We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and relaxin hotel...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Goring

Save Saved
You added The Goring to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Goring
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beeston Place, Grosvenor Gardens, London SW1W 0JW, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer Experience Offer
Ranked #10 of 1,073 hotels in London
Palm Beach, FL
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great staff and relaxin hotel...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I stayed for a week, while in London for business. The hotel is truly a relaxing oasis in the middle of a bustling section of London. Very personal approach to supporting customers saying at their establishment....from the check in welcome thru the entire stay.

For business traveler, the Internet service was good while working from room.....

Lounge was a relaxing way to spend the end of a day for a quiet drink and quality food.

Hotel was was walking distance to local business destination and Victoria Station for trains to reach meeting points.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear PBTrav,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us while you were in London.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the personal approach of the team during your stay and that you found the hotel to be a relaxing oasis within bustling Belgravia. We are so lucky with our location with the highlights of London only moments from the hotel.

We hope that you will stay with us on your next business trip to London and that you will enjoy another relaxing drink in our Lounge.

With warm regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    470
    65
    18
    12
    5
See reviews for
101
238
30
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

What can i say other than wow,amazing gorgeous spendid etc.
This Hotel is the best I have stayed in.
From the moment you step out of the taxi by the entrance you are treated like royalty. It now has the Royal Warrant and deserves it. The Duchess of Cambridge and her family stayed here before her marriage to Prince William.
The reception staff from the concierge ( very helpful gentleman in the bowler hat at the door) to the check in and out staff were very attentive and welcoming beyond anything i have experienced before.
As for our 'Spendid Room' as it was called it was indeed spendid, it was large and had a patio/balcony with table and chairs to enjoy the view of the garden (unfortunately it was very cold so we didnt use it) We had an enormous bed and the bathroom was wonderful with a full size bath 2 wash basins and a seperate walk in power shower.Unusual TV arrangement it appeared out of the dressing table at a touch of a button. In fact everything was controlled by several button panels including the curtains and lights and heating.There was only one thing missing a trouser press unless it was there and i missed it. Unusual novelties were the sheep, the sheep footstool was lovely and the small sheep on the bed was cute.
The breakfast was delicious freshly prepared and an extensive menu and the waiting staff were very attentive.
We had drinks and lunch in the Bar which was excellent.
This hotel is a perfect location for the use of the Victoria station and underground plus its a short taxi ride into the West End and Buckingham Palace is very close as are many of the attractions which London is famous for.
There are several theatres within walking distance and I can recommend Billy Elliot on stage.

Room Tip: We had Room 38 beautiful, first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Jules099,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay in Room 38.

I am delighted that from the moment Mariusz opened the door to you, you felt welcome and well looked after. I am sorry that it was too chilly for you to make the most of the balcony but I am thrilled that you loved your room especially the sheep. Our Concierge team are also on hand to press your clothes for you in our valet thus a trouser press was missing from you room.

I do hope that your delicious breakfast fuelled you up to tackle the chilly London weather that we have been experiencing of late. It is so difficult to know what to choose from the breakfast menu it all makes my mouth water.

We hope that you will be back to The Goring before too long and of course the sheep will be on the bed.

With warm wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire Moorlands
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stunning venue for a special occasion. Very attentive and helpful staff. Food was delicious and extremely well-presented. What a way to spend an afternoon. Great ambience and not pretentious. Would recommend this to anyone who wants to be pampered whilst having a cup of tea (plus sandwiches, scones and cakes) and a glass of Bollinger. Marvellous!.

Room Tip: Just had afternoon tea
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Mike_from_Staffs,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent Afternoon Tea with us.

I am delighted that you felt that The Goring was a stunning hotel and a wonderful way to spend the afternoon. The team in the Lounge pride themselves on ensuring that all of our guests feel relaxed but also pampered and well cared for during their time with us. Also Ian and his team in the pastry produce such an array of delights it is difficult to know where to start.

We do hope that you will return for another pampering session before too long and we are thrilled that you chose to celebrate such an occasion with us.

With warm regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

It always amazes that a London hotel can be so personal. A welcome back by name and met so warmly at the door. This is hospitality at its best and we were treated like a royal on the very same day the the hotel received the Royal Warrant, the very first hotel ever to do so. We were upgraded to a superb room with a view of the garden. The silk lining on the walls is a replica of that which used to be found in the royal carriages. This is our favourite London hotel.

