We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience the 'special' factor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Goring

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Goring to your Saves list
The Goring
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beeston Place, Grosvenor Gardens, London SW1W 0JW, England (Westminster)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Family Stays for 50% Less
Ranked #7 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Essex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Experience the 'special' factor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

To stay in The Goring Hotel is an experience that combines the essence of a large family residence with the amenities and services that only total commitment to guests' satisfaction can provide. It is an oasis of tranquillity in a very busy part of London.

Our room was luxurious in every respect and the dinner in the hotel's restaurant would be difficult to surpass. Service was discreet but friendly. The reception staff made us feel special and their attitude appeared genuine in every respect.

The only disappointment was the breakfast - bland is the best word to describe it. Nevertheless we shall return at the first opportunity.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    604
    79
    23
    12
    5
See reviews for
137
297
37
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

.On arrival, we were given lashings of attention, in spite of this hotel being very busy on a saturday afternoon. There were at least four 'front of house' people checking us in, and dazzling us with helpfulness and much conversation. We were overwhlemed. This distraction must have been the reason why they took my credit card details twice in the tiny quaint room behind the front desk. We did find our room particularly small, and crowded. The food, both dinner and breakfast were satisfactory. However the final bill which was taken from my credit card, included an extra amount of over £3000; this was taken out of my account on three ocassions during the week when I was on the Orient Express. This I was informed was a mistake, which caused me great stress and consternation, not to mind loosing time at work and money ringing International numbers in order to sort the mess out. That type of mistake is not 5 star administration, nor is the casual way in which they handled the matter. I could not in all sincerity recommend this hotel to anyone, nor would I return..

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxton
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

We were planning a trip to London to watch Fleetwood Mac at Wembley and we spent so much time looking for hotels, checking out reviews and were still un-decided so in the end booked a 'secret hotel' and ended up with The Goring. To be honest we would probably never have chosen this one just from reviews and may have thought it stuffy and too 'old school, but we now realise from our stay how wrong we would have been and how lucky we were to stay here.

From the moment we arrived we were met with very friendly, helpful and very smartly dressed staff. We were shown up to our room and the history of the hotel was explained, as well as the history of the sheep. The staff truly are a credit to the hotel.

Bathroom was spotless, it was marble tiled, fab shower and bath and Molten Brown toiletries.The bed was one of the comfiest ever, had a great sleep.

We never ate in the hotel as we already had plans, but saw fabulous afternoon tea and we did sample the cocktails, which were really good.

We only have great things to say about the hotel and have since recommended it to friends and when next in London would certainly book in again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

My husband, my 7 year old son and I spent wonderful 6 nights at the Goring in late August.. Everyone on the staff was incredibly gracious and helpful, especially when they recommended attractions that would interest my son. The atmosphere of the Goring is so welcoming that my son felt perfectly comfortable walking down 2 floors to the lobby to chat with the concierge. He also enjoyed baking cookies with the pastry chef. Every day at the end of our sightseeing activities my son said "I just want to go back to the Goring!"

The Goring is not, however, overrun with children. Adults traveling on their own will certainly appreciate the refined atmosphere. It's all very British and not corporate at all. We will never stay anywhere else in London.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2009

This is the perfect hotel to stay at....it has all the charm that one would expect of a London hotel, and the fact that it is a 5 star property, one has all the amenities that go along with that, with none of the pretentiousness. Perfect location - around the block from Victoria Station, ten minute stroll to Buckingham Palace, Westminster Abby, Big Ben, the West End. And the restaurant is rated as one of the tops in the city...and rightfully so. To the sheep!!! (you'll have to stay here to know what I'm referring to)

Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2009

Everyone at the Goring made us feel most welcome from the moment we walked in until we left again a few days later. A happy friendly enviroment exuded throughout our stay. Food was great although, being London, was also quite expensive. We found the location ideal for daily walks around London and there are plenty of pubs, cafes & restaurants nearby allowing a change of scenery. The little garden at the rear of the hotel is a lovely oasis in which to sip an evening cocktail. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

We can't say enough nice things about our stay at The Goring. When we go back to London we will not consider another hotel. We could not have been treated better from the moment we arrived until the momment we left. We rate the hotel excellent in all areas-room, staff, lobby, reataurant/bar, location and service.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Goring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goring

Address: Beeston Place, Grosvenor Gardens, London SW1W 0JW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in London
#11 Family Hotel in London
#12 Business Hotel in London
#16 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Goring 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having been lovingly refurbished, The Goring has entered a new era, yet retains its time-honoured style and exceptional service. The small, intimate hotel stands out from the crowd as London's last family-owned luxury hotel, as well as its unique Royal Warrant from Her Majesty The Queen and one of the largest private gardens in the capital - an urban oasis. Nestled in fashionable Belgravia, adjacent to Buckingham Palace, this fantastic London location offers guests easy access to Knightsbridge, Mayfair and more - perfect for shopping and theatre, work and play. The hotel's sumptuous bedrooms and suites offer supreme comfort and the finest furnishings, whilst The Dining Room and Bar & Lounge serve the best in British food, irresistible cocktails and an award-winning traditional afternoon tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, LondonMarketing.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Goring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Goring Hotel London
Goring London
The Goring London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Goring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.