We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Da Vinci Code Church is Very Interesting!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Temple Church

Temple Church
The Temple | King's Bench Walk, London EC4Y 7BB, England
44 020 7353 3470
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #117 of 854 Attractions in London
Type: Churches/ Cathedrals, Cultural
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Attraction details
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Mount Holly, North Carolina
Top Contributor
367 reviews 367 reviews
121 attraction reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Da Vinci Code Church is Very Interesting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Whether you believe or not this church of the Templar Knights is historical and fun to visit.The effigy tombs cause a shiver to go up your spine as you consider the timeline they represent. There is beauty as well as intrigue in this church. It is one of the most unique churches I have ever been to. Go and savor it and soak it all in. The Magna Carta was also part of the history here. Take the tube to Temple and then walk almost two blocks around a huge building and then cut over toward Fleet Street. I found it but you have to go around the Royal Court of Justice area.
Don't give up, it is well worth the entrance fee. They have a nice selection of books as well.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    60
    7
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A lovely church with remarkable history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

To begin, I want to talk about getting to the church itself, as that was the biggest concern I had before visiting. The web site for the church doesn't provide a lot of information about how to best access the church, so we read reviews from other visitors and decided to try for the entrance off Fleet Street. We took the underground to Temple. Upon exiting the underground, we turned left and headed up Arundel Street (the Thames was at our backs). We made a right onto Strand, which becomes Fleet Street. You’ll walk past the striking building of the Royal Courts of Justice (it will be on the opposite side of the street.) You’ll then pass Middle Temple Lane (which is hidden by a large set of black doors). At first we thought this is where we should enter (and I think you can take this entrance, but on the church’s web site it indicates that this lane has restricted access), but we moved on to the footpath I had seen marked on the map on the Temple Church’s web site. Once you past Chancery Lane (which will be on your left and on the opposite side of the street), the entrance is almost immediately on your right. It’s not exactly opposite Chancery Lane, but it’s very close. Large black doors conceal the entrance, though one side was open when we arrived and it revealed the footpath. A sign hangs over the door that reads “This way to Temple Church.” If you weren't looking up, you might miss it at first glance. This is the entrance we took. The paved footpath leads you back between two buildings and then widens to reveal Temple Church. We walked around the church to the main entrance.

I also want to recommend checking the church's calendar online for closures before going. I've been planning to visit since last October, but the church is not open on Saturdays, which makes touring it somewhat difficult. The first free Friday afternoon we had, we went.

Once you walk into the church you’ll find staff or volunteers who take your admission. It is 4 GBP per person. They also provide you with a pamphlet of the church’s history and there is a small selection of souvenirs available for purchase, including a booklet with a more detailed history and postcards. The pamphlet doesn't provide a church layout, but the Temple isn't so large that you need one. It is also worthwhile to note that photography is indeed permitted. We started in the circular part of the church and worked our way around. They have a lot of information about the church’s history displayed on all the walls, which was interesting. The church was badly damaged during WWII and much of it has been rebuilt, but the photos of before and after shots show you what predates the renovations after the war.

The knight effigies are neat to see in person and study. Fans of The Da Vinci Code will also enjoy seeing the space. (There is even a picture of Tom Hanks on one of the walls.) Besides from the association to the famous book and film, the church is an extraordinary place to visit for the history of the Templars and the role the church played during King John’s reign and the creation of the Magna Carta. Having seen three of the four existing copies, it was neat to learn more about the Magna Carta at Temple Church.

The church is also close to St. Paul’s Cathedral and I think a tour of both would make for a nice day of sightseeing in London. We probably only spent 45 minutes within the church, as it isn’t that large, so it is relatively quick to tour if you are short on time.

I think it’s a must see for history lovers, those who enjoy touring ecclesiastical sites, and, of course, fans of Dan Brown’s The Da Vinci Code.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia, UK
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“The Roots of our Legal Rights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Just amazing to think that some folk planned here what became the Magna Carta which removed the absolute power from the King; somewhat relevant to many current world events. Well worth the small entry fee (with concessions as well). Although there were a number of visitors, the atmosphere was quiet and positive. The history of the place is carefully displayed all around (and of considerable interest). The round part of the building goes back to the 12th Century, although hit by fires through its life and badly damaged by incendiary bombs in WW2. Great that the legal firms resident in the immediate area have kept their promise to maintain this iconic building over so many centuries, and continue to do so today.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A Great Piece of British and Religious History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I'll admit I became aware of this place because of the Da Vinci Code book and movie. I had tried to visit it on two previous trips to London, but it was closed each time. This trip I got lucky and it was open. Four pounds gets you in to see the great effigies of knights carved in stone as well as other intriguing stonework on the walls. The church is very well lit, accenting its interesting lines. There is a great organ, which was played sporadically while I was there. I would certainly like to revisit it during a musical event.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
3,122 reviews 3,122 reviews
1,903 attraction reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
8,052 helpful votes 8,052 helpful votes
“Built by the Knights Templar - Go to see the 13th century effigies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Temple Church is built by the famed Knights Templar. It has a rich local history and today serves as is an active Anglican church. Temple Church was designed after the Church of the Holy Sepulchre in Jerusalem and consecrated in 1185AD. Related, the Knights Templar were a society of soldier-monks who were tasked with protecting pilgrims in route to the Holy Land during the Crusades of the Middles Ages.

You can visit the Temple Church (£4 per person) but they have inconsistent opening hours so best to refer to the Temple website to confirm opening times before you attempt to visit. Inside you can see the famous 13th century effigies resting on the floor in the nave. The rest of the church is nice to see, displaying its Victorian Gothic features and other earlier period structures. We particularly enjoyed seeing the medieval figures and faces which line the round walls of the nave near the effigies.

These days the Temple Church is also known for having one of the finest choirs in England with evening performances that might be worth attending. Other attractions in the area include the Temple Bar, the Gothic style RCJ building complex, St. Clement Danes Church and other historic pubs and tea houses, like the original Twinning Tea Shop.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Temple Church also viewed

 

Been to Temple Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Temple Church, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.