We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An old hotel--good for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of St. David's Hotels

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St. David's Hotels
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14-20 Norfolk Square | Paddington, London W2 1RS, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #483 of 1,075 hotels in London
Clarks Grove, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“An old hotel--good for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

9 of us were looking for a London hotel--something not expensive, and not downtown as we were driving. Found this on Tripadvisor--and it was adequate. It's close by Paddington Station for the Tube--which gets us around town. A little hard to find if driving--and parking is a problem. They had us park at St. James Church--about 4 blocks away. No lifts--trundle your bags up 3 stories. Lots of good places to eat nearby. The "full English Breakfast" was adequate--one egg, some ham, a roasted tomato--toast, tea or coffee, OJ. Not the tastiest I've had, but adequate. The room was old--the bath/shower was in one corner--it looked like it had been ripped out of a 1960s vintage jetliner. I'd consider staying again--but if I had to spend any time in the hotel, I'd look elsewhere.

Room Tip: English is a second language for most of the staff--so they were a bit hard to understand, but they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    198
    58
    38
    25
See reviews for
98
107
45
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

The location is superb with stone throwing distance from Paddington station. The room comes with free breakfast but you hv to pay 3 pound each day for wifi or use wifi at the lobby. Not suitable if you come with big bags as there is no lift and stairway is very narrow. I stayed on third floor where i found it was quiet at nite, sufficient heating in the room. The room was typically small and so was the shower room. Everything is basic, but it's okay for me since i stayed only for just one nite before catching the train in the next morning. Breakfast was decent

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is a comfortable and well-priced hotel. From the first moment you enter the hotel, you feel like home, mainly because of the friendly, helpful and kind treatment received from the owners & staff. The location is a plus, with easy access to national rail and underground.
The breakfast is included. Although the menu is not extensive, the food is tasty and the waitresses are very attentive and flexible when it comes to prepare your food.
The room (twin room with en-suite shower, basin and toilet) was nice too: small, clean and warm. The bathroom is a little tiny but it's OK.
I have to highlight the excellent performance of Alex, the guy at the hotel reception, he's kind and eager to help. I would definitely return to this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Back in St Davids for medical appointment St Marys hospital , and as always such a caring attitude towards all their guests, which is so important and welcome, especially under the circumstances. .
These are the things that made me enjoy my stay at this hotel, but my warmest congratulations to the hotel owners for their choice of personnel. They know how to really make you feel at home, and if you need anything it is like asking a family member. Thank you so much you were fantastic, yet again. God Bless you all..

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is a very comfortable budget hotel. Why is it a budget hotel? There's no elevator, the carpets are worn, and the rooms are small. However, the rooms are kept very clean, the price includes a delicious full English breakfast, and the beds are comfortable. Everybody on the staff is pleasant and very helpful. You don't have to worry about a heavy bag; someone will carry it up for you. Whenever I had a question about how to find something or how to get somewhere, someone drew me a map. Norfolk Square is quiet; I had a room overlooking the street and the only night that was at all noisy was Saturday. The hotel is less than five minutes from Paddington (by foot) and about the same distance from St. Mary's Hospital.

Room Tip: Eat at San Marco, which is at the end of the block. I had dinner there almost every night. Their f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I stayed at this small hotel for four nights (Mo-Fr) during the winterholiday and it was a positive experience. I had my two teenage girls with me on their first trip to London ever, and found this hotel perfect for our stay. It was value for money; easy to find and very close to Paddington, big English breakfast served at the table wich kept us going the whole day shopping and sightseeing, very friendly and helpful staff - they ordered tickets and had helpful tips for our stay. The room we had had nice beds, a tiny bathroom an a TV+ a fan :-). Fresh towels and cleaning every day. We would prefer a wooden floor to the carpet, but that is hard to find in any hotel in London... We had a room facing the park and it was quiet and nice. Hard to believe we were in the middle of a big city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Hi, Just got back,intomSydney after a 2 week break in London. I stayed at the St David's for the whole 2 weeks. To begin with, the location is excellent , literally out of Paddington station, walk up and out onto the footpath, cross the road , turn left at the first corner and you are at the from door of the hotel , literally 2 minute walk, so convenient for when you get back after a full day of being out and about. There are bus services all over the place, going to all parts of London. I was ablemto visit the London Zoo, Regent St, Oxford St, Kings Cross, St Pancras, British Musuem, and more and more , all from Buses direct , and all located around the streets of the hotel . Of course as mentioned above, the tube is also just down the road , but I preferred using the bus, less crowded, and you getbtomsee more. Also , as a tip , if you ate in London for a week , try and get a Weekly Oyster pass for £30, it gives you unlimited bus usage all over the place , any time , any day , and zones 1,2, on the tube . In regards to my room , I was in room 306, a great little room , overlooking Norfolk Park, it's own separate shower and toilet. The room was cleaned every day, new towels , rubbish removed, and , nice and warm when I got back in the evening, after , spending most of the day out and about freezing and cold. Also , the window opens as well, so nice to get some fresh air in as well. On a final note, and I leave the best for last, the Big Enhlish Breakfast that I had each morning, in different variants, and or sometimes continental , was very very nourishing. Fresh cooked eggs, beans , grilled tomatoes, mushrooms, bacon , toast as much as you like , tea, OJ, really good, the same meal and quality would cost you at least £8 pounds to eat outside, believe I had a good look around, lol . And all included, great stuff. I hope that this review does help people , as London , is a very expensive place, and where we all as travelers can save, is a good thing. Cheers

Room Tip: The higher the floors , the more steps, aaaaahrr
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to St. David's Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. David's Hotels

Address: 14-20 Norfolk Square | Paddington, London W2 1RS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Hotel Style:
Ranked #483 of 1,075 hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — St. David's Hotels 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. David's is a family run hotel situated in a quiet garden square in the heart of Central London. Just a minutes walk from Paddington Station and ten minutes walk to Oxford Street and Hyde Park, we are ideally placed for any forthcoming visits. The St. David's Hotel prides itself for its excellent value for money service. Whatever your motives for traveling to London, whether your a budget traveler, here on business or pleasure, we will endeavour to make your stay a pleasant one. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St. David`s Hotel London
St Davids Hotel
St Davids London
St. David's Hotels London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. David's Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added St. David's Hotels to your Saves list