We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea " extra special"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Goring

Save Saved
You added The Goring to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Goring
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beeston Place, Grosvenor Gardens, London SW1W 0JW, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer Experience Offer
Ranked #10 of 1,073 hotels in London
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea " extra special"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

On oct 1st 2013 my two daughters and I took afternoon tea at the Goring as part of my daughter's 30th birthday celebrations. The entire experience from arriving at the front door to leaving by the same route was wonderful. Congratulations to all the attentive and helpful staff who may this visit extra special for us and surprised my daughter with a special birthday cake, most unexpected a lovely gesture. Would recommend this to anyone who wants the real Macon when it comes to afternoon tea.

Thank you

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Kaye W,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent celebratory afternoon tea with us.

I am delighted that from the moment you arrived to the moment you sadly departed The Goring you had a truly magical experience. Our team pride themselves on ensuring that all of our guests are cared for and that their time with us is memorable. I am thrilled that we were able to play a small part in your daughter’s birthday celebrations and I hope she enjoyed the rest of her birthday.

From all of us at The Goring we hope that we will be able to welcome you back before too long and thank you so much for your recommendation.

With warmest wishes,


Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    472
    66
    18
    12
    5
See reviews for
101
237
30
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hornchurch
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This hotel is the last thing in luxury, no wonder the Royal Family use it. Princess Kate stayed here the night before her wedding, would I stay here again, yes without a doubt. If you want to have a taste of luxury living then this is the hotel for you

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Ray D,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us.

We are thrilled that you found your stay to be the ultimate in luxury and we are delighted that without a moment’s hesitation you will return to see us again.

All the team at The Goring look forward to welcoming you back and hope that it is before too long.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I've stayed in plenty of great hotels in my day, but The Goring is right up there in terms of service and standard. The rooms are spacious, quiet and luxe; the food and drink served at the hotel if a high quality and fair price.

This IS the place to stay in Central London!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Oknijbub,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us.

We are all thrilled by your comments and delighted that we are on a par with many of the hotels that you have stayed in. It is always lovely to read that a guest has enjoyed every aspect of the hotel from their luxurious bedroom, to the meals served in our Dining Room and Lounge Bar.

The team and I are all looking forward to welcoming you back to The Goring, the place to stay in London.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akron
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Goring for three nights. From the moment we checked in, tired and weary from travel, until they graciously helped us depart, hurriedly and early, we were treated like royalty. Immaculate and comfortable. Location was wonderful. We walked to many attractions, and the on/off bus (a must for first-timers) was just a few blocks away. Hotel bar was small and inviting. Service was at-the-ready for anything you needed. Breakfast was fresh, plentiful with a nice variety. A wonderful place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear sob4510,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that you felt like royalty from the moment you arrived at The Goring. Our team pride themselves on making all of guests feel welcome and perfectly at home from their first step inside the hotel.

It is true we are so lucky with our location. Beeston Place is tucked away making it very peaceful but still only moments from the hustle and bustle of London’s top sites.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to The Goring so that we can take care of everything for you once again.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed in a garden view room which was light in design and of excellent decor.
Service was 5 star and breakfast was excellent.
We stayed overnight prior to a visit to Venice so the fact that the hotel is a little out of the way re West End etc did not matter.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear 40yearsoftravel,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of recent stay with us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed every element of your stay from the staff who looked after you, to your room for the night and of course your breakfast which set you up for your travels to Venice.
We all hope to welcome you back to The Goring before too long and hope that it won’t be for such a whistle stop stay next time.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The Goring is a marvelous choice of hotel in a city with marvelous hotel choices. The warm, friendly and familiar handling by the staff is such a pleasant surprise that is becomes the one thing you take away with you more than even the impression of the stunning property itself. The garden, the busy bar, the "must-do" afternoon tea and the sumptuously decorated rooms (I stayed in #96 - A Splendid Room/Garden View) are quintessentially British and make your stay in London truly special.

Room Tip: Treat yourself to the Splendid or Most Splendid category and a view of the Garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear JRS33414,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that The Goring hotel and team made your stay in London even more special. The team are thrilled by your comments as they pride themselves in ensuring that all of guests feel welcome and most importantly completely at home.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to The Goring to sample some more of our afternoon tea treats and of course for another night of luxury.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The Goring is a splendid hotel, no question about it, and the staff makes the experience extra special. W stayed in a king-bedded room facing the garden in June, and it was so quintessentially British that we are staying at the Goring again this December. For a one night stay we recommend dining in-house if you don't have other plans. Service and welcome are second to none - treat yourself!

Room Tip: A garden view room in the heart of London is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear gariemTexas,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your stay with us in June of this year.
I am delighted that you felt that the service and welcome you received were second to none. Our team are all thrilled that they helped to make your stay every more special.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back to The Goring in December for another treat and the chance for us to take care of you once again.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Goring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goring

Address: Beeston Place, Grosvenor Gardens, London SW1W 0JW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in London
#13 Romantic Hotel in London
#15 Business Hotel in London
#31 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Goring 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having been lovingly refurbished, The Goring has entered a new era, yet retains its time-honoured style and exceptional service. The small, intimate hotel stands out from the crowd as London's last family-owned luxury hotel, as well as its unique Royal Warrant from Her Majesty The Queen and one of the largest private gardens in the capital - an urban oasis. Nestled in fashionable Belgravia, adjacent to Buckingham Palace, this fantastic London location offers guests easy access to Knightsbridge, Mayfair and more - perfect for shopping and theatre, work and play. The hotel's sumptuous bedrooms and suites offer supreme comfort and the finest furnishings, whilst The Dining Room and Bar & Lounge serve the best in British food, irresistible cocktails and an award-winning traditional afternoon tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, LondonMarketing.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your The Goring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Goring Hotel London
Goring London
The Goring London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Goring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.