We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Goring simply marvellous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Goring

Save Saved
You added The Goring to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Goring
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beeston Place, Grosvenor Gardens, London SW1W 0JW, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer Experience Offer
Ranked #10 of 1,073 hotels in London
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The Goring simply marvellous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My husband booked a night in this fabulous hotel as a surprise. At first I was a little apprehensive as I had imagined the hotel to be stuffy and pretentious. How wrong I was, from the moment we checked in we were made to feel welcome and although there were a lot of business people in the lounge etc we fitted right in. The room was no 50 and it was an Art Deco delight, blacks and golds and a beautiful marble bathroom. The bed was so comfy and just simple touches as the bed being turned down whilst we were at dinner and the slippers being laid out next to our bed was so thoughtful. The silk curtains are to die for as are the silk walls! We ate in the hotel restaurant, £49.50 each for three courses and wow the food was amazing a real taste sensation. We recommend the lobster omelette to start, beef Wellington and the chocolate mousse. The bill came to £175 for the two of us but well worth every penny. We left our bags with the concierge during the day we checked out which saved us trekking around London with bags.
On our return we had drinks in the lounge bar and were served complimentary canapés which were again delicious.
The hotel is ideally situated for Buckingham palace, WIcked theatre show and we walked to Harrods from the hotel. Victoria tube station is a five minute walk also.
The staff were so friendly especially the doorman from Poland I have forgotten his name but he was helpful and truly seemed interested in your life.
We hope to return again next year and can see why Kate would book this delightful hotel for the night before her wedding.

Room Tip: Number 50 also make sure you use the ladies powder room on the ground floor, stunning wallpaper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear bailey-newton,

Thank you very much for fabulous review of your recent stay at The Goring.

I am delighted that from the moment you arrived you lost your apprehensions about staying with us and were made to feel welcome. Our team pride themselves on making sure our guests feel at home and Mariusz is thrilled to have been specially mentioned by you.

I couldn’t think of a better choice for dinner, lobster omelette followed by beef Wellington with chocolate mousse to round it off. Just writing about it is making my mouth water!

Myself and the team look forward to welcoming you back to The Goring and hope that it will be before next year.

With warm wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    468
    65
    18
    12
    5
See reviews for
101
237
30
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Great Falls, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This gem of a hotel is not to be missed. The attention to detail is wonderful. We called ahead of time and the conceirge Jonathan was so kind to get us tickets to War Horse. The seats were incredible!! The show magnifiscent.
Make sure to make time to have a proper tea. Simply wonderful. The hotel is very clean and just feels like a home away from home.

Room Tip: All rooms are truly magnificent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Patricia4488,

Thank you very much for fabulous review of your recent stay at The Goring.

We are all delighted to be highlighted as a ‘gem of a hotel not to be missed’ and are thrilled that you had another wonderful stay with us. John and his team on Concierge are brilliant at ensuring our guests get the best seats in the house and as usual they didn't disappoint.

We look forward welcoming you both back to The Goring; your home away from home in London!

With warm wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I have been going to this hotel for our association meetings for many years now. The service is really good, old fashiond and very polite. This is a hotel that caters for the Royal Family being just a short walk from Buckingham Palace. If you remember it was used and featured for the Royal wedding. The head doorman tells me has been there his entire working life and is now in his 70's still going strong and as helpful as ever.
I have never stayed in the hotel as I live not far from Victoria where the hotel is located so can't comment on the rooms but if they are anything like the public rooms they will be superb. If you want to enjoy good old fashioned service in a traditional 5 star setting with lovely food and attentive service this must be one of the best hotels in London. Small and friendly I imagine many guests come back time and time again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear white100,

Thank you very much for your wonderful view of your times with us at The Goring.

I am thrilled that you and your association return to The Goring time and time again because you love our service and our public rooms.

We do hope that we can remedy the issue that you have never stepped upstairs and seen our delightful rooms. I am sure you will not be disappointed with an overnight stay in our hotel.

Please do come and see us again before too long. Peter and the team will be on the door waiting for your arrival.

With best wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

After staying in a few of London's five star hotels, it was refreshing to find The Goring.
Straight from our arrival to our departure the staff could not have been more helpful.
The hotel is very traditional, beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean.
The location is perfect,situated in a quiet little spot behind Buckingham palace,stones throw from the beautiful parks and easy walking distance to all main attractions.

Our only slight negative was the quality of our evening meals.food was good but not exceptional.
Breakfast however was exceptional.

We will be returning to enjoy the fabulous hospitality and relaxed atmosphere of this beautiful hotel again very soon hopefully.

Room Tip: Garden rooms would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Jacquicoyle,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay at The Goring.

