We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable price for a Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Europa House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Europa House Hotel to your Saves list
Europa House Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   151 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 2RY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #737 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Reasonable price for a Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

My family (2 adults and 2 kids, both in their twenties) stayed here for 3 nights (18th May to 20th May 2011). We got a family room with one double and 2 singles.

Pros:
+Great location. The hotel is a less than 5 minute walk from Paddington Station (which is one of the central stations on the metro/intercity lines where you can change to other lines).
+Helpful staff. They helped us set up our wifi (different for smartphones i guess) and offered us suggestions on how to get to the various attractions.
+Cozy room. The room isn't very big, but in london Quad rooms aren't really that cheap, so this one was quite a bargain for it's location.

-Small room. if you're the type that needs lots of space for baggage, i suggest you go someplace else (esp for the family rooms, other rooms are more roomy though)
-Small toilet. Good luck with that. LOL

Others:
The hotel is situated along a street where, no matter if you look left or right, are rows of hotels. So fret not if you can't find a room.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    64
    55
    31
    20
See reviews for
47
73
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cork
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

I have stayed in the europa house hotel 3 times in the last 3 years with my mum and daughter. On my first trip to london 4 years ago i wanted a place close to city centre, transport and not too expensive. The europa house hotel lives up to that.
accomodation is clean and tidy and in the 2 rooms i've stayed in was plenty of storage. room 22 is my fav. Staff are lovely and very accomidating. My only flaw is a bigger breakfast as where wanted to be full for a days traveling. Us irish love a good fry up. For a continetal breakie very good.
Also a good pub just 2 mins up road.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

Relatively decently priced accommodation sufficient for a short week-end trip to London.

Pros:
- Walking distance to several tube stations
- Good price
- Basic breakfast included
- Helpful staff

Cons:
- no elevator
- door lock malfunctioned, we really struggled with opening the door
- no wifi
- room quite cold
- very old furniture (the wardrobe seemed at least 70 years old)
- slightly shabby beds (only twin beds, no double bed)
- bed blankets looked really old and we wouldn't dare use them

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanon, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

The room was on the top floor and there was no lift. The positive was that this floor was quiet apart from the traffic on Sussex Gardens. The room had a clean, modern ensuite bathroom but the plumbing did not allow a temperature controlled shower! The sheets were crisp, clean white cotton but the duvet cover had been on for a week or so before. The room was so warm however that the duvet could be kicked onto the floor and one could just sleep under the sheet. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was comparatively good offering a good variety even free range eggs. I was a single woman traveller and felt safe in this hotel. On the whole very good value for money and I would use them again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

We spent 5 nights at the hotel. Only a short 5 minute walk from Paddington Tube station (with trains to Heathrow every 15mins as well), with plenty of good shops, restaurants and things to do close by; the location couldn't be more perfect. Overall, I would definitely stay at this hotel again. The breakfast was fantastic -- choice between English (fry up -- eggs, bacon, beans, tomato, hash brown etc.), or continental (yogurt, jam, cereal etc.). The hotel has no lift, however, and the staff do not offer to carry your bags up the stairs which are very narrow. So if you have lots of luggage and/or are elderly/infirm or have small children, perhaps this hotel isn't a good choice for you. Our triple room was rather small, but nothing to complain about. It was clean, bright, and neat. The heating in the room was a little too intense and we always had to open the window. Also it was a little disappointing that basic toiletries were not provided, but this is only a very minor complaint. We really liked that there was a TV in the room with plenty of channels to choose from. Also, we enjoyed the free WiFi. Just go down to reception and ask for the password. On account of the heat in the room, it did take us a while to drift off to sleep, but once again, nothing major to complain about. The staff at reception aren't particularly friendly -- particularly on arrival we didn't recieve a warm welcome, but the breakfast ladies were very hospitable. Overall, it's a good budget hotel -- you get what you pay for. As I said, it's pretty good value for money and in an unbeatable location.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

Good location to the tube, nice clean rooms and the most excellent breakfast, would highly recommend to any one for a short break.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

The room was small, but acceptable. I have been in much smaller singles. The hotel location is great, close to tube, rail, shopping, sights, etc. Breakfast was good. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Europa House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa House Hotel

Address: 151 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 2RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #737 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Europa House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Europa House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel London
Europa House Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Europa House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.