel--something not expensive, and not downtown as we were driving. Found this on Tripadvisor--and it was adequate. It's close by Paddington Station for the Tube--which gets us around town. A little hard to find if driving--and parking is a problem. They had us park at St. James Church--about 4 blocks away. No lifts--trundle your bags up 3 stories. Lots of good places to eat nearby. The "full English Breakfast" was adequate--one egg, some ham, a roasted tomato--toast, tea or coffee, OJ. Not the tastiest I've had, but adequate. The room was old--the bath/shower was in one corner--it looked like it had been ripped out of a 1960s vintage jetliner. I'd consider staying again--but if I had to spend any time in the hotel, I'd look elsewhere.

Room Tip: English is a second language for most of the staff--so they were a bit hard to understand, but they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

The location is superb with stone throwing distance from Paddington station. The room comes with free breakfast but you hv to pay 3 pound each day for wifi or use wifi at the lobby. Not suitable if you come with big bags as there is no lift and stairway is very narrow. I stayed on third floor where i found it was quiet at nite, sufficient heating in the room. The room was typically small and so was the shower room. Everything is basic, but it's okay for me since i stayed only for just one nite before catching the train in the next morning. Breakfast was decent

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. David's Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. David's Hotels

Address: 14-20 Norfolk Square | Paddington, London W2 1RS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #485 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — St. David's Hotels 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. David's is a family run hotel situated in a quiet garden square in the heart of Central London. Just a minutes walk from Paddington Station and ten minutes walk to Oxford Street and Hyde Park, we are ideally placed for any forthcoming visits. The St. David's Hotel prides itself for its excellent value for money service. Whatever your motives for traveling to London, whether your a budget traveler, here on business or pleasure, we will endeavour to make your stay a pleasant one. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St. David`s Hotel London
St Davids Hotel
St Davids London
St. David's Hotels London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. David's Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.