We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real english charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Goring

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Goring to your Saves list
The Goring
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beeston Place, Grosvenor Gardens, London SW1W 0JW, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Advance Purchase Offer
Ranked #6 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Oxford
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Real english charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We organised a corporate incentive here. The staff were all very friendly and welcoming and all sounded like they had all had elocution lessons! We were very well looked after from the moment we arrived. The staff take you in to the lounge area to check you in which was a very nice touch. They also get you a tea and coffee if your room isnt ready yet. You are not allowed to use phones or laptops in the lounge or bar so if you are planning to work you might have to sit and relax instead. The lounge gets very busy with people for afternoon tea.

The food was wonderful although our starter was a little undercooked so most people left this. The main course and dessert was wonderful though. We sued the Archive room for pre-dinner drinks and dinner and it has its own private courtyard leading onto the garden.

It was a beautiful room and in face the whole hotel was beautiful. You really did feel like you were a name, not a number and that you were being thoroughly spoilt and looked after. All the rooms we saw were excellent so I cant imagine there is a bad room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear melanie_court,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your recent stay at The Goring.

I am delighted to hear that from the moment you arrived you felt welcomed by our friendly staff who really do enjoy getting to know each of our guests by name. I am so pleased that you enjoyed our Archive Room, it really as a very unique room with the private courtyard leading out to The Goring Garden. It is always lovely to hear that a guest has been able to make the most of so many areas of the hotel.

Many thanks again for taking the time to write and I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon so we can thoroughly spoil you once again.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    74
    22
    12
    5
See reviews for
126
280
35
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

The welcome is warm. The restaurant is welcoming. Room to breathe between tables. Service immaculate. Restaurant food in even great hotels can be dull. No such dullness here. You have got to have the lobster omlette and duck fat chips. There is of course the dish of the day, which was steak and kidney pudding which one of us consumed with relish. The restaurant was full at lunch time so please be sure to book well in advance. you do not have to take out a second mortgage to enjoy the set menu which was also excellent.
Make sure to watch Poirot before you go, the atmosphere is unstintingly grand hotel with the sophisticated march into the twenty first century
Bon appetit Hercule.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear bubbabear 174,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your luncheon in The Goring Dining Room.

I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our warm welcome and found the service to be immaculate. The lobster omelette with duck fat chips is a long standing speciality of The Goring and a firm favourite of mine.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to The Goring hopefully in the not too distant future.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Stayed here for an evening in July, and it won't be the last time! Nothing is too much trouble for the attentive staff, wonderfully comfortable rooms and the perfect location from which to explore the capital. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear HillKent,

Thank you for your "simply excellent" review of your recent stay at The Goring.

I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed both your room and our wonderfully central location. I am particularly pleased to hear that the team here made you feel as though nothing was too much trouble. This truly is the experience we wish all of our guests to have and it is our pleasure to provide this.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future and perhaps for a longer stay to further explore London from your home at The Goring.

With warmest regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I had lunch with auntie when she came back from Russia. The interior looked like an Edwardian place. For lunch I had chirps and smoke salmon sandwich. The chirps was tasty! The salmon was the best salmon I every tasted, it was delicious! Overall, best hotel in London.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear princess0831

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your lunch at The Goring.

I was delighted to read your review of your time with us and thrilled that you consider The Goring the best in London. A Goring Sandwich with delicious chips in our Lounge Bar is one of life’s simple pleasures in my opinion.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel so that you can enjoy another sample of our excellent service and food.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

True traditional luxury on a smaller and quieter scale. Service food ambiance could not be improved . Nothing was better in London than to site in the lounge and sip a good single malt in the evening, could only wish I was allowed to smoke a good cigar - but I suppose we must make allowance for these modern times. Don't miss the sheep.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear jonesev,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your stay at The Goring.

I was thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the traditional luxury which emanates at The Goring. I have to agree that a drink in our Lounge Bar is the perfect way to spend an evening in London. We do have a selection of cigars on offer and, although unfortunately these cannot be enjoyed inside, perhaps you will be able to enjoy one of these in our lovely garden on your next visit.

