We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Darlington Hyde Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Darlington Hyde Park to your Saves list
The Darlington Hyde Park
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111-117 Sussex Gardens | Paddington, London W2 2RU, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #186 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nicosia, Cyprus
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

we have just returned from our stay at the darlington hotel and it we enjoy our stay. the staff are friendly and polite. the room was clean and tidy. there was a heated towel rails in the barthroom. never a problem with hot water. the hotel is near to bus station and underground.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominika G, Manager at The Darlington Hyde Park, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear evi c,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your kind feedback following your recent stay with us. I was delighted that you enjoyed all the aspects of your stay at The Darlington Hyde Park Hotel including the service, cleanliness and location. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for the best discount rates when traveling to London next.
Kind regards,
Dominika Gozdzik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    731
    620
    121
    34
    12
See reviews for
286
555
142
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We have just returned from our fourth stay at the Darlington and it was as wonderful as ever. From the moment you buzz the door and are told to "push the door and mind the step" to the time you, sadly, open the door and mind the step on your way out the door for the final time it's like a home away from home. The reception staff are friendly and efficient and bags are taken to rooms that are left at reception if your room is not ready when you check in. You can also leave bags at reception on check out if you have a later departure time.
The rooms are small (welcome to London) but certainly not uncomfortably so, (but maybe the desk, which I think is in every room, could be replaced by a chest of drawers for clothes), however you can make a plan with what is available to unpack into and there is a cupboard for hanging things up. Every room has a handy bar fridge. The aircon works well and temperature is adjustable. The heated towel rails in the bathroom are great in the colder months. Never a problem with hot water or shower pressure. Bathroom a very decent size with bath and shower over the bath.
Although we had a room right by the lift, we were never disturbed by noise - either from fellow guests or staff. Neither were we bothered by cleaning staff wanting to come into the room to clean before we had left for the day, which was really appreciated.
The free breakfast is marvelous with choices to suit every taste and served by polite and efficient waitresses. The ever smiling Adrienne was a joy to see every morning.
The hotel has a coin operated washing maching and dryer for use by guests which is very convenient.
Also convenient is the proximity to Paddington Station - an easy, safe, 5 min walk away. A bus stop is nearby. Lots of cafes in the vicinity and you are spoilt for choice for restaurants and pubs.
Free wifi is offered throughout the hotel. What more can I say - as good as it gets in this price range!

Room Tip: I think the twin beds would be easier to sleep in than sharing a double which is only a double and n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malgorzata L, Manager at The Darlington Hyde Park, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Wendy,
Thank you for your continued support and for returning time after time. We are delighted that once again you had a delightful stay with us and appreciated our high level of personal service. Our guest experiences are very important to us and when guests do return time after time it means we are getting it right.

Best regards
Malgorzata Lesniewska
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I have stayed in many London Hotels and I must say this one does it well. The room was clean, well laid out but uncomfortably small. The bed was uncomfortable and the bathroom though of a reasonable size had the tiniest shower I have ever been in. The reception staff were very friendly. The breakfast was average London breakfast, totally lacking in flavour, probably due to cheap ingredients. They offer an assortment of pastries and rolls on top of the Traditional English breakfast, these were always either stale or inedibly hard. The breakfast staff were extremely nice. I am not sure if I would stay here again, it is very well located but the shortcomings are hard to overlook.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malgorzata L, Manager at The Darlington Hyde Park, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that you found your room clean and you enjoyed the service. Your feedback is extremely important to us as it helps us to improve the services and facilities that we provide.

Best regards,
Malgorzata Lesniewska
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC metro area
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

On our last trip to London, my husband and I ended up having to stay in two hotels - the Darlington Hyde Park, and Hotel Indigo around the corner. The Darlington won, hands down. Yes, Hotel Indigo is a little fancier, but the rooms at the Darlington were substantially larger and just as clean and comfortable. The price was much better at the Darlington - plus our stay came with a very tasty breakfast (which the Indigo did not), and a great take-home package of British flag fair-trade mugs for just a few pounds extra. I'd definitely go back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malgorzata L, Manager at The Darlington Hyde Park, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely feedback following your stay at Darlington Hotel. It is really appreciated. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the hotel clean and spacious. It is very rewarding to hear we exceeded your expectations and that you will definitely come back.

