We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Goring

Save Saved
You added The Goring to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Goring
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beeston Place, Grosvenor Gardens, London SW1W 0JW, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Advance Purchase Offer
Ranked #8 of 1,073 hotels in London
new york
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The Goring is a truly special hotel---yes, yes, it was the hotel the now Duchess of Cambridge stayed in the night before her wedding---but the second you are in the hotel you understand why that happened. The staff from the doormen, to the front desk, to the bar staff, to the restaurant staff, to housekeeping are fantastic. And they all seem truly happy with their jobs and eager to share information about London or details about the hotel.

The rooms are beautiful. There is the largest garden in central London behind the hotel. The bar and tea room are always full, with locals as well as guests which somehow makes you feel a part of London. I have stayed at most of the great five star hotels in London and the Goring Hotel ranks in my mind as one of the top two hotels I have ever stayed at in London over two decades. I will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear lenorenewyork,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay at The Goring

The whole team are thrilled to pieces with your description that they are all fantastic. They all pride themselves on ensuring that our guests feel comfortable and well looked after and your acknowledgment of this has definitely bought a smile to their faces.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to London and to The Goring and thank you very much for the accolade of being one of your top two hotels in London.

With warm wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    481
    67
    18
    12
    5
See reviews for
108
240
31
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We have just spent a night at this lovely hotel and cannot praise it enough, the staff were attentive and helpful, the room furnished to a very high standard and spotless, the breakfast although expensive was delicious and the location of the hotel is excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and are looking forward to coming back soon....well done The Goring!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Alison S,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay at The Goring

I am delighted that you enjoyed every part of your time with us from your room to the food in our Dining Room. It is always a joy to read that the team played a huge part in your stay and were there for all of your needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Goring and hope that it is before too long.

With warm wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

we used to stay here always... it was wonderful... however the last time we stayed the room was very run down and dirty.... they didn't take into consideration that we had our son with us and stuffed us in a tiny room even though we were there for only one night arriving late and leaving early in the morning and on a package that offered an upgrade.... the bath and the sink did not drain properly.... at all... there was standing water in this tiny bathroom.... they didn't really seem to care.... they did nothing to help the situation.... it was just really a bad experience.... and when you spend that kind of money for 14 hours in a hotel room .... gosh one should enjoy quality service and facilities.... we were going to stay there for a week in March but canceled our reservation after this ridiculous experience.....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear ticket2ryde,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay back in December.

I am sorry that your most recent stay was not as you had previously experienced at The Goring. Please rest assured that we did upgrade you to one of our Deluxe rooms from one of our Delightful King bedded rooms and I am sorry that this was not communicated to you on arrival. We do have a small issue with the carpet in you room in that it is too good for a hotel bedroom. The silk content is so high that when hovered it can often look dirty when it isn’t. As a result of many comments I am delighted to confirm that the carpet is due to be replaced in the next few months to remove the issue.

I can assure you that despite your impression our team would have been very concerned about your sink and bath not draining properly. We wish we had known about it before you checked out of the hotel so that the problems could have rectified while you were with us.

We do hope that you will reconsider not staying with us again and please discuss your accommodation needs with Oliver and his teams so that you feel relaxed and have plenty of space for you and your family.

With kind regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My husband surprised me with a night at The Goring for my birthday, and what a pleasant surprised! A truly beautiful hotel, stunning decor, comfortable relaxing rooms. Breakfast was delicious. We had a wonderful time and would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear rebecca11767,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent surprise stay at The Goring for your birthday.

We were thrilled to be part of your surprise birthday celebrations and delighted that you found the hotel to be beautiful with comfortable rooms for you to relax in.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another delicious breakfast and hope that we will see you before your next birthday.

With warm wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed in the Goring for two nights in January. The hotel was fabulous in every way - decor, room, facilities, food were all fantastic. The staff were friendly and professional and couldn't do enough for us, without being at all pretentious. The Goring has somehow maintained the intimacy and ambience of a family run hotel and at the same time lived up to it's reputation as one of London's most high end hotels. We can't speak highly enough of our stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Yvonne M,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your weekend at The Goring

I am delighted that you found the hotel to be fabulous in every way and that the team couldn’t have been more helpful during your time with us. It is always a pleasure to read that our guests enjoyed the food, décor and their room whilst they are with us and our team are chuffed to pieces by your praise.

We do hope that you will return to see us again soon so that you will be able to have another perfect stay.

With warm wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I recently stayed for 4 nights in this intimate and sophisticated gem of a hotel during a quickly planned trip to London. From the moment I arrived until I departed, everything met or exceeded my expectations. I suggest you opt for a rate that includes breakfast and wifi as I did - the neighborhood didn't appear to offer much in the way of dining. The breakfasts were delicious as was the generous cookie plate that I ordered each evening after returning from a long day of sight-seeing.

The staff's attentiveness was first-rate, as was the decor and condition of my room. The entire property seemed spotless and I noticed very little wear and tear though I read elsewhere on this site that they're soon to be replacing the carpet in one of the lounges that looks a little tired. The complimentary shoe shine is a great touch. The hotel is located in a relatively quiet pocket near Buckingham palace, which made sleeping easier and a block away from the Victoria subway station for quick access to other locations.

I was traveling solo, but this would be a great hotel for a couple to enjoy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear nycsmf,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay at The Goring.

I am thrilled that throughout your stay we either met or exceeded your expectations of what staying with us would be like. We are all delighted that you found the hotel and staff to be first rate through and through.

We do hope that you will be back to London before too long to start the day with one of Chef’s breakfasts and to have a night time treat before you retire for the night.

With warm regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, FL
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I stayed for a week, while in London for business. The hotel is truly a relaxing oasis in the middle of a bustling section of London. Very personal approach to supporting customers saying at their establishment....from the check in welcome thru the entire stay.

For business traveler, the Internet service was good while working from room.....

Lounge was a relaxing way to spend the end of a day for a quiet drink and quality food.

Hotel was was walking distance to local business destination and Victoria Station for trains to reach meeting points.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear PBTrav,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us while you were in London.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the personal approach of the team during your stay and that you found the hotel to be a relaxing oasis within bustling Belgravia. We are so lucky with our location with the highlights of London only moments from the hotel.

We hope that you will stay with us on your next business trip to London and that you will enjoy another relaxing drink in our Lounge.

With warm regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Goring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goring

Address: Beeston Place, Grosvenor Gardens, London SW1W 0JW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in London
#13 Romantic Hotel in London
#15 Business Hotel in London
#24 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Goring 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having been lovingly refurbished, The Goring has entered a new era, yet retains its time-honoured style and exceptional service. The small, intimate hotel stands out from the crowd as London's last family-owned luxury hotel, as well as its unique Royal Warrant from Her Majesty The Queen and one of the largest private gardens in the capital - an urban oasis. Nestled in fashionable Belgravia, adjacent to Buckingham Palace, this fantastic London location offers guests easy access to Knightsbridge, Mayfair and more - perfect for shopping and theatre, work and play. The hotel's sumptuous bedrooms and suites offer supreme comfort and the finest furnishings, whilst The Dining Room and Bar & Lounge serve the best in British food, irresistible cocktails and an award-winning traditional afternoon tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Otel, LondonMarketing.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your The Goring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Goring Hotel London
Goring London
The Goring London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Goring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.