We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RHS Chelsea Flower Show” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Hospital Chelsea

Royal Hospital Chelsea
Royal Hospital Road, London SW3 4SR, England (Chelsea)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #78 of 853 Attractions in London
Type: History Museums, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Royal Hospital Chelsea was founded in 1682 by King Charles II as the Home of the iconic Chelsea Pensioners. As well as being a wonderful home to the Chelsea Pensioners it is also one of London's best kept secrets as a beautiful, tranquil place to visit.Set in 66 acres of grounds in Chelsea, small groups can visit the Royal Hospital's museum, Souvenir Shop, Great Hall, Wren Chapel, Figure Court (with a stunning statue of King Charles II by Grinling Gibbons), Ranelagh Gardens (subject to the time of year) and the Cafe between 10am-12noon and 2pm-4pm Monday to Saturday (excluding the Museum and Souvenir Shop which are currently closed on a Saturday and the Cafe which is only open until lunchtime on a weekends).For larger groups of 10 or more, conducted tours led by a Chelsea Pensioner are offered for £65 per group.Coach parking is also available.The Great Hall, State Apartments, Prince of Wales Hall and outside spaces are also available for hire.
Mosta, null, Malta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“RHS Chelsea Flower Show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Brilliant!
wonderful show gardens - only blot on an otherwise perfect day was Dairmund's babylon style gardens , there were no fixed opening times, the attendant said they would have 'sporadic' openings ! and the information was only made available to me when I went to enuire why I had been in a queque for 20mins without it moving an inch- disgraceful organisation.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    17
    1
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful surroundings and a Very Warm Welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

If you have had enough of Harrods and have a couple of hours to spare visit the Royal Hospital Chelsea - not far away. It is steeped in history but not stuffy and the gardens sweeping down to the Thames are spectacular. The chapel especially is worth a peep. The residents are all so cheerful and chatty. We spent ages just sat chatting in the quadrangle to several of them. They have their own Post Office which stocks reasonably priced gifts and momentos.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
Top Contributor
280 reviews 280 reviews
141 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
540 helpful votes 540 helpful votes
“wow ...........so pleased we went.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

did not manage to visit last time while in london but i really wanted to go this time and made sure we made the effort and i am so pleased that we did. entry is free which is great for london. the place is steeped in history and what an honour it felt to be able to intrude. while we were there we seen a few of the chelsea pensioners and it was quite humbling. the building is just amazing and our breath was taking away when we visited the chapel and the great hall. the hospital is open from 10.00 until 12.00 and then reopens at 2.00 until 4.00pm. the staff that worked there seemed very friendly and again it really is a great place to visit to just get a small insight of what it is all about. im so pleased we went as it really is a very special place and i shall always remember my visit there!!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“andrewinlondon2011”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

I have a great interest in history so have always been interested in the Royal Hospital and how it was established. Lovely Wren designed buildings and grounds. Museum had an interesting model of the site. Chelsea area great for a wander , got there on the tube to Sloane Sq.
Kings Road good for a browse , Peter Jones department store has a top level restaurant with great views towards the South Kensington museums , food good too!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura M, Public Relations Manager at Royal Hospital Chelsea, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Dear andrewinlondon2011,

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the Royal Hospital - I hope you had chance to go into the Great Hall and the Chapel.


Best Wishes,

Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Hospital Chelsea also viewed

 

Been to Royal Hospital Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Hospital Chelsea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.