We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical and Truly Special Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Goring

Save Saved
You added The Goring to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Goring
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beeston Place, Grosvenor Gardens, London SW1W 0JW, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Advance Purchase Offer
Ranked #9 of 1,054 Hotels in London
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Magical and Truly Special Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I love this hotel! Not only is the location in London amazing, the history and staff at this hotel make it truly magical. It is a great boutique hotel and offers both modern amenities and old world history in one. The restaurants are also very special, especially high tea. I can't recommend the hotel and staff enough. Once you meet John, Patrick, Maraus and Mo you are part of their family. I hope I can stay at this hotel every time I visit London. I travel all over the world and this is one of my favorite hotels.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear skikatieski,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of The Goring and it was wonderful to welcome you back.

I am delighted that you love The Goring and feel that the history surrounding the hotel and the team are what makes the hotel a truly magical place. John, Patrick, Mariusz and Mo certainly provide the warmest of welcomes and they are all thrilled that they made you feel truly at home and part of the furniture.

Wow what an accolade to be one of your favourite hotels in the world! We all hope that we will be able to welcome you back to The Goring before too long and that we will be the only place that you stay in London.

With warm wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    68
    20
    12
    5
See reviews for
113
252
31
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I had the good fortune of spending one splendid night at The Goring - the first night of our trip to London. We arrived on a transcontinental flight from Canada. Though we showed up at the hotel a couple hours before official check-in, we were fortunate enough to have been shown to our room immediately. What luck!! A beautiful marble bath tub awaited in the luxurious bathroom. We filled it with steaming water and bubbles and soaked away the long journey, before crawling into the heavenly bed for a kip.
Every little detail was considered in the room. We particularly enjoyed the light settings (ohhh! was our favourite), and of course the adorable sheep footstool!

After a walk around the neighbourhood later that afternoon, we returned to a buzzing and lively lounge for a drink. Amazing people watching and awesome vibe. Loved how the bar had such a scene and clearly attracts young and old.

We shared some yummy bar snacks ( I always judge a bar by the quality of its bar snacks), and a sandwich, before retiring to our room for a 14 hour sleep!!

An iconic London hotel - worth the splurge for your next trip!!

AB

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Amandabblakley,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay at The Goring.

I am delighted that you were able to relax and unwind the moment you arrived at the hotel following your transatlantic flight. It is always lovely to hear that our guests have enjoyed their room and noticed the little details like the different light settings. Oh and of course our sheep, I hope you also saw Baabaraa in the Bar during your even drinks and nibbles.

We hope that the rest of your trip was just as enjoyable and look forward to welcoming you back to The Goring before too long.

With warm wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stock, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We had a weekend at the Goring while attending a number of events in London. It wasn’t our first visit to this hotel, but it has been a number of years since we were last here. We stayed in a deluxe room (106) which was nice and spacious – had a good king sized bed, lovely bed linen and a black marble bathroom (with free-standing roll-yop bath). The towels were huge and plentiful (6 large bath sheets plus 6 hand towels), but toiletries were Molton Brown, which figures on the bottom end of my own personal “luxury brand” scale (I prefer Penhaligon, Asprey or Floris) – but this is a tiny, insignificant point…Room amenities were as expected - a flat screen TV, iPod dock and DAB radio and the offer of a tea and coffee making trayif you required it. But the real reason to stay at the Goring is of course to be on the receiving end of flawless service – such a great team, we really felt like family by the end of our weekend! No matter what we needed – a cup of tea, a late night supper or a conversation about the terrible rugby result – our needs were met with friendly, faultless, polished, professional service – fabulous! For tourists the hotel location is exceptional and for people looking to be outrageously pampered you need go nowhere else in London! Loved it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear quin-i-bog,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent weekend stay at The Goring.

I am delighted that you received flawless service from all of our team. They are what truly make The Goring so unique from other London hotels. Our team are thrilled by your comments and are chuffed to pieces that they are the reason you had such a fabulous time with us.

From all of us at The Goring we hope that this time it won’t be so long before you return for another weekend of outrageously pampered luxury.

With best wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We decided to splurge on our trip to London and I am so happy we did. First of all, the location of this hotel couldn't be better. It is just a block away from the Victoria train station. One block the other way is Buckingham Palace. To say the service was impeccable is an understatement. We were greeted immediately upon arriving and taken to the lounge to wait while we were checked in. We were greeted by name each and every time we entered/exited the hotel. They take immense pride in their job and it shows. The rooms were fairly large (by European standards) and this was by far the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. We found out that we had brought the wrong electricity converter and were given the proper one immediately. We had drinks one night in the lounge and had such a wonderful time greeting and visiting with the staff. Yes, the prices are higher than most, but you definitely get a once-in-a-lifetime experience that we will always remember. Thank you, Goring staff!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear candymr_10,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your stay with us last month.

