We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and very friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Goring

Save Saved
You added The Goring to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
The Goring
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beeston Place, Grosvenor Gardens, London SW1W 0JW, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer Experience Offer
Ranked #10 of 1,075 hotels in London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful and very friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

After staying in a few of London's five star hotels, it was refreshing to find The Goring.
Straight from our arrival to our departure the staff could not have been more helpful.
The hotel is very traditional, beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean.
The location is perfect,situated in a quiet little spot behind Buckingham palace,stones throw from the beautiful parks and easy walking distance to all main attractions.

Our only slight negative was the quality of our evening meals.food was good but not exceptional.
Breakfast however was exceptional.

We will be returning to enjoy the fabulous hospitality and relaxed atmosphere of this beautiful hotel again very soon hopefully.

Room Tip: Garden rooms would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Jacquicoyle,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay at The Goring.

I am delighted that you found The Goring to be a refreshing find and that from the moment you arrived the team were on hand. It is always lovely to read that our guests love the décor throughout the hotel whilst feeling relaxed and at home.

The team and I are thrilled that you will be back to enjoy our hospitality again and please do let our Reservations team know that you would prefer a garden room to be allocated to you.

With warm regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    470
    65
    18
    12
    5
See reviews for
101
234
30
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Superb hotel. Feels like a posh home (with a sense of humor). From welcome to farewell, the staff were friendly, helpful, eager to serve. Jeremy Goring himself is a frequent, buoyant presence. The most timely room service I've ever had. The extensive recent remodel (we'd stayed there before) retains the Goring's original Edwardian elegance with delicious touches of modern whimsy. Great bathrooms, dreamy beds. Be careful if you take a seat in lounge or bar - you'll never want to leave. Our favorite rooms have garden views. Easy walk to Victoria Station, Buckingham Palace and parks. Moderate walk to Harrod's. Excellent dining room.

Room Tip: All rooms are remarkably quiet, but those with garden views have the nicest exposures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Phineas55,

Thank you very much for your fabulous review of your recent stay with us.

I am thrilled that you took advantage of Room Service; breakfast in bed is such a relaxing way to start the day. It also delays having to get out of our ‘dreamy beds’ for a few minutes longer!

We were sorry that you had to leave as well and do hope that you will be back before too long.

With best wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel is a wonderful little gem tucked away behind Buckingham Palace. The location is good for seeing a few sites as well as exploring a nearby neighborhood with small shops and a great Pub. My husband and I like smaller boutique hotels and this one fits the bill. The staff is extremely friendly and accommodating. When we arrived after the usual long flight we were settled in the lounge with tea while we waited. There are lovely gardens on the back side of the hotel and we enjoyed sitting outside (even in winter)! The room was very nicely appointed with a beautiful bathroom and tub. The bed was a cloud of comfort with soft and cozy linens. We also enjoyed the restaurant very much and would highly recommend it even if you are not staying there. The service, food, and ambience were all top notch. THe only bit of detracting element is that the public spaces could use some updating (carpet, lamps, some of the furniture), It's a family owned and run hotel and the staff. even today. seemed to light up when mentioning that "Mr. Goring" had just been by. I would suggest to Mr. Goring that a little updating and money spent in the lounge area would really make this hotel shine.

Room Tip: we went middle of the road in choosing the type of room and couldn't have been happier. There w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Nordic1,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay at The Goring.

I am delighted that you feel that The Goring is a ‘wonderful little gem’ and that the team were friendly and accommodating to all of your needs. The staff pride themselves in looking after our guests and it is always a joy to see this being recognised.

Thank you also for your comments about our Lounge Bar as I am thrilled to confirm that we are just about to lay a new carpet in there. We do hope that you will return to The Goring to see the changes we are making and of course to sample a few more culinary delights in our Dining Room.

With warm regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenn
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Three nights at The Goring --- and I didn't want to leave! The warmth of the service and the beauty and comfort of the hotel made this first visit quite exceptional. The lounge offered a quintessential clubby environment, and the dining room is just exquisite. The style and demeanor of this small hotel, while very friendly, was properly dignified and really quite special. Its location on a side street, near shopping and sites one wants to see, actually provides a nice buffer from the crowds. I offer special thanks to the bell staff and concierge staff, who were helpful and obliging.

Room Tip: Room 59, a Splendid Room in blues and purples, was lovely, with a view of the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear SunnyTenn,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that you didn’t want to leave The Goring as that means you enjoyed every minute of your stay with us. We are very lucky with our location Beeston Place is a tiny oasis but within moments you are surrounded by some of London’s most iconic sites.

The team and I are thrilled by your comments on the warmth of the service you received and do hope that you will return before too long but maybe for a longer stay next time.