I am delighted that you found The Goring to be a refreshing find and that from the moment you arrived the team were on hand. It is always lovely to read that our guests love the décor throughout the hotel whilst feeling relaxed and at home.

The team and I are thrilled that you will be back to enjoy our hospitality again and please do let our Reservations team know that you would prefer a garden room to be allocated to you.

With warm regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Superb hotel. Feels like a posh home (with a sense of humor). From welcome to farewell, the staff were friendly, helpful, eager to serve. Jeremy Goring himself is a frequent, buoyant presence. The most timely room service I've ever had. The extensive recent remodel (we'd stayed there before) retains the Goring's original Edwardian elegance with delicious touches of modern whimsy. Great bathrooms, dreamy beds. Be careful if you take a seat in lounge or bar - you'll never want to leave. Our favorite rooms have garden views. Easy walk to Victoria Station, Buckingham Palace and parks. Moderate walk to Harrod's. Excellent dining room.

Room Tip: All rooms are remarkably quiet, but those with garden views have the nicest exposures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Phineas55,

Thank you very much for your fabulous review of your recent stay with us.

I am thrilled that you took advantage of Room Service; breakfast in bed is such a relaxing way to start the day. It also delays having to get out of our ‘dreamy beds’ for a few minutes longer!

We were sorry that you had to leave as well and do hope that you will be back before too long.

With best wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel is a wonderful little gem tucked away behind Buckingham Palace. The location is good for seeing a few sites as well as exploring a nearby neighborhood with small shops and a great Pub. My husband and I like smaller boutique hotels and this one fits the bill. The staff is extremely friendly and accommodating. When we arrived after the usual long flight we were settled in the lounge with tea while we waited. There are lovely gardens on the back side of the hotel and we enjoyed sitting outside (even in winter)! The room was very nicely appointed with a beautiful bathroom and tub. The bed was a cloud of comfort with soft and cozy linens. We also enjoyed the restaurant very much and would highly recommend it even if you are not staying there. The service, food, and ambience were all top notch. THe only bit of detracting element is that the public spaces could use some updating (carpet, lamps, some of the furniture), It's a family owned and run hotel and the staff. even today. seemed to light up when mentioning that "Mr. Goring" had just been by. I would suggest to Mr. Goring that a little updating and money spent in the lounge area would really make this hotel shine.

Room Tip: we went middle of the road in choosing the type of room and couldn't have been happier. There w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Nordic1,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay at The Goring.

I am delighted that you feel that The Goring is a ‘wonderful little gem’ and that the team were friendly and accommodating to all of your needs. The staff pride themselves in looking after our guests and it is always a joy to see this being recognised.

Thank you also for your comments about our Lounge Bar as I am thrilled to confirm that we are just about to lay a new carpet in there. We do hope that you will return to The Goring to see the changes we are making and of course to sample a few more culinary delights in our Dining Room.

With warm regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenn
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Three nights at The Goring --- and I didn't want to leave! The warmth of the service and the beauty and comfort of the hotel made this first visit quite exceptional. The lounge offered a quintessential clubby environment, and the dining room is just exquisite. The style and demeanor of this small hotel, while very friendly, was properly dignified and really quite special. Its location on a side street, near shopping and sites one wants to see, actually provides a nice buffer from the crowds. I offer special thanks to the bell staff and concierge staff, who were helpful and obliging.

Room Tip: Room 59, a Splendid Room in blues and purples, was lovely, with a view of the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear SunnyTenn,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that you didn’t want to leave The Goring as that means you enjoyed every minute of your stay with us. We are very lucky with our location Beeston Place is a tiny oasis but within moments you are surrounded by some of London’s most iconic sites.

The team and I are thrilled by your comments on the warmth of the service you received and do hope that you will return before too long but maybe for a longer stay next time.

With best wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Goring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goring

Address: Beeston Place, Grosvenor Gardens, London SW1W 0JW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in London
#14 Romantic Hotel in London
#14 Business Hotel in London
#31 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Goring 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having been lovingly refurbished, The Goring has entered a new era, yet retains its time-honoured style and exceptional service. The small, intimate hotel stands out from the crowd as London's last family-owned luxury hotel, as well as its unique Royal Warrant from Her Majesty The Queen and one of the largest private gardens in the capital - an urban oasis. Nestled in fashionable Belgravia, adjacent to Buckingham Palace, this fantastic London location offers guests easy access to Knightsbridge, Mayfair and more - perfect for shopping and theatre, work and play. The hotel's sumptuous bedrooms and suites offer supreme comfort and the finest furnishings, whilst The Dining Room and Bar & Lounge serve the best in British food, irresistible cocktails and an award-winning traditional afternoon tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splendia, Amex, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, LondonMarketing.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your The Goring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Goring Hotel London
Goring London
The Goring London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Goring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.