We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel but with great staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Caswell Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Caswell Hotel to your Saves list
Caswell Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Gloucester Street, London SW1V 2DB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #812 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Budget hotel but with great staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I booked the hotel through the late rooms which portrayed black bedspreads and pictures on the wall.
When I arrived there the room was of box size and extremely small. I didn't particularly like the decor and felt a little bit more effort could have been made with minimal cost. The pictures on late rooms are very deceiving! My coffee cup was chipped and my newspaper I left in the room the first night was taken which I had brought to take back to my father.
Although it us what it is, the area is great and it is close to everywhere!
The only reason I would stay there again would be because of the staff! On arrival the Spanish receptionist was do friendly and helpful! The breakfast staff were lovely especially the girl with the straight blonde hair! In general wonderful staff!
Only thing that let's the hotel down is the decor!

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCaswell, Manager at Caswell Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear StaffsCountryFella
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. Your feedback is very important to me as it highlights where we need to make changes to give everyone a comfortable stay.
I have noted your comment about the pictures on late rooms.com These have been updated. These images are general overview of the hotel. I also would like to apologies for taking the newspaper. We have reiterated the lost property procedures to all of our cleaning staff.

I look forward to welcoming you back again next time you are in London.

Nimesh Patel

Operations Manager

Caswell Hotel

email: nimesh@hotellondon.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    52
    61
    35
    53
See reviews for
52
41
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I want to be short: this 'hotel' is okay for one-night-staying (if you don't get the rooms downstairs next to the toilet and the breakfast room). Everything is old and hackneyed, the beds also.
So, if you want to stay for a few days in London, I would choose something else..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCaswell, Manager at Caswell Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear GingerB

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. Your I value all the feedback that we receive as I allows us to improve the experience for other guests.

I am sorry to learn we were unable to meet your expectations on this visit. We also have some en suite rooms which may have been more suitable for you. Our decor is old but clean.

Nimesh Patel

Operations Manager

Caswell Hotel

email:nimesh@hotellondon.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

If you're traveling to London on a budget then I definitely recommend the Caswell. The rooms are small and without many amenities, but you're visiting London, you shouldn't be spending a whole lot of time in the room. The staff is the highlight of the experience at the hotel, so friendly and helpful. A.B. was especially helpful and pleasant. The neighborhood on Gloucester is very quiet and mostly apartments. Close to some great restaurants, near Victoria station and Westminster abbey. If you're not looking for frills and looking to save some cash in an expensive city then the Caswell is for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCaswell, Manager at Caswell Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Morgansurf

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. Your feedback is very important to me as it highlights where we need to make changes to give everyone a great stay.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am grateful for your recommendation. I look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in London.

Nimesh Patel

Operations Manager

Caswell Hotel
Email : Nimesh@hotellondon.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I have never complained about a hotel in over 20 years of travel but this was the limit. When we opened the door to the family room we'd booked, my heart just sank. The room was stinking, the carpets were disgustingly old and dirty, and the furniture was truly ancient and battered. The two thin curtains differed in length by a good two inches.We could barely move in the tiny room and kept falling over our cases which couldn't be placed anywhere but in the middle of the room. I spent each day dreading returning to that room. Everyone else looked miserable in the dining room in the morning. Whilst the area is great and is very central, it's definitely worth staying further out of the centre of the city for a better room. Whatever you do, don't book into this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCaswell, Manager at Caswell Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear LD

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. I appreciate your feedback and also the fact that we are not are not to everyone’s tastes. We aim to provide great value budget accommodation in the heart of London. Our decor is very dated but we ensure that we keep it clean so that we can keep the price low for our guests. We are in the process of having the carpets cleaned throughout the hotel.

I am sorry that we did not meet you expectations on this visit.

Nimesh Patel

Operations Manager

Caswell Hotel
Email : Nimesh@hotellondon.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

I prepaid a non refundable price, so now im stuck here for 4 days. it is dirty! everything is dirty! I asked to get out and was told no. I have seen cleaner fraternity houses. Stay away listen to the people that call it a toilet

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ManagerCaswell, Manager at Caswell Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Dominic G

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent experience on tripadvisor. Your feedback is very important to me as it highlights where we need to make changes to give everyone a comfortable stay.

I am sorry to learn that you are not happy with your stay. I would like to know more about where did you feel dirty in the hotel so we can make changes on that points. Once again I am sorry that we did not meet you expectations on this visit.


Nimesh Patel

Operations Manager

Caswell Hotel
Email : Nimesh@hotellondon.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Esperance, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Caswell is a basic hotel with quite dated decor but the service is amazing: the staff were friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough for us. It's a rare thing for a budget traveller to be made to feel like a valued guest! The rooms are clean and comfortable and the location is great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCaswell, Manager at Caswell Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Susicubed

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent experience with us on TripAdvisor. Your feedback is very important to me as it highlights where we need to make changes to give everyone a comfortable stay.

I am pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us also would like to thank you for your comment on service and location. I am look forward to welcoming you back again next time you are in London.

Nimesh Patel

Operations Manager

Caswell Hotel

email : Nimesh@hotelLondon.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caswell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caswell Hotel

Address: 25 Gloucester Street, London SW1V 2DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #812 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Caswell Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Value budget Central London stays for cost-conscious travellers at this 19 rooms London Bed & Breakfast hotel with a range of affordable, functional rooms easy on your pocket just a 6 minutes from Victoria station and a short walk from Buckingham Palace. Ideal for families and groups of friends-Basic or Ensuite triple and quad rooms! Elementary comforts, friendly helpful service and well connected to the whole of the capital, with fast direct train links to/from Gatwick airport a short stroll away.Nearest tube station is Victoria (Circle, District, Victoria lines plus regional / national rail links including Gatwick Express, and national / international coach services), 5 minutes from the hotel. Choose from simple, affordable basic rooms with shared bathroom / WC in the hall or en suite options, all equipped with LCD TV and hairdryer. Wi Fi internet is also provided free of charge.Local shops, cafes, pubs and eateries are a short stroll from your London base, and it´s just 10 minutes on foot to Hyde Park and Marble Arch. The Houses of Parliament, the imposing Whitehall and the historic Westminster Abbey are a 15 minute stroll. By tube just 10 minutes to Earl´s Court, fashionable South Kensington (for the Natural History / Victoria & Albert museums), Notting Hill and Portobello Road market, plus the vibrant West End, Piccadilly Circus and Covent Garden. The Tower of London, Tower Bridge and The City are also an easy 15 minute tube journey. Affordable, enjoyable location for your London trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HostelBookers, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Caswell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caswell Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caswell Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.