With best wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I chose the Goring hotel as a special birthday treat for my partner's birthday and we enjoyed two nights in this wonderful hotel. It was our first visit and will it remain a truly memorable experience. The service is exemplary, the hotel exudes character and charm and the food is equally as good. We loved the lounge and bar with open fire, a real haven and oasis of calm away from the hustle and bustle of central London and the afternoon tea we enjoy ed was fantastic, the fresh baked scones were the best we have ever tasted and some celebrity spotting added to the enjoyment! We were fortunate to be upgraded to a Splendid Room overlooking the picturesque gardens, thoroughly luxurious with silk wall coverings and beautiful walnut furniture not to mention all the modern technology of hidden flat screen tv, iPod dock and brilliant light dimming switches which have four different ambience settings! There are no in room tea and coffee facilities but if you ask at reception they will gladly provide a complimentary hospitality tray with kettle, fresh milk, tea, fine china cups etc so you can enjoy a brew at your convenience. The Molton Brown toiletries provided are also a bonus. A thoroughly comfortable bed with gorgeous duvet and fine linen ensured an excellent nights sleep, and a complimentary shoe cleaning service is also offered, leave your shoes outside your room at bedtime and they reappear the following morning thoroughly polished and wrapped and sealed in tissue paper!
We enjoyed a superb dinner in the beautiful Linley designed restaurant our first evening, some family members joining us for a Christmas reunion, the three courses for £49.50 we all thought was excellent value and the menu also offered good choice. I can thoroughly recommend the beef Wellington off the trolley! Breakfast is of course excellent, thankfully there is no buffet, all your menu choice is served to you at your table, and your waiter will also ask how you like your bacon cooked but be warned the bowlfuls of your choice of fresh fruit are very large!
The Goring is a wonderful hotel and it's staff set the standard for how service should be. We were sad to leave but look forward to returning in 2013. We are missing it already!

Room Tip: Go for a Splendid room overlooking the gardens our room 56 was beautiful. We loved the sheep at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Buddyboyy,

Thank you very much for your fabulous review of your recent celebratory stay with us.

We were thrilled that you chose to celebrate your partner’s birthday with us and that your two nights at The Goring were a truly memorable experience. At The Goring we pride ourselves on our guests receiving ‘The Goring experience’ and I am delighted that you enjoyed every part of the experience whether it be in the Lounge Bar, the Dining Room or in your luxurious room upstairs.

I have to agree with you the scones at Afternoon Tea are not to be missed and also very moreish. I do hope that you saved room for the cakes and pastries afterwards!

From all of us at The Goring we look forward to seeing you again this year and hope that you won’t need to wait until the end of the year for another celebration or maybe a good excuse would be that your shoes need another polish from the team.

With warm regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I spent a week at the Goring. It's a lovely hotel that exudes British charm. The hotel is very clean with a helpful staff. It is located very close to Buckingham Palace and Victoria Station. The hotel is beautiful and has a rich history. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear hopeful74,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us.

We are thrilled that you spent a week with us and felt that the hotel was beautiful and rich in history.

Also thank you very much for your recommendation and we do hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

With best wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I stayed this weekend at The Goring and couldn't have asked for a better stay. Welcoming, relaxing, high standard of service from every corner of this beautiful family owned hotel. It bursts character, history and pure luxury. Very highly recommended and we will be visiting again! Don't waste your time with the other hotels in London, just book in here if you want all of the above! Plus they serve the best G&T I think I have ever tasted!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Ruth M,

Thank you very much for your fabulous review of your recent stay with us.

We are thrilled that you chose to celebrate your birthday with us and that you couldn’t have had a better stay. The Goring is a unique hotel with an impressive team who pride themselves on their levels of service.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Goring and thank you so much for your recommendation as the only place to stay in London!

With best wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Goring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goring

Address: Beeston Place, Grosvenor Gardens, London SW1W 0JW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in London
#14 Romantic Hotel in London
#15 Business Hotel in London
#30 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Goring 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having been lovingly refurbished, The Goring has entered a new era, yet retains its time-honoured style and exceptional service. The small, intimate hotel stands out from the crowd as London's last family-owned luxury hotel, as well as its unique Royal Warrant from Her Majesty The Queen and one of the largest private gardens in the capital - an urban oasis. Nestled in fashionable Belgravia, adjacent to Buckingham Palace, this fantastic London location offers guests easy access to Knightsbridge, Mayfair and more - perfect for shopping and theatre, work and play. The hotel's sumptuous bedrooms and suites offer supreme comfort and the finest furnishings, whilst The Dining Room and Bar & Lounge serve the best in British food, irresistible cocktails and an award-winning traditional afternoon tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Splendia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Agoda, Amex, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, LondonMarketing.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your The Goring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Goring Hotel London
Goring London
The Goring London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Goring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.