We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lime Tree Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lime Tree Hotel
Save
You added Lime Tree Hotel to your Saves list
135 - 137 Ebury Street, London SW1W 9QU, England (Belgravia)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 524 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Truly home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

Me & my boyfriend stayed at the Lime Tree Hotel in June 2010. It is a very cosy place in perfect location. The area is very central and safe. And also most of the sightseeings are in a walkable distance.
We stayed in a nice and quiet regular double room on the 3rd (top) floor, overlooking the beautiful rose garden of the hotel. After a long day spent exploring London, it was wonderful to enjoy the relaxing athmosphere in there.
The service was excellent in terms of care and breakfast.
We would like to thank all the friendly and well informed staff, who made us feel like we are at home. Therefore, we will never cheat on the Lime Tree Hotel :)
Our next stay in London will be booked in advance at the Lime Tree.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    152
    24
    5
    1
See reviews for
114
191
84
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

Stayed in a single room on the third floor of this wonderful hotel. The hotel itself was really quaint and cute. The breakfast room was comfortable, there is a separate computer room for guests to use (and is FULL of guidebooks for guests to borrow for as long as they'd like) and an adorable back garden to escape to. My room itself was roomy for a single, the bathroom was a good size, and came complete with a flat screen tv and a kettle with coffee and tea. My room overlooked the street, but was rather quiet (the street itself isn't very busy). The room was immaculately clean. The front desk staff was wonderfully helpful and made me feel at home halfway around the world. They were able to set me up with my ticket to the Tower of London so I didn't have to wait in line once I got there. They held my bag for me from my checkout in the morning until I left London at roughly 11 pm and did so with a smile. The breakfast was so-so but then I only had it one morning because London hotels stop serving breakfast at 8 am and I wasn't interested in getting up at 7 am to be ready to go down that early. All and all I had a wonderful experience and would DEFINITELY stay again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louth ireland
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

Myself,my mam and my aunt went to london for a shopping trip and stayed in this hotel on 13th-15th june 2010. First of all pictures on the website are very deseiving,the hotel is very dated and rooms are very small! we got a triple room which was a twin room with an extra single bed squeezed into it,the bathroom was very small and had only a shower and a tiolet in it as the sink was seperate and was the other side of the room right beside one of the beds(i know i found that very strange and awkward myself!) the shower and sink plugs were partly blocked with hairs that did not belong to us, the milk for the tea and coffee was gone off and one of the bed sheets were stained. Breakfast was very average it was definately not freshly prepared and the older man that was serving us was more interested in listening to his own voice rather then getting us some toast (we have yet to get that toast!) we didnt have breakfast the next morning,i could go on and on but Im really not a fussy person when it comes to hotels but this place took the biscuit! I just wanted to let people know about this hotel because i do not want them to have the terrible experience we had!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

We visit London quite often and on previous occasions have stayed in larger 5 star hotels, such as the Grange, St. Paul's.
Although this time we decided to try something different and more personal, and we were not disappointed with the Lime Tree Hotel. We came to London for my birthday and the Kings Of Leon gig in Hyde Park.

The hotel is a beautiful grade 2 listed building in Belgravia, situated near both Victoria and Sloane Square tube stations, there is a wine bar next door and a coffee shop over the road.

On arriving to the hotel we were greeted by a very friendly member of staff who made us feel very welcome and explained to us where our room was and that we needed to drop our key off at reception on leaving the hotel and pick it back up when we came in, and that the door was locked at 11pm but reception was open 24 hours, if you come back after 11pm all you have to do is ring the night buzzer to be let in.

Our room was situated on the 3rd floor and had a very modern décor while still keeping its period features. The bathroom although small was very well fitted out and was very clean. The shower looked to be recently fitted and was very comfortable and easy to use.
Toiletries were supplied, although there is no in-room iron you are able to go downstairs and use the one in the luggage cupboard.
There is a garden to the back that is very pretty and well kept, with a patio area so you can sit and enjoy the sun. We were very lucky to have excellent weather on our stay, so were able to use the garden.

