We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location was amazing, hotel was poor” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Europa House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Europa House Hotel to your Saves list
Europa House Hotel
151 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 2RY, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #728 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Location was amazing, hotel was poor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

Room was big and spacious, bed had lumps in it and the shower didn't sit properly and was so small we had too lean on the wall to wash, also took 10-15 minutes of running hot tap too get warm water, staff were ok only 1 lady at breakfast wanted too be there and the breakky was ok nothing crash hot at least it was fresh. But if u want location this is the place 4 min walk too padding ton station and from there u can goa anywhere it's truly great.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miss B, Guest Relations Manager at Europa House Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Many thanks for all your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your experience was not as pleasant as we would have liked it to be. We are working hard to improve all the points that you mentioned in order to provide the levels of service that our guests deserve and expect. In compensation, we would like to offer you a 10% discount (if you book directly with us) if you decide to stay with us in the near future. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    62
    51
    27
    18
See reviews for
45
65
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The only good thing I can say is that the location was awesome - just 2 blocks from Paddington train station and underground. But 60 steps up to our room and no lift was difficult plus another 15 steps down to breakfast in the cellar. The view from our room was the back alley. No wi-fi as promised on 5 of the 6 days we stayed there and the staff was unable to help. Breakfast was disappointing. No fruit or any fresh food. Tiny bathroom - the sink was ridiculously small and zero counter space. Lumpy bed, torn sheets and sharp feather ends poked us through the duvet. One entertaining moment was finding a staff member sleeping on the lobby sofa in his underwear in the wee hours of the a.m.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miss B, Guest Relations Manager at Europa House Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review and provide us with your feedback, which I can assure you has been taken on board. We are currently in the process of changing our breakfast menu and making general improvements around the hotel. We have spoken to our staff and they have no recollection of the incident that you describe, but have noted it nonetheless. Please accept our most sincere apologies as we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. In compensation, we would like to offer you a 10% discount if you decide to stay with us in the future and book directly with us. Many thanks and best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

The room was OK. Everything worked as intended. I just disliked the parquet floor in the room.
The breakfast was good and generous even if the kitchen staff was kinda unpolite (they refused to serve breakfast to a copule that went down to eat at 9.25 AM while the time limit was at 9.30 AM).

Perhaps the rooms are a little too small.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miss B, Guest Relations Manager at Europa House Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay somewhat. Could you please confirm what room you stayed in as none of our rooms have parquet, they are all equipped with carpet. We have spoken to the breakfast staff to ensure that they uphold the service levels that we promote and believe in. Please note that we would like to offer you a 10% discount, should you wish to stay with us in the future and if you book directly with us. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Close to paddington from where you can reach easily most common destinations. Rooms are clean and if you get a room looking at the court, like we had, it's very quiet. There is no lift but there are only three floors, it's not a big effort. Staff it's friendly and reception is open 24x7. You can leave your luggage at the reception after check-out for free. Beakfast is normally included but we can't say about the quality because we never had it. The block is nice and full of others similar hotels. Restaurants and pubs are available nearby. Very good value for money.

Room Tip: we stayed at room 14, on the 3rd floor, facing the court. Quiet and with a very small but just renew...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miss B, Guest Relations Manager at Europa House Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is a real shame that you did not have the breakfast, as I am sure that you would have enjoyed it. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future and as a returning customer, we would like to offer you a 10% discount if you book directly with us. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horten, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

We stayed here two nights and I think this hotel is excellent value for money. It is a typical London hotel, could do with a refurbishment, but works well as it is. We got a big room (number 24). The bed was comfortable, and we didn´t hear any noise from the neighbours apart from when they were in the corridor. The shower took forever to heat, I think we left it on hot for almost ten minutes before it was possible to step into the shower, but apart from that the bathroom was ok.

Breakfast was not really up to standards. We opted for English breakfast and the bacon was rubbery and the tomatoes were from a can, "rösti" potatoes seemed prefabricated (almost inedible). But nice toast, butter and jam, and the eggs were good. We didn´t try the continental breakfast, as we just had breakfast at a café our second day.

Would stay here again if on a budget trip, good location and a quiet area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hotell.no

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

What a find for London! Small double room with own bathroom all very clean indeed. Room cleaned every day. Not much in the way of toiletries some soap, so be sure to take your own toiletries, but clean towels provided each day. Our room was on the front third floor so I heard some traffic noise when window was open. Very nice breakfast - cereal and fruit juice, choice of bacon/egg/beans, scrambled egg and toast, jam, tea or coffee. Excellent value for money, particularly as it is close to Paddington underground and train station and a great bus routes. It is about a 10 minute walk to Hyde Park, Marble Arch and Oxford Street is close too, if you wish to shop till you drop, and quick bus to the West End. Would stay again without hesitation. Thanks to the host family for making our stay an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed for two night in a hot, dirty, poky room (number 2). We asked for a fan for the night, but there was none. The toilet was so small that the sink gets in the way of your arm! The shower had excellent water pressure but also dirty and moldy. The staff were average but not terribly helpful. The breakfast was also average. The location is certainly good but there are many other hotels and B+Bs nearby.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Europa House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa House Hotel

Address: 151 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 2RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #728 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com, Otel, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Europa House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel London
Europa House Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Europa House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.