We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow What can I say about this hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Goring

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Goring to your Saves list
The Goring
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beeston Place, Grosvenor Gardens, London SW1W 0JW, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Advance Purchase Offer
Ranked #11 of 1,062 Hotels in London
New Jersey
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Wow What can I say about this hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This hotel has fantastic service. it ranks high in the best hotels I have stayed in. From arrival with the attentive door man, to butlers, receptionists. The hotel is very sparkling clean. The room smells clean and has great toiletries. Large white fluffy towels cleaned each day along with crispy clean bedding. Breakfast was fantastic a good choice and cooked to perfection. One of London's Best

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear NJBrit,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay at The Goring.

I am delighted that you found the service to be fantastic from the moment you arrived at the hotel. It is true Matron runs a very tight ship and ensures everything throughout the hotel is sparkling clean! There is nothing better than a huge fluffy towel after a long soak in one of our baths before slipping into crispy sheets.

We hope we will be welcome you back before too long to sample Chef’s delicious breakfasts and let us take care of you.

With warm regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    70
    20
    12
    5
See reviews for
114
256
32
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SUFFOLK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Lunching here with friends was excellent. We arrived early to secure a table overlooking a well maintained Garden enjoying a fine glass of wine and nibbles whilst we decided on lunch? The Goring Hotel still maintains its first class standard and atmosphere. A must for ladies that lunch!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear PASSIONINDIA,

Thank you very much for your fabulous review of your luncheon at The Goring

I am delighted that you had an excellent experience with your friends and were able to overlook our garden whilst perusing our luncheon menu.

We hope that you and your ladies that lunch will be back for another first class luncheon before too long.

With warm wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Me and my boyfriend went for dinner here before our theatre showing. The theatre menu was better value for money and the food was absolutely perfect - as were the cocktails.

The interior of the restaurant was gorgeous and the bar area was classy and cosy.

The staff were very tentative to our needs.

Would go again although save it for special occassions - the bill for two on pre theatre dinner was around £150

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear SezPhez,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent Pre Theatre Dinner and cocktails at The Goring.

I am delighted that you loved our Dining Room and found the Lounge Bar to be classy and cosy. There is something so relaxing about sipping a cocktail by the fire before sampling Chef’s delights in The Dining Room.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another special occasion and hope that it is before too long.

With warm wishes,


Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We held our 25th anniversary dinner for 37 people in the Archive Room at The Goring Hotel. The service we received from the private event team in advance of the dinner was superb, nothing was too much trouble.

The team on the evening made all our guest feel cared for and special - they were wonderful.

The menu, which we were able to select form a range of available options and the wines were just superb.

The room itself was a delight helping to make it a very special evening.

Definitely recommend to anyone planning a special event.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear seanpmoran,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent 25th anniversary celebration in our Archive Room.

I am delighted that the Private Dining Team looked after you and that you received excellent service. Lara and Katie are brilliant at ensuring that everything is in place prior to the even to ensure it all runs smoothly on the evening.

I am thrilled that you wouldn’t hesitate to recommend The Goring and the Archive Room for a special occasion and we all hope that we will be able to welcome you back before too long.

With warm regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Following a seminar in their function room we were treated to dinner. A fabulous meal with excellent service and fantastic wine. Moet 2004 to wet our appetites, followed by a mackerel starter, then Pork belly and truffle mashed potatoes and a passion fruit mouse to finish. All very well executed. highly recommended, even to just pop in for a drink on the terrace!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear jonesco1,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent dinner in our Archive Room and your recommendation.

I am delighted that you had a fabulous meal accompanied by fabulous service. Our Private Dining Team pride themselves in ensuring that our guests are well looked after and want for nothing. I have passed your compliments on to Chef and the brigade is thrilled that you relished every morsel.

We hope that you will return for a drink on our terrace before too long especially in this sunny weather.

With warm regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Had a wonderful afternoon tea at the Goring!
Boo at the front door was just amazing, we should have people like him everywhere and his nickname should be Mr Happy. He made my day. Funny, polite, helpful.

The afternoon tea was lovely, absolutely loved it!

THanks again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear LorieParis,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent Afternoon Tea at The Goring.

I am delighted that you had a wonderful afternoon with us and that Mo was on hand to look after you. He never stops smiling and his thrilled that you have mentioned him personally.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to The Goring before too long and that next time you spend the night with us.

With warm wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our family of four just returned from a 5 night stay at the Goring Hotel over Easter Break. We had a deluxe king room on the top floor, where 2 adults and 2 toddlers (ages 5 and 3) had plenty of room to move around. While the room itself is not big (this is London!), the hotel more than makes up for it in every other aspect. From the moment we arrived, we were directed to the cozy lounge, where we warmed up with hot chocolate, amazing biscuits, and coffee while we checked in. The staff at the front desk was efficient and so pleasant!