Room Tip: The silk lining in room 99 is a replica of the silk that used to be found in the Royal carriages. Gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear DanRB,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent return to The Goring.

We were all thrilled to see you again and I am delighted that you enjoyed the hospitality that you received during your stay. It is always a joy to read that our guests have enjoyed their rooms. Alex and his team in the garden work tirelessly throughout the year to ensure that the garden always looks at its best and many of our guests enjoy nothing more than waking up to this tranquil view.

We all hope to welcome you back to your favourite London hotel before too long.

With warm regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Wonderful, luxury, old world elegance. A fabulous place to relax and have a drink at the end of the day, and just a few minutes from Buckingham Palace. We had dinner there, the food was superb but the service was outstanding, it cannot be faulted, nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear LondonHolidaygal,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of our Lounge Bar and Dining Room.

I am delighted that you enjoy coming to The Goring to relax and switch off are a busy day. Brian and his team in the Lounge Bar are always on hand to welcome guests and to ensure they are served their favourite tipple. It is also so hard to choose what to have in The Dining Room and I am thrilled your enjoyed your selection and were well looked after in there as well.

We do hope that you will return before too long to indulge in some luxury and old world elegance.

With warm regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed here last year but haven't had a chance to write a review. I have stayed in several London hotels but none that are held in such high esteem as The Goring. I had high expectations and those were exceeded.

Service was excellent without being intrusive, and The Concierge was extremely helpful; I was travelling with my sister who wanted to visit a hairdresser and they came up with a list of suggested places with pricing, booked the appointment and delivered a hand written note to the room confirming the arrangements.

Breakfast was the big highlight for me; incredible choices and prompt service.

Only slight downside is the room was starting to show its age. I believe they are currently updating these on a rolling basis though.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear damonaustralia,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your stay with us last year.

I am delighted that we exceeded your high expectations and that the service you received was excellent but did not intrude on your time with us. Big John and his Concierge team is a fountain of knowledge and I am thrilled that they advised you on the perfect hairdresser.

We are now in the final wave of refurbishing the rooms at The Goring and once these are finished I do hope that you are your sister will return to see the hotel in all of its glory.

With warm regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My christmas pressie from hubby. A night in this splendid hotel - and it couldnt have been better! The staff made if for me - they were all so lovely and welcoming. The hotel is beautiful and classic, and very intimate. Having braved snowy conditions to get there - it was lovely to be welcomed into the bar area with a roaring fire - a lovely atmosphere - people having afternoon tea (which I am definately going back for). Breakfast was outstanding too. For once we seem to have found somewhere where the customer service is second to none. I would definately love to go back and also try the restaurant - which I am sure is just as fantastic as the rest of it. A fantastic experience.

Room Tip: Garden view if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear TrolliedDolly,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay at The Goring and I am delighted that you had a fantastic experience with us. Our team pride themselves in ensuring that our guests enjoyed every part of their stay and are thrilled to hear that they are what made your stay.

We were thrilled that you made it through the snow and that the fire in the bar warmed you up after your journey. I hope your breakfast fuelled you up for your journey home and Chef is delighted that you described it as outstanding. Please do come back to sample more of what our Dining Room has to offer and of course Afternoon Tea in the Lounge.

We look forward to welcoming you back and hope that you had a safe journey home.

With best wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Goring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goring

Address: Beeston Place, Grosvenor Gardens, London SW1W 0JW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in London
#15 Business Hotel in London
#15 Romantic Hotel in London
#33 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Goring 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having been lovingly refurbished, The Goring has entered a new era, yet retains its time-honoured style and exceptional service. The small, intimate hotel stands out from the crowd as London's last family-owned luxury hotel, as well as its unique Royal Warrant from Her Majesty The Queen and one of the largest private gardens in the capital - an urban oasis. Nestled in fashionable Belgravia, adjacent to Buckingham Palace, this fantastic London location offers guests easy access to Knightsbridge, Mayfair and more - perfect for shopping and theatre, work and play. The hotel's sumptuous bedrooms and suites offer supreme comfort and the finest furnishings, whilst The Dining Room and Bar & Lounge serve the best in British food, irresistible cocktails and an award-winning traditional afternoon tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splendia, Amex, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, LondonMarketing.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your The Goring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Goring Hotel London
Goring London
The Goring London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Goring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.