We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Europa House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Europa House Hotel to your Saves list
Europa House Hotel
151 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 2RY, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #746 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Horten, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

We stayed here two nights and I think this hotel is excellent value for money. It is a typical London hotel, could do with a refurbishment, but works well as it is. We got a big room (number 24). The bed was comfortable, and we didn´t hear any noise from the neighbours apart from when they were in the corridor. The shower took forever to heat, I think we left it on hot for almost ten minutes before it was possible to step into the shower, but apart from that the bathroom was ok.

Breakfast was not really up to standards. We opted for English breakfast and the bacon was rubbery and the tomatoes were from a can, "rösti" potatoes seemed prefabricated (almost inedible). But nice toast, butter and jam, and the eggs were good. We didn´t try the continental breakfast, as we just had breakfast at a café our second day.

Would stay here again if on a budget trip, good location and a quiet area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hotell.no

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    62
    53
    27
    19
See reviews for
45
67
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

What a find for London! Small double room with own bathroom all very clean indeed. Room cleaned every day. Not much in the way of toiletries some soap, so be sure to take your own toiletries, but clean towels provided each day. Our room was on the front third floor so I heard some traffic noise when window was open. Very nice breakfast - cereal and fruit juice, choice of bacon/egg/beans, scrambled egg and toast, jam, tea or coffee. Excellent value for money, particularly as it is close to Paddington underground and train station and a great bus routes. It is about a 10 minute walk to Hyde Park, Marble Arch and Oxford Street is close too, if you wish to shop till you drop, and quick bus to the West End. Would stay again without hesitation. Thanks to the host family for making our stay an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed for two night in a hot, dirty, poky room (number 2). We asked for a fan for the night, but there was none. The toilet was so small that the sink gets in the way of your arm! The shower had excellent water pressure but also dirty and moldy. The staff were average but not terribly helpful. The breakfast was also average. The location is certainly good but there are many other hotels and B+Bs nearby.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

My family (2 adults and 2 kids, both in their twenties) stayed here for 3 nights (18th May to 20th May 2011). We got a family room with one double and 2 singles.

Pros:
+Great location. The hotel is a less than 5 minute walk from Paddington Station (which is one of the central stations on the metro/intercity lines where you can change to other lines).
+Helpful staff. They helped us set up our wifi (different for smartphones i guess) and offered us suggestions on how to get to the various attractions.
+Cozy room. The room isn't very big, but in london Quad rooms aren't really that cheap, so this one was quite a bargain for it's location.

-Small room. if you're the type that needs lots of space for baggage, i suggest you go someplace else (esp for the family rooms, other rooms are more roomy though)
-Small toilet. Good luck with that. LOL

Others:
The hotel is situated along a street where, no matter if you look left or right, are rows of hotels. So fret not if you can't find a room.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

I have stayed in the europa house hotel 3 times in the last 3 years with my mum and daughter. On my first trip to london 4 years ago i wanted a place close to city centre, transport and not too expensive. The europa house hotel lives up to that.
accomodation is clean and tidy and in the 2 rooms i've stayed in was plenty of storage. room 22 is my fav. Staff are lovely and very accomidating. My only flaw is a bigger breakfast as where wanted to be full for a days traveling. Us irish love a good fry up. For a continetal breakie very good.
Also a good pub just 2 mins up road.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

Relatively decently priced accommodation sufficient for a short week-end trip to London.

Pros:
- Walking distance to several tube stations
- Good price
- Basic breakfast included
- Helpful staff

Cons:
- no elevator
- door lock malfunctioned, we really struggled with opening the door
- no wifi
- room quite cold
- very old furniture (the wardrobe seemed at least 70 years old)
- slightly shabby beds (only twin beds, no double bed)
- bed blankets looked really old and we wouldn't dare use them

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanon, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

The room was on the top floor and there was no lift. The positive was that this floor was quiet apart from the traffic on Sussex Gardens. The room had a clean, modern ensuite bathroom but the plumbing did not allow a temperature controlled shower! The sheets were crisp, clean white cotton but the duvet cover had been on for a week or so before. The room was so warm however that the duvet could be kicked onto the floor and one could just sleep under the sheet. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was comparatively good offering a good variety even free range eggs. I was a single woman traveller and felt safe in this hotel. On the whole very good value for money and I would use them again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Europa House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa House Hotel

Address: 151 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 2RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #746 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Otel, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Europa House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel London
Europa House Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Europa House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.