The true stars of the place, however, are definitely the concierges and the doormen in the front!! I would like to recognize Mr. Andrews and Mr. Patrick at Concierge - who not only steered us right with every single recommendation (restaurants, transportation, even allowing us to purchase fast track tickets to attractions like the Tower of London from the hotel so we didn't have to stand in lines at the ticket booths in the freezing cold!), but I would be remiss if I didn't note that Mr. Andrews was also able to help me procure MUCH desired tickets to see Highclere Castle (Downton Abbey). The concierge's desk was responsive to all of my requests, inquiries and emails prior to our trip and it really made my trip so special! I have stayed at so many hotels in my lifetime and never really understood how vital a great concierge could be!! They also remembered that I was celebrating my 10th anniversary and placed a congratulatory card with a box of chocolate!

Every day when we returned from sight-seeing, it truly felt like coming home. The gentlemen at the door (Mr. Mo, Mr. Mariusz and Mr. Peter specifically) made us feel so welcomed! They were such a pleasure to talk to, they also had time to play with our kids, and generally provided flawless and excellent service. My kids are still asking for Mr. Mo... :) I am also told that Mr. Peter has been with the hotel for 47 years! That fact in itself should be enough of a testament to how wonderful the hotel is, and the type of establishment that it is!!!

Finally, the hotel is located a block away from Victoria Station, which is about as central as it gets. We were able to take the underground, as well as buses to different locations all over town! It's a quiet street so you don't notice any street noise from the rooms, but it is so conveniently located! There are some great restaurants in the area (walking distance, even without strollers) and I can't imagine a more perfect location for tourists like us. From the hotel, you can walk over to public transportation, Buckingham Palace, or Hyde Park... we felt very safe and comfortable walking around!

One last comment - we were there over Easter break and the hotel provided wonderful touches like Lindt chocolate in adorable little egg crates in our room, AND they had a Easter Egg Hunt in the garden with a costumed bunny "Hopkins". Hopkins also got to break a giant chocolate egg (like a huge pinata) and the kids all scrambled for chocolate. So much fun! Finally, they passed out certificates for the kids stating that they completed the Egg Hunt, adults were served mimosas and hot cross buns, and of course the kids got to keep and eat all that chocolate! The hotel also gave my children two plush sheep to take home, which I am happy to report that they both adore!

It's all these lovely little touches that make the Goring Hotel stand above the rest of the hotels in London and worldwide. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone planning on visiting London.
Location is great, service is the best I have ever seen, room service and lounge food/drinks were delicious, and overall, just one of the best hotels there is!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Mary_S_F77,

Wow - thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent Easter Break at The Goring.

We are thrilled to be recognised as one of the best hotels there is and that everything during your stay was perfect. Our Concierge team are second to none in London and are brilliant at recommending the best London has to offer as well as little gems that aren’t so well known. I am delighted that John was able to arrange a trip to Highclere Castle and I hope that the trip was everything you imagined and of course a whole lot more. I have passed on your comments to them and they are thrilled to pieces to have received special mentions in your review.

The Easter Egg Hunt is one of the highlights of The Goring calendar and we love to hear that our guests have taken part and had a ball. It truly is a Chocolate Fest! Hopkins will of course return to the garden next Easter for another foray of chocolate treats.

Thank you very much again we are all blown away by your review and hope that you and your family will be back to celebrate your next anniversary if not before.
With warm wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Goring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goring

Address: Beeston Place, Grosvenor Gardens, London SW1W 0JW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in London
#16 Romantic Hotel in London
#17 Business Hotel in London
#21 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Goring 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having been lovingly refurbished, The Goring has entered a new era, yet retains its time-honoured style and exceptional service. The small, intimate hotel stands out from the crowd as London's last family-owned luxury hotel, as well as its unique Royal Warrant from Her Majesty The Queen and one of the largest private gardens in the capital - an urban oasis. Nestled in fashionable Belgravia, adjacent to Buckingham Palace, this fantastic London location offers guests easy access to Knightsbridge, Mayfair and more - perfect for shopping and theatre, work and play. The hotel's sumptuous bedrooms and suites offer supreme comfort and the finest furnishings, whilst The Dining Room and Bar & Lounge serve the best in British food, irresistible cocktails and an award-winning traditional afternoon tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Orbitz, Splendia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Escapio, Despegar.com, LondonMarketing.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Goring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Goring Hotel London
Goring London
The Goring London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Goring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.