Best regards,
Malgorzata Lesniewska
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I have stayed in Darlington Hyde Park three times with my wife and every time I am astonished by the friendly and helpful staff. Coming to the hotel is like coming home. The breakfast is absolutely great (and even better, it is included in the price, making the stay even more affordable). The 24h service at the reception is a great thing.

The location close to the Paddington Station is great. You can get to the Underground in about five minutes as well as National Rail Services and Oxford Street is 15 minutes away by foot. From near the Paddington Station, you can get a bus nearly anywhere (or if not anywhere, somewhere, where you can switch the bus and get practically anywhere). With the Underground, the whole of London is in your reach. It is also the cheapest way to the various airports.

Near the hotel, there are some nice, cozy restaurants and pubs as well as fast food for the late night snack. For more fine dining or culture, the City is not far and offers great selection that caters every possible appetite.

The only thing that might bother one staying is the commotion caused by the nearby hospital. Ambulances race down the street once in a while, but then again, London is a big city with big city noises.

So, if you are looking a good, affordable place to stay, take it from someone who has been three times to this particular pearl - you can't get better with more money.

Room Tip: The rooms looking away from the street get (understandably) less noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominika G, Manager at The Darlington Hyde Park, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Otso,
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review of The Darlington Hyde Park. There is nothing nicer than a happy guest saying that coming to The Darlington is like coming home. Return guests are what really makes working in a hotel a real pleasure and satisfaction. We are glad that you enjoy the service each time you come, the location and you value your stay for the money you pay. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for the best discount rates when you have confirmed your dates of next travel.
Kind regards,
Dominika Gozdzik
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

A classic 3* London hotel with much better than average service and large rooms. The decor is a but dented and the carpet had seen better days but the cleaning was really good. I asked for a quiet room and was given room 6 in the basement. Due to the load steps above and tve sound from the metro below, my sleep was worse than average. I should have asked for a top level floor instead I guess.

The breakfast is small but of good quality. An extra plus to the quick, nice and service minded staff. Both English and Continental breakfast (the latter prepered on order) available and included in room price.

Wifi was available and worked fairly well. The only negative was the tiresome log in procedure - you were often logged out - but the speed was really ok.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dominika G, Manager at The Darlington Hyde Park, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear HoppeTossan,
Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that you found your room clean and you enjoyed the service. I have shared your review with my restaurant team who were delighted with the positive feedback.We are always pleased to receive comments positive or negative. This helps us to improve our service and facilities. I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back to The Darlington Hyde Park on your return to London.
Kind regards,
Dominika Gozdzik
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I was travelling with my in-laws and my kids and found this hotel on booking.com. It was great for location., cleanliness and in a quiet street. We had the lower ground rooms and they were spacious and clean. The reception was very helpful. Great value for money ,would stay again.

Room Tip: The 3 bed room and the double rooms on the lower ground floor are very roomy and can be connected if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominika G, Manager at The Darlington Hyde Park, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear MissDetox,
Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed the stay with us. Keep an eye on our website for lots of 2013 promotions and we hope to see you again.
Kind regards,
Dominika Gozdzik
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Darlington Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Darlington Hyde Park

Address: 111-117 Sussex Gardens | Paddington, London W2 2RU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#167 Family Hotel in London
#177 Business Hotel in London
#195 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Darlington Hyde Park 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Darlington Hyde Park is located in the Paddington Hyde Park area of London, less than a 5-minute walk from the Heathrow Express terminal at Paddington station. This 40-bedroom former stately Victorian terraced town house conversion offers high standard accommodation with modern facilities, which ensure that the expectations of both business and leisure travellers alike are fully met. The Darlington Hyde Park prides itself on being a strictly non-smoking establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Darlington Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Darlington Hyde Park Hotel London
Darlington Hyde Park London
The Darlington Hyde Park London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Darlington Hyde Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.