Breakfast was very good and there is a choice of both continental and cooked breakfast, which are both very nice. The dining room is gorgeous and has a period feel.
The staff at breakfast are very helpful and friendly, one of the owners Matthew is very attentive over breakfast and makes all the guests feel welcome and offers them any advice on places to go and directions. We went on Wimbledon finals weekend and asked him how to get there and if we could get in, he was very helpful and told us the tube to get off at and how long to expect to wait to get in.

Enjoyed this hotel very much and will definitely stay here again. The friendliness and warm welcome from staff has converted us from large chain run hotels to smaller more personal hotels like this, thank you all staff.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

We stayed here for 6 nights in mid May at the beginning of a six week tour of the UK and again for 11 nights at the conclusion of our trip. We stayed in a superior twin and then a superior double. Both rooms which overlooked the lovely back garden were warm, sunny, spotlessly clean and furnished very comfortably for an extended stay. There were plenty of mirrors, lots of wardrobe space to store clothing and suitcases. The bathrooms were small but very adequate with powerful showers.
I wasn’t going to review the Lime Tree because there are already so many good reviews and the Hotel is often booked out months in advance, however this was our 4th trip to London and we were so comfortable staying here it would be unfair not to do so.
Without exception the staff are all very competent, friendly and genuinely interested in ensuring their guests’ comfort. We loved being served breakfast with a warm smile and as we stayed so long they anticipated our requirements and were ready for us each day. The warm, welcoming atmosphere in the dining room was a very pleasant start to each day.
The location was wonderful with a short walk to Victoria Station or to the Bus Stops for our days in London. It was one street away from the busyness and great to come home to and chill out, exhausted, have a quiet lie down and ready ourselves for the evening ahead. The surrounding area has great restaurants. The Ebury Wine Bar next door was very accommodating serving quick meals before going to the Theatre. La Bottega was best in London for a great coffee and lovely Italian treats, which I could never resist. The Thomas Cubitt had the best Sunday Roasts. The surrounding neighbourhood was lovely for walking around. We won’t hesitate to stay here again, if we can get in, as it was our best London Hotel experience by far.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

We stayed here based on the reviews on tripadvisor, and we can agree that this is a fantastic place to stay while in London.
The owners (a family) couldn't be more friendly: they are very helpful, they came and talked to us at breakfast to know if everything was allright (but they also respect your privacy), they gave a map and lot's of information about London,...
The rooms are rather small (normal in london), but very clean anc nicely decorated. The bathroom is also rather small but fully equipped.
The breakfast was very good (fresh baked bread!) and was served in a lovely breakfast area.

The hotel isn't in the city centre, but close to victoria station where you have trains/metro/busses. It's located in a resedential and safe are.

The hotel has a very warm, cozy feel to it.

I would stay here again if I visit London. It's worth every penny!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boerne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

I have been so fortunate to travel all around the world, but never have I stayed in a hotel with so much charm and friendliness as the Lime Tree. Yes, the floor boards may creak on your way down to a delicious breakfast that permeates the building, but this adds to the enjoyment of your stay. The hotel may not have a swimming pool or fitness center, but why would you need a swimming pool or fitness center when you have the city of London at your feet in this centrally located hotel? When I return to London, there is no other place I would stay, but the Lime Tree.There I will be greeted with friendly and warm faces who know you by your name and not your credit card number.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lime Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lime Tree Hotel

Address: 135 - 137 Ebury Street, London SW1W 9QU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 524 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lime Tree Hotel is a superior bed & breakfast set in a pair of Grade II listed Georgian townhouses. Family-run for 20 years, the Lime Tree has a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and enviable location in the heart of Belgravia making it an ideal base from which to explore all the sights of London. Providing affordable, comfortable accommodation in an elegant city setting, we provide free WiFi to guests and all bedrooms have en-suite bathrooms and flat screen TVs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lime Tree Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lime Tree Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.