Many thanks again for your kind words and I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon for you to enjoy many more leisurely evenings in our Lounge Bar.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcudia, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Our first London visit and we were torn between staying here and two other boutique hotels we had heard great things about. At this price range its the little things that make the big difference and all in all we felt we had made the right choice.

First the location: you are literally next door to the Queen, Buckingham Palace is across the road. Yet it is distinctively quiet, a peaceful oasis in what is really a very central part of a huge city. Next the service. Check in was smooth and we loved that everyone knew our name, this is really were the hotel excels, the personal service. It was the right balance, not too nosy and there when you needed it. The concierge was very useful, getting us tickets for a few sold out shows and an excellent recommendation for our private tour of London. My only criticism is the room size. We are seasoned European travellers so we know about small rooms but felt this is where the hotel was let down. I should add that this did not detract from our stay however, which we thoroughly enjoyed. We plan to return to London later this year and this will be a strong contender for a second visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Genevieve S,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your recent stay at The Goring.

I am thrilled you felt that you had made the right choice in staying with us on your first visit to London and I am most pleased to hear that it was the personal service you received made the big difference.

We are very lucky indeed with our location. As you mentioned, we are very central yet the hotel is a lovely quiet haven to unwind in after a busy day exploring the city.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Goring next time you are in London.

With warmest regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

My husband booked lunch today as a surprise as our daughter is in hospital after an operation to remove a brain tumour and we needed a break. From the moment we stepped out of our taxi and were greeted by the doorman who was so cheerful everyone looked after us. The staff are so attentive but not domineering. We were given advice about cocktails, which we had in the garden, to the wines on the impressive wine list. We were shown to our table for lunch and enjoyed a delicious feast. We didn't want the experience to end so we asked if we could have our coffee in the bar. No problem we were told. Whilst walking through we noticed gifts in a cabinet and were taken with the soft cuddly sheep. I asked the young gentleman, Adam who showed us through to our new table the significance of the sheep on his tie and the toys. He explained the history behind this and got us a printout of the story. We asked where we would go to buy one of these to take to the hospital that evening (even though our daughter is 34) he said he would show us when we had finished. Five minutes later he appeared with one of the sheep with the compliments of The Goring Hotel to take to our daughter. What a very special thing to do. We had already promised our daughter that when she was strong and well enough we would treat her to afternoon tea there. We will definitely be back as such a caring special place is hard to find and one to treasure.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Pam P,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your recent visit to The Goring.

I was thrilled to read about how you enjoyed your experience and especially of how the team took such great care and gave you both the personal attention that you could enjoy. It has given me huge pleasure to share your kind words with the team here. I hope your daughter's Baa-bara sheep quickly becomes a firm favourite and we all send our very best wishes for her continued convalescence.

We greatly look forward to welcoming you all back to The Goring soon, once your daughter's recovery is complete.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Goring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goring

Address: Beeston Place, Grosvenor Gardens, London SW1W 0JW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in London
#10 Business Hotel in London
#15 Romantic Hotel in London
#17 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Goring 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having been lovingly refurbished, The Goring has entered a new era, yet retains its time-honoured style and exceptional service. The small, intimate hotel stands out from the crowd as London's last family-owned luxury hotel, as well as its unique Royal Warrant from Her Majesty The Queen and one of the largest private gardens in the capital - an urban oasis. Nestled in fashionable Belgravia, adjacent to Buckingham Palace, this fantastic London location offers guests easy access to Knightsbridge, Mayfair and more - perfect for shopping and theatre, work and play. The hotel's sumptuous bedrooms and suites offer supreme comfort and the finest furnishings, whilst The Dining Room and Bar & Lounge serve the best in British food, irresistible cocktails and an award-winning traditional afternoon tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, LondonMarketing.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Goring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Goring Hotel London
Goring London
The Goring London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Goring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.