It is true we are so lucky with our location with some of London’s iconic sights just around the corner. I am delighted that from the moment you entered the hotel you received impeccable service and that you couldn’t fault the team. Our team pride themselves on recognising all of our guests and being able to address them by name. It is always lovely to see this and also the pride they take in their jobs being acknowledged.

We are all thrilled that you felt that you had a once in a lifetime experience with us and we do hope that you will return to visit us before too long. It doesn’t just have to be once in a lifetime!

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Myself and my wife dined here before we went to the theatre and i have to admit the food was superb. Every little morsel of food that we ate was absoloutly fabulous and was well worth the demanding price tag however the only let down was the service. Everything seemed to take an age to happen which should not be the case in a venue of this calibre. There seemed to be a distinct lack of management front of house but due to the food being so exceptional i would still highly reccomend The Goring and will return.

Room Tip: Eat in the restaurant! On this occasion we only dined but have stayed a few years ago.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Andrew H,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent Pre Theatre Dinner at The Goring.

I am delighted that every morsel of your meal was absolutely fabulous and that you couldn’t fault it. I have passed your comments on to Chef and his brigade who are chuffed to pieces.

I am however very sorry that your evening was let down by the service in The Dining Room. It is very unusual for me to receive poor comments about the service in The Dining Room as every day I receive letters praising the team in there. We obviously got something very wrong on this occasion and I have addressed this with our Food and Beverage Manager.

I do hope that despite the disappointment that we will be able to welcome you back to The Goring for another delicious feast.

With warm regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Dropped in to the restaurant as needed to be at The Goring for a later business event. I was asked my name when greeted, and all staff referred to me politely by name throughout. The fixed-price menu has a good choice, with a couple of uplift options and side dishes also available. The whitebait were plump and superbly cooked. The Goosanargh duck leg falling off the bone on a bed of creamed potato and petit poi. The side of parsnips were soft and honeyed. For pudding, I chose the cheese board - a superb collection of British cheeses served correctly (room temperature). Finishing off with a green tea and chocolates - all excellent. Why not 5 stars? Nothing to do with the place itself - just that the clientele make it seem very "old man's club", which is a pity.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Clivel_98,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent visit to our Dining Room prior to your business event.

I am delighted that you felt extremely well looked after and that the food was faultless. It is always lovely to hear from guests that have enjoyed every morsel of their meal and that is was as it should be.
We all look forward t
o welcoming you back to The Goring before too long and promise the cheese board will be just as superb.

With warm regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

A very special occasion led to stay at the Goring. We knew of its reputation for luxury which is indeed well deserved, but what surpassed our expectations was the amazing level of service. Perhaps because this is still a family owned hotel, everyone was so helpful and could not do enough for us and to make our stay pleasurable. Staff were also so relaxed and genuinely friendly. Our room was superb and surprisingly quiet, and our family lunch in the restaurant was excellent. The bar and lounge areas are busy and informal, and service immediate. Alas, we are now back to the real world but the memory of this visit will always stay with us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear royslater999,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay at The Goring.

I am delighted you chose to stay with us for your special occasion and also that your expectations of the hotel were surpassed. Our team pride themselves on ensuring that our guests are all truly well cared for and that they have a pleasurable stay. It is always lovely to hear that a guest has noticed this and felt that the service they received was better than they could possibly have imagined.

I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to The Goring before too long and that we won’t just be a memory.

With warm wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Goring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goring

Address: Beeston Place, Grosvenor Gardens, London SW1W 0JW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in London
#15 Romantic Hotel in London
#15 Business Hotel in London
#25 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Goring 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having been lovingly refurbished, The Goring has entered a new era, yet retains its time-honoured style and exceptional service. The small, intimate hotel stands out from the crowd as London's last family-owned luxury hotel, as well as its unique Royal Warrant from Her Majesty The Queen and one of the largest private gardens in the capital - an urban oasis. Nestled in fashionable Belgravia, adjacent to Buckingham Palace, this fantastic London location offers guests easy access to Knightsbridge, Mayfair and more - perfect for shopping and theatre, work and play. The hotel's sumptuous bedrooms and suites offer supreme comfort and the finest furnishings, whilst The Dining Room and Bar & Lounge serve the best in British food, irresistible cocktails and an award-winning traditional afternoon tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splendia, Venere, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , getaroom.com, Otel, Agoda, LondonMarketing.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Goring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Goring Hotel London
Goring London
The Goring London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Goring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.