We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the nicest hotels ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lime Tree Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lime Tree Hotel
Save
You added Lime Tree Hotel to your Saves list
135 - 137 Ebury Street, London SW1W 9QU, England (Belgravia)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 524 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newtown Square, PA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“One of the nicest hotels ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

My stay at the Lime Tree Hotel in London was practically perfect. The hotel is charming and the staff go out of their way to be accomodating. My room was immaculate and the breakfast was delicious. When I go back to London, I know where I will stay!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    152
    24
    5
    1
See reviews for
114
191
84
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

Location is very good: only a couple blocks from Victoria Station for easy transportation connections. Quiet Ebury Street is so very Belgravia-cute, a perfect spot for travelers looking for decent accommodations on the cheap. After our arrival, it was an easy walk to dinner at the St. George’s Tavern on Hugh Street (highly recommended!!).

We reserved a Standard Room for £135 but were upgraded to a much larger Triple (Room #4) when we arrived. Only quirky aspect was that the sink had separate hot and cold faucets and was inside the room next to the beds, while the toilet and shower were at the opposite corner in their own tiny room. Beds were very comfortable and décor was stylish.

Hotel was clean and bright and smelled beautifully from the fresh lilies in the lobby. In addition to the computer station that you’d normally expect, the hotel had a little lending library with all the latest London travel books for guests to use – a very nice touch. Had the weather been more agreeable, we would have enjoyed the gorgeous rose garden out back. Management made the effort to meet everyone, personally, at breakfast the next morning which made our stay feel sort of homey, like staying with friends or such. Overall, a good experience and a great value for London.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

I stayed here for 7 nights, December 16-23, 2009. Being a single traveler, I only needed a single room. The room was small, but perfect for just me. The hotel was clean and the room cozy. Matt the owner was fantastic and always had great suggestions about getting around town. The hotel is just around the corner from both Victoria and Sloane Square underground stations. There are several places to eat and shop in Victoria station as well. Allen, who is there during the night was also great. I will say that this is a small, family run hotel, so if it is a chain experience you want this will not suit you. This being said if you want to stay in a locally owned and run hotel with the charm of London, this is perfect. I will definitely stay here again should I return to London!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

I've been struggling to find a decent hotel in London - often having to stay overnight on business. Most seem to be overpriced, with all sorts of hidden extras, unfriendly, with tiny rooms and beds etc. My view is that most of London's hotels have become a money making industry designed to fleece as much money out of their guests for the minimum amount of effort.

Seems like everyone rates this place highly and I can only add my support to those reviews. I was really pleased to find this place at short notice. The staff were really friendly and welcoming - the room was really comfortable - the breakfast was great - the location was good.

Most of all though - it was reasonably priced and there were no hidden extras - ie. breakfast was included; free WiFi meant free WiFi; no additional unforeseen VAT charges (I had that at another London hotel).

I anticipate returning to this place (provided they are not fully booked which I expect might be a problem).

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2009

We agree with all the previous reviews. The Lime Tree is a first rate hotel. The location couldn't have been better. Close to Victoria Station and also to the Apollo Victoria, where we saw Wicked. Matt is a great source of information. He suggested using the Sloan Station rather than Victoria Station during peak times. The area around Lime Tree is very safe. It was dark by 4:30 while we were there, but we still walked out in the evening with no problems. We can't wait to return to the Lime Tree.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2009

From New York City, recently traveled to London and stayed at the Lime Tree Hotel. The staff was wonderful, the hotel was clean, and I looked forward to breakfast each morning. My room was quite small but cozy. Overall I had a great stay and will go back to the Lime Tree Hotel on future visits.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

I stayed 6 night in this lovely hotel on my way home from a two months stay in Italy. It is a wonderful small hotel with a staff that makes every effort to make your stay perfect. I would recommend this hotel to all - just remember there is not a lift, so if you have trouble with stairs ask for a lower room. Breakfast each morning was delicious. There is a lovely Wine bar next door with great food and of course wine.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lime Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lime Tree Hotel

Address: 135 - 137 Ebury Street, London SW1W 9QU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 524 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lime Tree Hotel is a superior bed & breakfast set in a pair of Grade II listed Georgian townhouses. Family-run for 20 years, the Lime Tree has a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and enviable location in the heart of Belgravia making it an ideal base from which to explore all the sights of London. Providing affordable, comfortable accommodation in an elegant city setting, we provide free WiFi to guests and all bedrooms have en-suite bathrooms and flat screen TVs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lime Tree Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lime Tree Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.